CHILDREN'S CHOICE WAIVER FACT SHEET

What is the Children's Choice Waiver?

The Children’s Choice Waiver (CC) program provides services in the home and in the community to
individuals 0 through 20 years of age, who currently live at home with their families or who will leave
an institution to return home. This waiver provides an individualized support package with a
maximum cost of $20,650 per year, and is designed for maximum flexibility.

Youth who reach the age of 18 and want to work may choose to transition to a Supports Waiver as
long as they remain eligible for waiver services. Please see link below for more information regarding
the Supports Waiver.

Youth who continue in the Children’s Choice Waiver beyond age 18 will age out of Children’s Choice
Waiver when they reach their 21st birthday. They will transition to the most appropriate waiver that
meets their needs as long as they remain eligible for waiver services.

This program is not intended to provide 24 hours a day support

*Youth age 0 to 3 individuals must meet the My Place eligibility requirements.
*Youth age 3 to 20 individuals must have an Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities
Statement of Approval

Who can qualify?

Individuals who:

e Meet Louisiana Medicaid eligibility AND

e Meet the Louisiana definition for developmental disability which manifested prior to age 22
(Revised Statute 28:451.2, Paragraph (11)) AND

e Have an OCDD Statement of Approval AND

e Meet My Place eligibility if age 0-3 AND

e Meet Intermediate Care Facility-Intellectual Disability (ICF-ID) Level of Care Criteria AND are 0
through 20 years of age

If 1 qualify, what services may | receive?

e Support Coordination e Therapy Services

e Family Support o Aquatic Therapy

e Crisis Support o Art Therapy

e Center-Based Respite o Music Therapy

e Family Training o Hippo-Therapy/Therapeutic
e Environmental Accessibility Adaptions Horseback Riding

e Specialized Medical Equipment o Sensory Integration

[ J

Permanent Supportive Housing Stabilization
and Transition

*Individuals who receive the CC Waiver may also receive EPSDT personal care services.



How can |l request an OCDD waiver?

Individuals who have a need for services should contact their Local Governing Entity (LGE) in
order to go through the eligibility determination process. Once a person is eligible for OCDD

services, they may ask to be placed on the Developmental Disability Request for Services
Registry (RFSR).

Home and community-based waiver opportunities are provided based on the individual's
prioritized need for support, which is identified in their RFSR Screening for Urgency of Need.
Individuals with the emergent and urgent need for support will have priority.

For more information on this process, please contact your Local Governing Entity (LGE).

Additional resources and contact information for
the Children's Choice Waiver

Children’s Choice Waiver Website: https://Idh.la.gov/page/218

OCDD Resources Website: https://Idh.la.gov/index.cfm/page/138

Local Governing Entity (LGE) map: http://Idh.la.gov/index.cfm/page/134
OCDD State Office: 1-866-783-5553 or email at OCDD-hcbs@la.gov

Individuals who under 21 years of age may access Early Periodic Screening and Diagnostic
Treatment (EPSDT) services: https://ldh.la.gov/index.cfm/page/334

My Place Louisiana: https://Idh.la.gov/index.cfm/page/147
Permanent Supportive Housing Services: https://Idh.la.gov/index.cfm/page/1732

OCDD Employment First Initiative: https://ldh.la.gov/index.cfm/page/1847
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