

Louisiana Department of Health Informational Bulletin 22-10

Revised July 14, 2023

<u>Termination of the Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Temporary Mileage</u> Rate Increase

Effective August 1, 2023, LDH will terminate the temporary gas mileage rate increase, for both ambulatory and wheelchair transportation, applied to the Non-Emergency Medical Transportation (NEMT) provider's existing contracted per mile rates in March 2022. Managed care organizations (MCO) shall not submit the CPT HCPCS code, A0170, concurrent with the claim submission of mileage for all NEMT services with dates of service after July 31, 2023.

Each MCO must update their system to reflect the termination of the NEMT reimbursement rate increase effective August 1, 2023 within 30 days of this notification. Additionally, each MCO shall oversee their respective broker to ensure the broker completes all modifications by the given deadline and notifies all contracted NEMT providers of the termination of the rate increase.

Reimbursement Update: NEMT Temporary Mileage Rate Increase

Increasing gasoline prices has prompted the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) to implement a temporary mileage rate increase for both ambulatory and wheelchair transportation that will be applied to the NEMT provider's existing contracted per mile rate.

The following rate increases are effective March 1, 2022:

Non-emergency transportation trip:

Increase \$0.20/mile to \$1.30/mile beginning at zero miles

Non-emergency transportation wheelchair van:

Increase \$0.20/mile to \$1.50/mile beginning at zero miles

LDH will review the average price of gasoline in Louisiana on a monthly basis and will adjust the mileage reimbursement accordingly, until the temporary mileage rate increase concludes.

Effective April 1, 2022, to receive the additional reimbursement, HCPCS code A0170 must be submitted concurrent with the claim submission of mileage when a NEMT transport is performed. Claims for dates of service on or after March 1, 2022 through March 31, 2022 will be systematically recycled/adjusted with no action required by providers.

Each MCO must update its systems to reflect the April 1, 2022 NEMT reimbursement rate increase within 30 days of notification and reimburse providers the add-on mileage rate for dates of service on or after March 1, 2022 through March 31, 2022. MCOs shall also notify providers of their process and timeline for implementing the monthly mileage reimbursement updates.

Questions regarding MCO claims should be directed to the appropriate MCO.