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MEMORANDUM       OCDD-P-21-036 

       OCDD-R-21-007 

DATE: September 23, 2021 

 

TO: Home and Community Based Waiver Service Providers 

 Self-Direction Participants and Employers 

  

FROM: Julie Foster Hagan, Assistant Secretary   

 Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

 

SUBJECT: OCDD HCBS Waiver Rate Increase and Direct Support Worker Wage Floor 

(Webinar Information Below)  

 

The Louisiana Department of Health (LDH), including the Bureau of Healthcare Financing 

(Medicaid) and the Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD), as authorized by the 

Louisiana Legislature, will be implementing a rate increase for OCDD Home and Community Based 

Waiver services that are provided by a direct support worker (DSW), and a commensurate wage floor 

requirement for direct support workers effective October 1, 2021. This memorandum is to clarify 

OCDD HCBS Waiver Rate Increase and Direct Support Worker Wage Floor (OCDD-P-21-035) and 

the IDD Rate Increase (OCDD-P-21-035 Attachment A) released 9/21/2021. 

 

This direct support worker wage floor applied to the four (4) I-DD Medicaid Waivers: 

(1) The New Opportunities Waiver; 

(2) Children’s Choice Waiver; 

(3) Supports Waiver; and  

(4)  Residential Options Waiver. 

 

The per unit rate of the services provided by a direct support worker will be increased. The amount of 

this increase will depend on the unit of service and ratio of direct support workers to recipients. The 

value of the hourly increase will equate to a $2.50 per hour rate increase, and providers are expected 

to utilize this rate increase-to-increase wages to direct support workers. 

 

With the addition of the $2.50 per hour increase, the new base minimum hourly compensation for any 

direct support worker providing care to any recipient of OCDD Home and Community Based waiver 

services will be $9.00 before the application of taxes and benefits.  

 

The floor is applicable to both traditional providers of service and self-directed providers of services. 

 

To accommodate the rate increases, we will be increasing expenditure caps on both the Children’s 

Choice (CC) Waiver and the Residential Options Waiver (ROW) as noted in the table below.  
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REVISED ROW CAPS              EFFECTIVE 10/01/2021 

Level 

PREVIOUS 

CAPS 

PROPOSED ROW 

CAPS 

1 $173.18 $199.51 

2 $184.54 $212.73 

3 $203.86 $235.08 

4 $224.32 $258.65 

 

  CURRENT CAP PROPOSED CAP 

CHILDREN'S CHOICE  $17,500.00 $20,200.00 

 

Starting October 1, 2021, providers of services affected by this rate increase should bill the new rates 

as published with this notice. If the programming is not in place to ensure payment of the new rate by 

October 1, 2021, a retroactive payment of the difference between the paid rate and new rate will be 

done by recycle back to the effective date as soon as approved programming is in place. 

 

We are attaching the new revised rate sheet for all affected services (Revised Medicaid Rate Sheet, 
OCDD-P-21-036, OCDD-R-21-007 Attachment A).  

 

The Louisiana Legislature has also authorized LDH to implement auditing procedures to ensure that 

all affected providers implement the new direct support worker wage floor rule. Failure to comply 

with the new floor will result in possible punitive actions by LDH.  LDH will determine the final 

details of the auditing process and the penalties for non-compliance.  OCDD will provide notice of 

both prior to the end of the fiscal year. 

 

OCDD will hold a Zoom webinar on Tuesday September 28, 2021 from 10:00 AM until 12:00 PM to 

explain the rate increase and the DSW direct care floor. You must register in advance of the webinar; 

space is limited.  You can register at 

https://ldhocddadmin.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_4I_XujWfSZC9SMz15rId-g. Once you have 

registered you will receive a confirmation email and information for joining the webinar.  

 

At the time of registration you can enter any questions you may have, and those questions will be 

addressed in the webinar.  Please send any additional questions to OCDDInfo@la.gov.  

 

CC: Bureau of Healthcare Financing 

 Local Governing Entities 
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