LOUISIANA MEDICAID PROGRAM ISSUED: xx/xx/23 REPLACED: 07/28/21

**CHAPTER 14: CHILDREN'S CHOICE** 

SECTION 14.8: REIMBURSEMENT PAGE(S)

<u>2</u>1

#### REIMBURSEMENT

All claims for Children's Choice Waiver services shall be a prospective flat rate for each approved unit of service provided to the beneficiary. Providers must utilize the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) compliant billing procedure code and modifier, when applicable. Refer to Appendix E for information about the procedure code, unit of service and current reimbursement rate.

Up to two (2) participants may choose to share family support services if they share a common provider of this service. Family support services may share a direct support worker (DSW) across two waivers: the Residential Options Waiver (ROW) (community living supports) and/or New Opportunities Waiver (NOW) (individual and family supports). However, sharing a DSW at the same time across all three waivers is not allowed.

The claim submission date cannot precede the date the service was rendered.

All claims for Children's Choice Waiver services shall be filed by electronic claims submissions 837P or on the CMS 1500 claim form.

## **Direct Support Worker Wages**

Effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 2021, providers of Medicaid home and community-based services (HCBS) waiver services operated through the Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) employing defined direct support workers (DSWs) will receive the equivalent of a \$2.50 per hour rate increase. This increase or its equivalent will be applied to all service units provided by DSWs with an effective date of service for the identified HCBS waiver provided beginning October 1, 2021.

All providers of services affected by this rate increase shall be subject to a DSW minimum hourly wage floor of \$9.00 per hour. This wage floor is effective for all affected direct support workers of any work status (full-time, part-time, etc.)

The Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) reserves the right to adjust the DSW wage floor as needed through appropriate rulemaking promulgation consistent with the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act.

# **Audit Procedures**

The wage enhancement payments reimbursed to providers shall be subject to audit by LDH. Providers shall provide to the Department or its representative all requested documentation to

	<b>REPLACED:</b>	07/28/21
CHAPTER 14: CHILDREN'S CHOICE		
SECTION 14.8: REIMBURSEMENT		PAGE(S)
21		

**ISSUED:** 

xx/xx/23

verify compliance with the DSW wage floor upon request and within the time frame provided by the Department.

Documentation may include, but is not not be limited to:

- 1. Payroll records;
- 2. Wage and salary sheets; and

LOUISIANA MEDICAID PROGRAM

3. Check stubs, etc.

Non-compliance or failure to demonstrate that the wage enhancement was paid directly to direct support workers may result in:

- 1. Sanctions; or
- 2. Disenrollment in the Medicaid program.

#### **Sanctions**

The provider will be subject to sanctions or penalties for failure to comply with requests issued by LDH. The severity of such action will depend on:

- 1. Failure to pay I/ID HCBS direct support workers the floor minimum of \$9.00 per hour;
- 2. Number of employees identified as having been paid less than the \$9.00 per hour floor;
- 3. Persistent failure to pay the floor minimum of \$9.00 per hour; or
- 4. Failure to provide LDH with any requested documentation or information related to or for the purpose of verifying compliance.

### New Opportunities Waiver (NOW) Fund

LDH shall deposit civil fines and the interest collected from providers into the NOW Fund.