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Housekeeping 

• Due to large number of participants, we will not be able to open 

lines for discussion

• Questions / comments can be entered into the Q/A box

• Can use chat to talk amongst selves, but will not include in Q/A 

response

• This presentation, playback, and responses to Q/A will be 

posted to the OCDD website. 

• Send any formal comments or questions about proposal to 

OCDDInfo@la.gov



Waiver Background Information



OCDD Waiver Services

All rules / regulations / processes for the four OCDD 

Home and Community Based Waiver Services can 

be found in the following locations:

• 1915 (c) Home and Community Based Waiver 

Application / Amendment

• Louisiana Administrative Code/State Plan

• OCDD Waiver Manuals



1915(c)Waiver Application

• OCDD waivers are enacted through 1915c “authority” through CMS

• Waiver application—details all rules, services, rate development, and other 

requirements, this is due every 5 years (process takes 5 – 9 months)

• Waiver amendment—submitted  for changes between renewal period  (process 

takes 3-6 months)

• Appendix K request—for temporary changes needed during a public health 

emergency (process takes 1 week-60 days)

• Waiver applications and amendments must be submitted for public comment; 

this is not required for Appendix K 

• CMS must approve ALL requests: Application, Amendment, Appendix K

• If States authorize services not approved by CMS, we lose the federal funds 

associated with this service (typically 63-67% of the cost)



Rulemaking/State Plan

• State statutes direct agencies to engage in the rulemaking 

process in order to implement new state and federal laws and to 

update rules in place. 

• Such rulemaking actions are published in the Louisiana Register 

in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

• Allows for public input (via public comment period) as well as 

legislative involvement.

• Applies to the rules associated with the four OCDD waivers.

• Process for new rules and updates takes 4-6 months



Rulemaking/State Plan

• Some activities that impact waiver services are part 

of Medicaid State Plan Services

• Medicaid State Plan Services require CMS 

approval

• Temporary changes to Medicaid State Plan 

Services require this request through an 1135 

request

• CMS must approve 1135 requests



Waiver Manuals

• Contain the most detailed information for operationalizing the waiver, 

including requirements for services and providers.

• Undergo an LDH internal review process.

• Public comment is not required; however, OCDD works with relevant 

stakeholders for feedback prior to changes and training post-changes.

• CMS approval is not required for manuals; however, manuals must not 

contradict any approved information in application or rule.

• Process for updating manual is typically 2-3 months.

• Updates to waiver manuals are not conducted for temporary, 

emergency situations.



Waiver Exceptions during COVID-19 

Public Health Emergency



Exceptions Timeline  - Overview 

• Appendix K, rule changes, and 1135 in place since February 2020

• CMS granted approval to continue Appendix K exceptions until 6 

months after the end of the Public Health Emergency.

• 1135 changes must end when Public Health Emergency (PHE) ends.

• PHE in place until January 2022,  may be extended for additional 90 

day period(s) beyond that date.

• Biden administration has indicated they will give at least 60 days notice 

prior to ending the PHE.

• OCDD submitting waiver amendments now to ensure approval and 

allow for planning prior to end of PHE.



Focus Groups - Overview

Stakeholders requested consideration of continued flexibilities in 3 

areas:

• Family members serving as paid caregivers

• Allowances for staff to work over 16 hours per day (“16 hour 

rule”)

• Continuation of virtual visits 

In response, 3 focus groups established with the following goals:

• OCDD to provide relevant information / research on the topic 

for background information 

• Brainstorm among the workgroup members using guiding 

questions

• Come to shared consensus on a plan to move forward on this 

topic



Focus Groups – Participant Selection

• Communication sent through all stakeholder groups announcing 

opportunity to register for focus groups

• Focus groups limited to 26 persons to allow for discussion 

• Over 200 people registered for focus groups

• To ensure diversity, first looked at participant type

• Individual with I/DD

• Parent or family member of minor child with I/DD

• Parent or family member of adult with I/DD

• Representative of advocacy organization 

• Private provider

• Support coordinator

• Local Governing Entity

• Further breakdown by geographic area, gender, and race



Family as Paid Caregiver – Key 

Takeaways

• Benefits to having family continue to be paid caregivers post-

PHE provided

• Some family members reported they wanted to ensure ability 

for respite and other workers

• Having family as paid caregiver has helped with the direct 

support workforce shortage crisis

• Need to ensure that self-determination is preserved, if 

individuals do not choose to have family as paid caregiver

• Need to ensure that there is a mechanism to monitor family as 

paid caregiver, in same/similar way that all direct support 

workers are monitored

• Need to ensure families understand requirements



Family as Paid Caregiver – CMS 

Regulations
States must differentiate between Live-In Caregivers, Relatives and/or 
Legal Guardians, and Legally Responsible Individuals (LRI) when 
defining caregivers

When states allow family members to be paid caregivers:

 Specify the type of family caregivers to whom payment may be 
made

 Specify which waiver services payment may be made

 Limitations on the amount of services that may be furnished by a 
family caregivers

 Show how we ensure payment is made only for services rendered

 Show how we ensure that services furnished are in the best interest 
of the individual 

 Family members must meet established provider qualifications

 Demonstrate adequate monitoring for all of the above factors

 When states allow LRI to be paid caregiver, can only pay for the 
provision of extraordinary care  



Family as Paid Caregiver – Decisions

• Family members not living in the home will have no restrictions.

• Family members living in the home will be able to provide paid services 

up to a maximum of 40 hours per week (for each family member) 

– The number of hours provided will continue to be based on person-

centered planning and resource allocation. 

– Paid family members must meet the same qualifications as other 

direct support workers, including training and background checks.

– Paid family members must follow the same documentation 

requirements and work expectations as other direct support 

workers (critical incident reporting, use of EVV, progress notes).

– Paid family members will be subject to same monitoring by provider 

agency or employer as other direct support workers.

– Documentation in the plan of care that family as paid caregiver has 

been discussed and in best interest of the individual. 



Family as Paid Caregiver – Decisions

• Legally Responsible Individuals will be able to provide 

services with the same limitations and requirements as 

family living in the home, however, additional 

discussion and documentation in the plan of care will 

be required to establish the need for extraordinary 

care. 

• Self-Direction: For individuals using the self-direction 

model, the person who is named as the “employer” or 

“authorized representative” with the Fiscal Agent is not 

able to also be the “employee” due to a conflict of 

interest.  



Family as Paid Caregiver – Follow Up

• More information and training for families on system and requirements

– Develop attestation form for paid family members to complete (in different 

languages/Braille) indicating understanding of system and requirements

– Consider training for family members, in conjunction with other workers, 

and if there are additional training needs

• Add rule to clearly define Legally Responsible Individual

• Define criteria for extraordinary care and include in waiver manual

• Define criteria to ensure family as paid caregiver in best interest of the person

– Initial and annual discussion with participant to ensure this is what they 

choose

– Instances for removal when not in best interest and process to ensure 

safety

– Mechanism to ensure not on DCFS CPS registry and fair due process



16 Hour Rule – Key Takeaways 

• Because of both direct support workforce crisis and COVID-

19 safety precautions, there is an increased need for direct 

care staff to work over the allowable 16 hours per day in 

certain circumstances.

• This is not ideal situation due to potential for:

– Worker burnout

– Increased overtime payment requirements

– Increased risk of abuse/neglect

• However, it is often necessary to ensure individuals have the 

support they need.



16 Hour Rule – Regulations

• No specific regulations at federal level 

regarding working over 16  hours

• Department of Labor rules require that direct 

support workers be paid time and a half for 

hours worked over 40 hours in the week

• Prior to 2015, there was an exemption for 

these types of workers, no longer in place, 

other than companionship exemption

• “16 Hour Rule” was in rule and waiver manual 

prior to COVID



16 Hour Rule – Decisions

• Remove language from the New Opportunities Waiver Rule regarding the prohibition of a 

staff working over 16 hours.

• Update the NOW Waiver Manual to include the following:

– No direct support worker should be pre-scheduled more than 16 hours in one day. 

Staff should only work over 16 hours in a 24 hour period for unplanned situations 

when a paid staff or natural support is not available and the person cannot be left 

unsupported. 

– No prior approval is required when a staff works over 16 hours in a 24 hour period, 

however, a review will be required after these instances occur to identify and address 

potential barriers and review any health and safety concerns.

• Each instance this occurs will be reviewed by the provider/employer.

• If 5 times in one quarter, SC facilitates team discussion/develops plan of action 

• If 5 times in next consecutive quarter, review by the LGE, who will recommend 

additional actions, if indicated.

• If 5 times in the following consecutive quarter, review by OCDD Central Office, 

who will recommend additional actions, if indicated. 

• No blocked payments as a result of working more than 16 hours in one day 



Virtual Visits – Key Takeaways

• During COVID-19, virtual visits have helped to keep 

participants and families safe by limiting in-person 

interactions

• In many instances, in-person visits are needed to assure the 

health and safety of the participant and to observe that the 

plan of care is being followed

• Increased use of technology should be considered across all 

services to be more efficient for participant, family, and 

providers



Virtual Visits – Regulations

There are no specific federal regulations requiring 

face-to-face/in-person visits, but there are state 

regulations in licensing and certification processes 

when used to monitor and ensure health and 

safety.



Virtual Visits – Decisions: 

Certification and SIL
• Requirement for face-to-face initial certification visits from the 

LGE will return at the end of the PHE.

• Requirement for a minimum of monthly face-to-face contact for 

persons receiving SIL services will return at the end of the PHE. 

– NOW manual will be updated to include an exception 

process, which must include justification for why exception 

is needed and demonstration how the required service will 

be provided virtually.  

• There is no current prohibition of the initial certification visits or 

monthly SIL visits being conducted face-to-face at this time; the 

option for virtual remains available during the PHE and should be 

considered based on parish positivity and current mandates.



Virtual Visits – Decisions: SC

• All initial planning meetings and annual meetings will be 

conducted in-person as prior to the PHE.  And, a minimum of 

one quarterly meeting will be conducted in-person to assure 

that at least two in-person visits occur annually.

• Additional meetings held by the SC that were previously 

required to occur in-person may be conducted virtually if 

specific conditions are met and the use of virtual visits is 

documented in the CPOC

• OCDD (and LGE) are able to require in-person visits if it is 

determined virtual visits are not in the best interest of the 

individual.



Virtual Visits – Decisions: SC

Conditions for use of Virtual Visits

• The individual/family is in agreement that a virtual visit is in the best interest of the individual, 
and

• The SC is in agreement that a virtual visit is in the best interest of the individual, and

• The applicable provider agencies are in agreement that a virtual visit is in the best interest of 
the individual, and 

• The legally responsible individuals or family member(s) living in the home is not a paid 
caregiver, and

• There are no instances of the following in the past two years of:

– Discovery by SC or reported by provider of an accident, incident, injury that meets 
Critical Incident Review Criteria

– Lack of desired personal outcomes: such as education, employment, and community 
engagement

– Unsafe living conditions, lack of sanitation, lack of food and supplies

– Change in involvement of natural supports

– Medication issues

– Changes in behavior, medical status or appearance (weight gain/loss), and

• Technology is available to complete the visit with direct observation of the recipient and the 
home, and

• There is evidence that the requirements for the quarterly visit can be completed virtually. 



Virtual Visits – Follow-Up Actions

• Explore utilization of electronic signature/e-mail agreement for 

required documents

• Develop process and expectations for use of virtual visits

– Update waiver manual(s) and Guidelines for Support Planning 

to include updated process

– Establish process for tracking and documentation of virtual 

visits, including but not limited to a mechanism to identify 

virtual visits through LaSRS, considerations for SC billing, and 

notification to LGE when virtual visits are selected 

– Establish process for changes to plan for virtual visits once 

determined in the annual meeting (change could come from 

family, SC, LGE, or OCDD)

• Identify a process to review a request for an exception to the 

monthly face-to-face SIL visit, and include a process in the waiver 

manual.



Other Waiver Exceptions: 

Continue Post-PHE

• Allow electronic verification for meetings/documentation

• Allow sharing across any two waivers, billed at shared rate in each 

waiver

• Continue to offer Monitored In-Home Caregiving as a service in the 

ROW and NOW

• Virtual day habilitation as a service

• Small group activities as a service



Other Waiver Exceptions:

Discontinued Post-PHE

• Addition of 20 hours weekly to the capped Children’s Choice Waiver

• Conversion of day habilitation and vocational hours to in-home care

• Suspension of background checks for immediate family members 

• Minimum age of direct support worker to 16 years of age

• Statement of Approval to suffice for Level of Care

• 90-L to remain in effect until resolution of pandemic

• Relaxation of training requirements for DSWs

• Hazard payments for working with COVID positive individuals

• Retainer payments to ADC facilities due to mandated closure



Next Steps and Projected Timelines

• Waiver Amendments will be posted for public comment in 
December and January, with plan to submit to CMS in January and 
February

– CMS has 90 days to approve or take off the clock for 
questions

– Goal to have in place prior to July, 2022

• Rule changes will be posted for public comment in January and 
February

– This may vary depending on CMS questions on the 
amendments

– Goal to have in place prior to July, 2022

• Waiver manuals will be updated following approval from CMS of 
amendments

• Training to all relevant stakeholders on process changes will occur 
following approval and updates to waiver manuals



Conclusion/Wrap-Up

• Working to get all needed changes approved an in place prior to 

end of PHE, so participants/families have ample time to prepare 

• Exceptions will continue through the PHE, and for 6 months 

thereafter for those in Appendix K

• Support Coordinators will work with participants / families on 

changes needed in CPOC

• OCDD will continue to work with focus groups on follow-up items 

identified

• Send questions or comments for consideration to 

OCDDInfo@la.gov.ov

mailto:OCDDInfo@la.gov


Send any further questions or feedback to 

OCDDInfo@la.gov.

Thank you for your participation!


