- Healthy
Louisiana

Louisiana Department of Health
Informational Bulletin 22-10
April 4, 2022

Reimbursement Update: Non-Emergency Medical Transportation (NEMT)
Temporary Mileage Rate Increase

Increasing gasoline prices has prompted the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) to
implement a temporary mileage rate increase for both ambulatory and wheelchair
transportation that will be applied to the NEMT provider’s existing contracted per mile rate.

The following rate increases are effective March 1, 2022:

Non-emergency transportation trip:
Increase $0.20/mile to $1.30/mile beginning at zero miles

Non-emergency transportation wheelchair van:
Increase $0.20/mile to $1.50/mile beginning at zero miles

LDH will review the average price of gasoline in Louisiana on a monthly basis and will adjust the
mileage reimbursement accordingly, until the temporary mileage rate increase concludes.

Effective April 1, 2022, to receive the additional reimbursement, CPT code A0170 must be
submitted concurrent with the claim submission of mileage when a NEMT transport is
performed. Claims for dates of service on or after March 1, 2022 through March 31, 2022 will
be systematically recycled/adjusted with no action required by providers.

Each managed care organization (MCO) must update its systems to reflect the April 1, 2022
NEMT reimbursement rate increase within 30 days of notification and reimburse providers the
add-on mileage rate for dates of service on or after March 1, 2022 through March 31, 2022.
MCOs shall also notify providers of their process and timeline for implementing the monthly

mileage reimbursement updates.

Questions regarding MCO claims should be directed to the appropriate MCO.
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