### LOUISIANA MEDICAID PROGRAM

ISSUED: REPLACED:

xx/xx/23 05/11/22

**CHAPTER 14: CHILDREN'S CHOICE** 

**SECTION 14.2: BENEFICIARY REQUIREMENTS** 

PAGE(S) 5

### **BENEFICIARY REQUIREMENTS**

The Louisiana Children's Choice (CC) Waiver is only available to children who meet, and continue to meet, all of the following criteria:

- 1. Be ageAre from birth through age 20 years;
- 2. Have <u>their</u> name on the Request for Services Registry (RFSR);
- 3. Meet the Developmental Disability Law criteria as defined in Appendix A;
- 4. Meet the following financial and non-financial Medicaid eligibility criteria for home and community-based services (HCBS) waiver-services:
  - a. Income is less than three times the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) amount for the child (excluding consideration of parental income);
  - b. Resources <u>are less</u> than the SSI resource limit of \$2,000 for a child (excluding consideration of parental resources);
  - c. SSI disability criteria; and
  - d. Social Security security number (SSN).
- 5. Meet intermediate care facility for <u>Individuals individuals</u> with <u>Intellectual intellectual Disabilities disabilities</u> (ICF/IID) level of care criteria which requires active treatment of a developmental disability under the supervision of a qualified developmental disability professional;
- 6. Meet citizenship requirement (U.S. citizen or qualified alien);
- 7. Be a Louisiana resident;
- 8. Have a <u>Plan\_plan\_of Care\_care\_(POC)</u> that is sufficient to assure the health and welfare of the waiver applicant in order to be approved for waiver participation or continued participation; and
- 9. Have jJustification in the plan of care (POC) that the Children's Choice CC Waiver Waiver services are appropriate, cost effective, and represent the least restrictive environment for the beneficiary.

LOUISIANA MEDICAID PROGRAM	<b>ISSUED:</b>	xx/xx/23
	<b>REPLACED:</b>	05/11/22

#### **CHAPTER 14: CHILDREN'S CHOICE**

SECTION 14.2: BENEFICIARY REQUIREMENTS PAGE(S) 5

Children who reach their 18th birthday may choose to <u>transfer transition into</u> the Supports Waiver if their primary goal is employment. Children who reach their 21st birthday while participating in the <u>Children's ChoiceCC</u> Waiver will <u>transfer transition</u> into an appropriate <u>waiver for adults adult</u> <u>waiver</u> as long as they remain eligible for waiver services.

## **Developmental Disabilities Request for Services Registry**

Enrollment in the CC waiver Waiver services is dependent upon the number of approved and available funded waiver slots. Requests for waiver services are made through the applicant's local Human Services Authority or Districtgoverning entity (LGE). Individuals who request waiver services are placed on a statewide Request for Services Registry (RFSR) and are selected for an Office of Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) waiver opportunity based on their urgency of need and earliest registry date. Only requests from the applicant or his/her authorized representative will be accepted.

Once it has been determined by the <u>Human Services Authority or DistrictLGE</u> that the applicant meets the definition of a developmental disability as defined by the Louisiana Developmental Disability Law (See Appendix A), the applicant's name will be placed on the RFSR in request date order and the applicant/family will be sent a letter stating the individual's name has been secured on the RFSR along with the original request (protected) date. The individual will then undergo a <u>Screening screening</u> for <u>Urgency urgency</u> of <u>Need need</u> (SUN). Entry into an OCDD <u>Waiver waiver</u> will be offered to applicants from the RFSR by urgency of need and the earliest request for services date.

# **Verifying Screening for Urgency of Need and Request Date**

Applicants or their authorized representatives may verify their SUN score and request date by calling their local Human Services Authority or DistrictLGE. (See Appendix C<u>of this manual chapter.)-</u>

# **Medical Certification Eligibility Requirements**

Each applicant must meet a separate categorical requirement of disability as defined by the Social Security Administration (SSA). If the applicant does not receive Supplemental Security Income (SSI), a disability determination is required as part of the eligibility process. The support coordinator will submit medical information to the Bureau of Health Services Financing (BHSF). The disability determination is made by the BHSF Medical Eligibility eligibility Determination determination Team team and is separate from the level of care determination made by the Human Services Authority or District LGE for waiver service eligibility.

LOUISIANA MEDICAID PROGRAM	<b>ISSUED:</b>	xx/xx/23
	<b>REPLACED:</b>	05/11/22

#### **CHAPTER 14: CHILDREN'S CHOICE**

SECTION 14.2: BENEFICIARY REQUIREMENTS PAGE(S) 5

Continuity of stay/continuity of care means the individual cannot be certified earlier than 30 days after the first waiver service is provided (at which point coverage can be retroactive to first service, provided all other eligibility criteria is met).

Exception: Continuity of stay does not apply to SSI beneficiaries.

## **Application Process**

A Medicaid eligibility application must be completed for all waiver applicants, including those already determined eligible under another category of Medicaid assistance such as Louisiana Children's Health Insurance Program (LaCHIP). Additional eligibility criteria (resources, transfer of resources, trusts) are applicable for Louisiana Children's Choicethe CC Waiverwaiver, which may not apply in some other categories of Medicaid.

The support coordination agencies will provide intake services, i.e. interview the family, and assist in gathering medical and other information necessary for eligibility determination. The support coordination agency will then forward the completed application packet to the Medicaid Eligibility eligibility Officeoffice.

Once the completed financial eligibility packet is received in the Medicaid eligibility office, the Medicaid Analyst analyst will review the application and contact the applicant's family for any needed verification or clarifying information.

Simultaneously, the support coordinator will submit a packet to the appropriate Human Services Authority or District waiver officeLGE will make a home visit and issue a medical certification which is a BHSF form 142.

Once OCDD receives an approved BHSF Form 142 from the Human Services Authority or District LGE and all other eligibility factors, have been met, the certification can be processed. When all eligibility criteria are met as of the admission date to the waiver, the effective certification date can be retroactive.

The initial certification period will be for twelve months, including any retroactive months of eligibility.

#### Level of Care

<u>Louisiana The Children's ChoiceCC</u> <u>Waiver Waiver</u> is an alternative to institutional care. All waiver applicants must meet the definition of developmental disability (DD) as defined in Appendix A. The <u>Human Services Authority or District LGE</u> will issue either a Statement of Approval (SOA) or a Statement of Denial (SOD). If a <u>Statement of DenialSOD</u> is issued, the application stops and the person is removed from the RFSR after all appeals have been exhausted.

$\lambda \lambda $	43
ACED: 05/11/	22
	SSUED: $xx/xx/2$ ACED: $05/11/2$

## **CHAPTER 14: CHILDREN'S CHOICE**

SECTION 14.2: BENEFICIARY REQUIREMENTS PAGE(S) 5

Individuals who receive a <u>Statement statement</u> of <u>Approval approval</u> continue to move forward in the process.

The OCDD "Request for Medical Eligibility Determination" 90-L form is the instrument used to determine if an applicant meets the level of care of an ICF/IID. The 90-L form is submitted by the Medicaid data contractor at the time the initial waiver offer is sent to the applicant/family. The 90-L form must be:

- 1. Completed 180 days or less before the date the <u>Children's ChoiceCC</u> <u>Waiver</u> <u>Waiver</u> service is approved to begin and annually thereafter;
- 2. Completed, signed and dated by the applicant's Louisiana licensed primary care physician. A licensed advanced nurse practitioner or licensed physician's assistant may sign the 90-L, but the supervising or collaborating physician's name and address must be listed; and
- 3. Submitted with the initial or annual POC.

The applicant/family is responsible for obtaining the completed 90-L form.

# **Choice of Service, Support Coordination and Direct Service Providers**

Beneficiaries have freedom of choice concerning whether or not to receive <u>Louisiana Children's ChoiceCC Waiver Waiver</u> services and may select their support coordination agency and direct service providers.

## **Support Coordination**

Support Coordination coordination is a service within the Louisiana Children's Choice CC Waiver Waiver and is necessary for waiver participation. Beneficiaries may choose a support coordination agency that is available and can accept new assignments in their region. For the first year, a beneficiary will remain with the same support coordination agency. Thereafter, a beneficiary may request a change in support coordination agencies every six months or for "good cause." (See Section 14.4 for "Procedures for Changing Support Coordination Agencies" for details on the process of changing support coordinators.) Beneficiaries who cannot be reached by their support coordinators to arrange for evaluations, service planning, or review of services jeopardize their access to services.

#### **Direct Service Providers**

LOUISIANA MEDICAID PROGRAM	<b>ISSUED:</b>	xx/xx/23
	<b>REPLACED:</b>	05/11/22
CHAPTER 14: CHILDREN'S CHOICE		

Beneficiaries have freedom of choice of direct service provider agencies that are available in the region where they live. For the first year, a beneficiary will remain with the same agency. Thereafter, a beneficiary may change direct service provider agencies every twelve months or at any time for "good cause." (See Section 14.4 "Changing Direct Service Providers" for details on the process of changing service providers).

### **Admission Denial or Discharge Criteria**

Admission into the waiver will be denied or beneficiaries will be discharged from the waiver for any of the following reasons:

1. Medicaid financial eligibility criteria is not met;

**SECTION 14.2: BENEFICIARY REQUIREMENTS** 

- 2. ICF/IID level of care criteria is not met as determined by the Human Services Authority or DistrictLGE;
- 3. Incarceration or placement under the jurisdiction of penal authorities, courts or state juvenile authorities;
- 4. Beneficiary has a change of residence to another state or beneficiary lives in another state at the time of offer;
- 5. Admission to an ICF/IID or nursing facility without the intent to return to waiver services. The waiver beneficiary may return to waiver services when documentation is received from the treating physician that the admission is temporary and shall not exceed 90 days. The beneficiary will be discharged from the waiver on the 91st day if still in the facility. Payment for waiver services will not be authorized when the beneficiary is in a facility;
- 6. The health, safety and welfare of the individual cannot be assured through the provision of reasonable amounts of waiver services in the community, i.e., presents a danger to <a href="https://herselfthemselves">himself/herselfthemselves</a> or others; and
- 7. Failure to cooperate in the eligibility determination process, the initial or annual implementation of the POC, or fulfilling his/her responsibilities as a Louisiana Children's ChoiceCC Waiver waiver beneficiary.

In the event of a Force Majeure, support coordination agencies, direct service providers, and beneficiaries whenever possible, will be informed in writing, and/or by phone and/or via the Louisiana State Medicaid website of interim guidelines and timelines for retention of waiver slots and/or temporary suspension of continuity of services.

PAGE(S) 5

LOUISIANA MEDICAID PROGRAM	<b>ISSUED:</b>	xx/xx/23
	<b>REPLACED:</b>	05/11/22
CHAPTER 14: CHILDREN'S CHOICE		
<b>SECTION 14.2: BENEFICIARY REQUIRE</b>	EMENTS	PAGE(S) 5

The direct service provider is required to notify the support coordination agency within 24 hours if they have knowledge that the beneficiary has met any of the above stated discharge criteria.