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PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS 
 

 

Provider participation in the Louisiana Medicaid program is voluntary.  In order to participate in 

the Medicaid program, a provider must do the following: 

 

1. Meet all of the requirements for licensure as established by state laws and rules 

promulgated by the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH);  

 

2. Agree to abide by all rules and regulations established by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services (CMS), LDH and other state agencies if applicable; and 

 

3. Comply with all of the terms and conditions for Medicaid enrollment. 

 

Providers must attend all mandated meetings and training sessions as directed by the Office for 

Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) or the Human Services Authority or 

Districtlocal governing entity (LGE) as a condition of enrollment and continued participation as a 

waiver provider. A Provider provider Enrollment enrollment Packet packet must be completed for 

each LDH administrative region in which the agency will provide services.  Providers will not be 

added to the Freedom of Choice (FOC) list of available providers until they have been issued a 

Medicaid provider number. 

 

Providers must participate in the initial training for prior authorization (PA) and data collection 

and in any training provided on changes in the system.  Initial training is provided at no cost to the 

agency.  Any repeat training must be paid for by the requesting agency. 

 

Providers must have available computer equipment, software, and internet connectivity necessary 

to participate in prior authorization (PA), data collection, and Electronic Visit Verification. 

 

It is the provider’s responsibility to ensure that use of contractors, including independent 

contractors, complies with all state and federal laws, rules, and/or regulations, including those 

enforced by the United States Department of Labor. 

 

All providers must maintain a toll-free telephone line with 24-hour accessibility manned by a staff 

person or an answering service.  This toll-free number must be given to beneficiaries at intake or 

at the first meeting. 

 

Brochures providing information on the agency’s experience must include the agency’s toll-free 

number along with the OCDD’s toll-free information number.  OCDD must approve all brochures 

prior to use. 
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Providers must develop a Quality quality Improvement improvement and Selfself-Assessment 

assessment Planplan.  This is a document completed by the provider describing the procedures that 

are used, and the evidence that is presented, to demonstrate compliance with program 

requirements.  The first Selfself-Assessment assessment is due six months after approval of the 

Quality Improvement Plan and yearly thereafter.   

 

The Quality Improvement Plan must be submitted for approval within 60 days after the training is 

provided by LDH. 

 

Providers must be certified for a period of one year.  Re-certification must be completed no less 

than 60 days prior to the expiration of the certification period. 

 

The agency must be excluded for participation as an entity as evidenced by an open exclusion on 

the Louisiana State Adverse Actions database, the Office of Inspector General’s (OIG) national 

exclusions database, or the federal System for Award Management (SAM) database.   The agency 

must not have an outstanding Medicaid Program audit exception or other unresolved financial 

liability owed to the state. 

 

Changes in the following areas are to be reported to the Office of the Secretary’s Health Standards 

Section, OCDD, and the fiscal intermediary’s Provider Enrollment Section in writing at least 10 

days prior to any change: 

 

1. Ownership; 

 

2. Physical location; 

 

3. Mailing address; 

 

4. Telephone number; and 

 

5. Account information affecting electronic funds transfer (EFT). 

 

The provider must complete a new provider enrollment packet when a change in ownership of 5 

percent to 50 percent of the controlling interest occurs, but may continue serving beneficiaries.  

When 51 percent or more of the controlling interest is transferred, a complete re-certification 

process must occur and the agency shall not continue serving beneficiaries until the re-certification 

process is complete. 

 

Waiver services are to be provided only to persons who are waiver beneficiaries, and strictly in 

accordance with the provisions of the approved plan of care (POC). 
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Providers may not refuse to serve any waiver beneficiary who chooses their agency unless there is 

documentation to support an inability to meet the individual’s health, safety and welfare needs, or 

all previous efforts to provide services and supports have failed and there is no option but to refuse 

services.  Such refusal to serve an individual must be put in writing by the provider and include a 

detailed explanation as to why the provider is unable to serve the individual.  Written notification 

must be submitted to the Human Services Authority or DistrictLGE.  Providers who contract with 

other entities to provide waiver services must maintain copies of such contracts signed by both 

agencies.  Such contracts must state that the subcontractor may not refuse to serve any waiver 

beneficiary referred to the subcontractor by the enrolled direct service provider agency. 

 

The beneficiary’s provider and support coordination agency must have a written working 

agreement that includes the following: 

 

1. Written notification of the time frames for POC planning meetings; 

 

2. Timely notification of meeting dates and times to allow for provider participation; 

 

3. Information on how the agency is notified when there is a POC or service delivery 

change; and 
 

4. Assurance that the appropriate provider representative is present at planning 

meetings as invited by the beneficiary. 

 

The New Opportunities Waiver (NOW) services outlined below may be provided by the provider 

or by an agreement with other contracted agents.  The actual provider of the service, whether it is 

the provider or a subcontracted agent, must meet the following licensure or other qualifications: 

 

Waiver Service Requirements 
 Service Provided 

by 

Individualized and 

Family Support 

Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(Personal Care Attendant Module) 
Enrolled agency 

Center Based Respite 
Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(Respite Care Module) 
Enrolled agency 

Community Integration 

Development 

Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(Personal Care Attendant or  

Supervised Independent Living Module) 

Enrolled agency 

Residential Habilitation – 

Supported Independent 

Living 

Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(Supervised Independent Living Module) 
Enrolled agency 
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Waiver Service Requirements 
 Service Provided 

by 

Substitute Family Care 

Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(Substitute Family Care Module and  

approved by OCDD) 

Enrolled agency 

Day Habilitation 
Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(Adult Day Care Module) 
Enrolled agency 

Monitored In-Home 

Caregiving (MIHC) 

Services 

Home and Community-Based Provider License Enrolled agency 

Supported Employment 

Valid Certificate of Compliance as a Community 

Rehabilitation Provider from Louisiana Rehabilitation 

Services or 15 hours of documented initial and annual 

vocational-based training plus a Home and Community-

Based Services Provider License 

(Supported Employment Module)  

Enrolled agency 

Prevocational Services 

Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(Adult Day Care  Module with notification to Health 

Standards that Prevocational Services will be provided) 

Enrolled agency 

Environmental 

Accessibility Adaptations 

Registered through the  

Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors as a 

Home Improvement Contractor. 

Enrolled agency Vehicle Lifts:  Licensed by the Louisiana Motor Vehicle 

Commission as a specialty vehicle dealer and accredited 

by the National Mobility Equipment Dealers 

Association under the Structural Vehicle Modifier 

category. 

Specialized Medical 

Equipment and Supplies 

Must meet all applicable vendor standards and 

requirements for manufacturing, design and installation 

of technological equipment and supplies. 

Enrolled agency 

Personal Emergency 

Response Systems 

Must meet all applicable vendor requirements, federal, 

state, parish and local laws for installation. 
Enrolled agency 

Professional Services 
Current valid Louisiana license to practice in the field of 

expertise 

Employed or 

contracted by Home 

and Community-

Based Service 

Provider (Personal 

Care Attendant 

Module, Supervised 

Independent Living 

Module or Home 

Health agency 

Skilled Nursing Home Health license Enrolled agency 
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Waiver Service Requirements 
 Service Provided 

by 

Adult Companion Care 

Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(PCA Module) or Monitored In Home Caregiving 

License 

Enrolled agency 

One Time Transitional 

Expenses 
 OCDD 

 

When required by state law, the person performing the service, such as building contractors, 

plumbers, electricians, or engineers, must meet applicable requirements for professional licensure 

and modifications to the home and must meet all applicable building code standards.  



LOUISIANA MEDICAID PROGRAM ISSUED: xx/xx/23 

  REPLACED: 09/07/21 

CHAPTER 32:  NEW OPPORTUNTIES WAIVER 

SECTION 32.6:  PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS PAGE(S) 1820 
 

Provider Requirements Page 6 of 1820 Section 32.6 

Other Provider Responsibilities 
 

Providers of NOW services are responsible for the following: 

 

1. Ensuring an appropriate representative from the agency attends the POC planning 

meeting and is an active participant in the team meeting; 

 

NOTE:  An appropriate representative is considered to be someone who has 

knowledge and authority to make decisions about the beneficiary’s service 

delivery.  This person may be a program manager, case supervisor, or the executive 

director or designee. An unlicensed direct service worker (DSW) is not considered 

an appropriate representative for the POC planning meeting. 

 

2. Communicating and working with support coordinators and other support team 

members to achieve the beneficiary’s personal outcomes; 

 

3. Ensuring the provider plan of carePOC documents are updated as changes occur, 

including the beneficiary’s emergency contact information and list of medications; 

 

4. Informing the support coordinator by telephone or e-mail as soon as the agency 

recognizes that any goals, objectives or timelines in the POC will not meet the 

beneficiary’s needs, but not later than 10 days prior to the expiration of any 

timelines in the service plan that cannot be met; 

 

5. An update to the provider documents should only occur as a result of a documented 

meeting with the beneficiary or authorized representative where the reason for 

change is indicated and all parties sign the meeting attendance record; 

 

6. Ensuring the provider agency support team member(s) sign and date any revisions 

to the service plan indicating agreement with the changes to the goals, objectives 

or time lines; 

 

7. Providing the support coordination agency or LDH representatives with requested 

written documentation including, but not limited to: 

 

a. Completed, signed, and dated service plan; 

 

b. Service logs, progress notes, and progress summaries; 
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c. Direct service workerDSW attendance and payroll records; 

 

d. Written grievance or complaint filed by beneficiary/family; 

 

e. Critical or other incident reports involving the beneficiary; and 

 

f. Entrance and exit interview documentation. 

 

8. Explaining to the beneficiary/family in his/her native language the beneficiary 

rights and responsibilities within the agency; 

 and  

 

9. Assuring that beneficiaries are free to make a choice of providers without undue 

influence; and 

 

10. Medicaid has established a DSW Wage floor. Provider agencies must follow these 

rules and pay the DSW as directed by Medicaid.  The current wage floor can be 

found in the Louisiana Administrative Code and the OCDD will post a memo on 

the OCDD website (https://ldh.la.gov/index.cfm/subhome/11/n/8). Providers will 

be responsible for following this directive. 

 

Support Coordination Providers 
 

Support Coordination 

Support Coordination is a service that will assist beneficiaries in gaining access to all of their 

needed support services, including medical, social, educational, and other services, regardless of 

the funding source for the services.  Providers of support coordination for the NOW program must 

have a signed performance agreement with OCDD to provide services to waiver beneficiaries. 

Support coordination agencies must meet all of the performance agreement requirements in 

addition to any additional criteria outlined by the program office. 

 

Support Coordination activities include but are not limited to the following: 

1. Convening the person-centered planning team comprised of the beneficiary, 

beneficiary’s family, direct service providers, medical and social work 

professionals, as necessary, and advocates, who assist in determining the 

appropriate supports and strategies needed in order to meet the beneficiary’s needs 

and preferences;  

https://ldh.la.gov/index.cfm/subhome/11/n/8
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2. On-going coordination and monitoring of supports and services included in the 

beneficiary’s approved POC; 

 

3. Building and implementing the supports and services as described in the POC; 

 

4. Assisting the beneficiary to use the findings of formal and informal assessments to 

develop and implement support strategies to achieve the personal outcomes defined 

and prioritized by the beneficiary in the POC; 

 

5. Providing information to the beneficiary on potential community resources, 

including formal resources and informal/natural resources, which may be useful in 

developing strategies to support the beneficiary in attaining his/her desired personal 

outcomes; 

 

6. Assisting with coordinating transportation to access medical services and 

community resources; 

 

7. Assisting with problem solving with the beneficiary, families, services providers, 

and/or local governing entities (LGEs); 

 

8. Assisting the beneficiary to initiate, develop and maintain informal and natural 

support networks and to obtain the services identified in the POC assuring that they 

meet their individual needs; 

 

9. Advocating on behalf of the beneficiary to assist them in obtaining benefits, 

supports or services, i.e. to help establish, expand, maintain and strengthen the 

beneficiary’s information and natural support networks.  This may involve calling 

and/or visiting beneficiaries, community groups, organizations, or agencies with or 

on behalf of the beneficiary; 

 

10. Training and supporting the beneficiary in self-advocacy, i.e. the selection of 

providers and utilization of community resources to achieve and maintain his/her 

desired outcomes; 

 

11. Oversight of the service providers to ensure that their beneficiary receives 

appropriate services and outcomes as designated in the POC; 

 

12. Assisting the beneficiary to overcome obstacles, recognize potential opportunities 

and developing creative opportunities; 
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13. Meeting with the beneficiary in a face-to-face meetings as well as telephone contact 

as specified.  This includes meeting them where the services take place; 

 

14. Must report and document any incidents/complaints/abuse/neglect according to the 

OCDD policy and in accordance with licensure, state laws, rules, and regulations, 

as applicable;  

 

15. Must arrange any necessary professional/clinical evaluations needed and ensure 

beneficiary choice;   

 

16. Must identify gather and review the array of formal assessments and other 

documents that are relevant to the beneficiary’s needs, interests, strengths, 

preferences, and desired personal outcomes; 

 

17. Develop an action plan in conjunction with the beneficiary to monitor and evaluate 

strategies to ensure continued progress toward the beneficiary’s personal outcomes; 

and 

 

18. On-going discussions with the beneficiary (aged 16 years or older) about 

employment including identifying barriers to employment and working to 

overcome those barriers, connecting the beneficiary to certified work incentive 

coordinators (CWIC) to do benefits planning, referring the beneficiary to Louisiana 

Rehabilitation Services (LRS) and following the case through closure with LRS, 

and other activities of the employment process as identified. This includes the 

quarterly completion of and data input using the Path to Employment Form.  

 

NOTE:  Advocacy is defined as assuring that the beneficiary receives appropriate supports and 

services of high quality and locating additional services not readily available in the community. 

Support Coordination Providers Qualifications 

Support Coordination providers must meet the following requirements: 

1. Be licensed as a support coordination provider; and 

 

2. Meet all requirements as outlined in the Support Coordination Performance 

Agreement. 
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NOTE:  Please refer to the Guidelines for Support Planning, Operational Instruction for Critical 

Incident Review, and OCDD Support Coordination Reference Guide for additional information. 

Direct Service Provider Responsibilities 
 

Direct service provider agencies must have written policy and procedure manuals that include, but 

are not limited to, the following: 

 

1. Training policy that includes orientation and staff training requirements according 

to the Home and Community-Based Service Providers Licensing Standards and the 

Direct Service WorkerDSW Registry; 

 

2. Direct care abilities, skills, and knowledge requirements that employees must 

possess to adequately perform care and assistance as required by waiver 

beneficiaries; 

 

3. Employment and personnel job descriptions, hiring practices including a policy 

against discrimination, employee evaluation, promotion, disciplinary action, 

termination and hearing of employee grievances, staffing, and staff coverage plan; 

 

4. Record maintenance, security, supervision, confidentiality, organization, transfer, 

and disposal; 

 

5. Identification, notification, and protection of beneficiary’s rights, both verbally and 

in writing, in a language the beneficiary/family is able to understand; 

 

6. Written grievance procedures; 

 

7. Information about abuse and neglect as defined by LDH regulations and state and 

federal laws; 

 

8. EVV: requirements/proper use of check in/out; acceptable editing of electronically 

captured services; reporting services when in “no service zones” or failure to clock 

in/out (Electronic Connectivity Form and manual entry); confidentiality of log in 

information; monitoring of EVV system for proper use; 
 

NOTE:  NOW providers must use the electronic visit reverification (EVV) system 

designated by the Department for automated scheduling, time and attendance 

tracking, and billing for certain home and community-based services.  
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Reimbursement shall only be made to providers with documented use of the EVV 

system. The services that require use of the EVV system will be published in the 

NOW provider manual. 
 

8.9. DSW Registry: requirement for accessing the department’s Adverse Action 

database for findings placed against the direct service workersDSWs prohibiting 

employment; and 

 

9.10. Criminal History Checks: requirement for compliance with state statutes for non-

licensed direct care personnel.  

 

POC Provider Documents 

 
The direct service provider must complete the provider portion of the plan of carePOC to include 

all waiver services that the agency provides to the beneficiary based on the identified POC goals 

and other supports required. 

 

The provider documents in the POC must be person-centered, focus on the beneficiary’s desired 

outcomes and include the following elements: 

 

1. Specific activities to achieve the goals outlined in the beneficiary’s approved POC; 

and 

 

2. Strategies or supports needed to meet the individual’s needs. 

 

The POC provider documents must be reviewed and updated as necessary to comply with the 

specified goals, objectives, and timelines stated in the beneficiary’s approved POC or when 

changes are necessary based on beneficiary needs. 

 

Providers who receive the IFS supplemental payment for supporting individuals with complex 

behavioral needs are responsible for preparing the Behavioral Supports (CPOC Attachment G) and 

the Emotional Wellness Crisis Prevention Plan (CPOC Attachment F).  Providers who receive the 

IFS supplemental payment for supporting individuals with complex medical needs are responsible 

for completing the Complex Care Medical Supports (CPOC Attachment L) and any documentation 

required by Attachment L.  Providers are also responsible for providing evidence of training by a 

registered nurse (RN), including written delegations for the direct care staff to perform the non-

complex medical tasks.  A current RN assessment is also required and is to be updated quarterly. 

Back-up Planning 
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Direct service providers are responsible for providing all of the necessary staff to fulfill the health 

and welfare needs of the beneficiary when paid supports are scheduled to be provided.  This 

includes times when the scheduled direct service workerDSW is absent or unavailable or unable 

to work for any reason. 

 

All direct service providers are required to develop an individualized back-up plan for each 

beneficiary. Direct service providers are required to have policies in place which outline the 

protocols the agency has established to assure that back-up direct service workersDSWs are readily 

available, lines of communication and chain of command procedures have been established, and 

procedures for dissemination of the back-up plan information to beneficiaries, their authorized 

representatives and support coordinators.  Protocols must also describe how and when the direct 

support staff will be trained in the care needed by the beneficiary.  This training must occur prior 

to any direct support staff being solely responsible for a beneficiary. 

 

Back-up plans must be updated as changes occur to assure that the information is kept current and 

applicable to the beneficiary’s needs.  The back-up plan must be submitted to the beneficiary’s 

support coordinator in a timely manner to be included as a component of the beneficiary’s initial 

and annual POC. 

 

Direct service providers may not use the beneficiary’s informal support system as a means of 

meeting the agency’s individualized back-up plan and/or emergency evacuation response plan 

requirements without documented consent of the informal support system.  The beneficiary’s 

family members and others identified in the beneficiary’s circle of support may elect to provide 

backup, but this does not exempt the provider from the requirement of providing the necessary 

staff for backup purposes when paid supports are scheduled. 

 

Emergency Evacuation Planning 
 

Emergency evacuation plans must be developed in addition to the beneficiary’s individualized 

back-up plan.  Providers must have an emergency evacuation plan that specifies in detail how the 

direct service provider will respond to potential emergency situations such as fires, hurricanes, 

tropical storms, hazardous material release, flash flooding, ice storms, and terrorist attacks. 

 

The emergency evacuation plan must be person-specific and include at a minimum the following 

components: 

 

1. Individualized risk assessment of potential health emergencies; 

 

2. A detailed plan to address the beneficiary’s individualized evacuation needs, 

including a review of the beneficiary’s individualized back-up plan, during 
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geographical and natural disaster emergencies and all other potential emergency 

conditions; 

 

3. Policies and procedures outlining the agency’s implementation of emergency 

evacuation plans and the coordination of these plans with the local Office of 

Emergency Preparedness and Homeland Security; 

 

4. Establishment of effective lines of communication and chain of command 

procedures; 

 

5. Establishment of procedures for the dissemination of the emergency evacuation 

plan to beneficiaries and support coordinators; and 

 

6. Protocols outlining how and when direct service workersDSWs and beneficiaries 

will be trained in the implementation of the emergency evacuation plan and post-

emergency procedures. 

 

Training for direct service workersDSWs and verification of competency must occur prior to the 

worker being solely responsible for the support of the beneficiary. 

 

The beneficiary must be provided with regular, planned opportunities to practice the emergency 

evacuation response plan. 

 

OCDD, support coordination agencies, and direct service provider agencies are responsible for 

following the established emergency protocol before, during, and after hurricanes or other natural 

disasters or events as outlined in the “Emergency Protocol for Tracking Location Before, During 

and After Hurricanes” document found in the OCDD Guidelines for Support Planning manual.  

(See Appendix D for Guidelines for Support Planning information). 

 

Residential Habilitation – Supported Independent-Living Provider 

Responsibilities 

 

In addition to the approved direct support hours provided to the beneficiary, the Supported 

Independent Living (SIL) provider is responsible for maintaining weekly contact with the 

beneficiary for supervision purposes and making a minimum of one monthly face-to-face contact 

in the home to ensure the living situation complies with licensing requirements.  The minimum 

requirements for SIL contacts are as follows: 

1. Two contacts every week (Sunday through Saturday) with the beneficiary, either 

face-to-face, by phone, or through adaptive communication technology.  These two 
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weekly contacts are for supervision purposes and are intended to provide the 

beneficiary an opportunity to express concern and provide assurance that all needs 

are being met; and  

 

2. One monthly contact (each calendar month) face-to-face with the beneficiary in the 

beneficiary’s home. This contact is intended to ensure that the living situation is 

safe, that it complies with licensing requirements, and that all necessary support is 

provided to the beneficiary (medications are refilled, no repairs are necessary, 

adequate food is in home, bills are paid, staff is working the hours required, no 

abuse/neglect, etc.).  The frequency of the face-to- face contacts shall be based on 

the beneficiary’s needs. 

 

The weekly supervision contacts are separate from the monthly in-home contact; therefore, the 

monthly in-home contact will not count as one of the two weekly contacts required. Providers may 

make as many contacts in a day as are necessary to meet the needs of the beneficiary.  However, 

only one contact per day (either weekly or monthly contacts) will count towards meeting the 

minimum contacts required. Attempted contacts are unacceptable and will not count towards 

meeting any of the minimum contact requirements. Any identified payment made to a provider 

agency for an incomplete contact will be subject to recoupment of funds paid.  All contacts used 

for billing purposes must be documented.  The contact must identify the name of the beneficiary 

contacted, date of the contact, beginning and ending time of the contact, topics discussed during 

the contact, and the printed name and signature of the person making the contact. 

 

Beneficiary contacts must be completed by a supervisor of the provider agency so designated due 

to the supervisor’s experience and expertise relating to client needs or an employee of the provider 

agency who is a licensed/certified professional (Qualified Intellectual Disability Professional) 

qualified in the State of Louisiana and who meets the requirements as defined by the Title 42, 

Section 483.430 of the Code of Federal Regulations [42 CFR 483.430]. Providers are required to 

maintain appropriate documentation indicating these requirements for all required contacts. 

 

NOTE:  The billing week begins at midnight Sunday (12:00 a.m.) and ends at midnight the 

following Sunday (12:00 a.m.). 

 

The provider must provide back-up staff that is available on a 24-hour basis. SIL services must be 

coordinated with any services listed in the approved POC. 

 

SIL providers are responsible for assisting beneficiaries with obtaining the completed Form 90-L 

from their primary care physician on an annual basis. 

Day Habilitation Provider Responsibilities 
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The service provider must possess a current valid Home and Community-Based Service Providers 

License to provide adult day care services and adhere to the following requirements in order to 

provide transportation to beneficiaries: 

 

1. The provider’s vehicles used in transporting beneficiaries must adhere to the 

requirements of the HCBS licensing rule; 

 

2. Providers must maintain liability insurance in the amount specified in the HCBS 

licensing requirements; 

 

3. Drivers must have a current Louisiana driver’s license applicable to the vehicle 

being used; and 

 

4. The provider must document this service in the provider’s transportation log, which 

can be either electronic with GPS tracking or a paper log.  The log is not required 

to be filed in the beneficiary’s record file, but must contain information that 

identifies the beneficiary, the time of pick up, and the time of drop off.  It shall also 

be available upon request for review by any Louisiana state agency, including 

Human Services Authorities and DistrictsLGEs and Support Coordination.  

 

Supported Employment Provider Responsibilities 
 

Supported Employment providers must maintain documentation in the file of each individual 

beneficiary that the services are not available to the beneficiary in programs funded under Section 

110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or Section 602 (16) and (17) of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) [20 U.S.C. 1401 (26) and (29)]. 

 

The service provider must possess a current valid Home and Community-Based Service Providers 

License provide adult day care services to provide adult day care services and adhere to the 

following requirements in order to provide transportation to beneficiaries: 

 

1. The provider’s vehicles used in transporting beneficiaries must adhere to the 

requirements of the HCBS licensing rule; 

 

2. Drivers must have a current Louisiana driver’s license applicable to the vehicle 

being used; and 

 

3. The provider must document this service in the provider’s transportation log, which 

can be either electronic with GPS tracking or a paper log.  The log is not required 

to be filed in the beneficiary’s record file, but must contain information that 
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identifies the beneficiary, the time of pick up and the time of drop off.  It shall also 

be available upon request for review by any Louisiana state agency, including 

Human Services Authorities and DistrictsLGEs and Support Coordination. 

 

Prevocational Services Provider Responsibilities 
 

The provider must maintain documentation in the file of each individual beneficiary receiving 

Prevocational Services that the services are not available to eligible beneficiaries in programs 

funded under Section 110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or Section 602 (16) and (17) of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) [20 U.S.C. 1401 (26) and (29)]. 
 

Professional Services – Psychological Provider Responsibilities 

Providers of psychological services must: 

 

1. Perform an initial evaluation to assess the beneficiary’s need for services; 

 

2. Develop an Individualized Service Plan for the provision of psychological services, 

which must document the supports that will be provided to the beneficiary to meet 

his/her goals based on the beneficiary’s approved POC; 

 

3. Implement the beneficiary’s therapy service plan in accordance with appropriate 

licensing and certification standards; 

 

4. Complete progress notes for each session, within 10 calendar days of the session, and 

provide notes to the beneficiary’s support coordinator every three months or as 

specified in the POC; 

 

5. Maintain both current and past records and make them available upon request to 

OCDD, service providers, support coordinators, the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), and/or legislative auditors; and 

 

6. Bill only for services rendered, based on the beneficiary’s approved POC and prior 

authorizationPA. 

 

Skilled Nursing Services Provider Responsibilities 
 

Provider agencies of Skilled skilled Nursing nursing services must: 
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1. Ensure that all nurses employed to provide Skilled skilled Nursing nursing services 

are either registered nurses or licensed practical nurses who have a current 

Louisiana Board of Nursing license with a minimum of one year of supervised 

nursing experience in providing Skilled Nursing nursing services in a community 

setting to beneficiaries; 

 

2. Provide an orientation on waiver services to licensed nurses and assure that licensed 

nurses adhere to the OCDD Critical Incident Reporting policy.  (See Appendix D 

for information regarding this policy); 

 

3. Collect and submit the following documents to the beneficiary’s support 

coordination agency: 

 

a. Primary care physician’s order for Skilled Nursing services:   

 

i. The physician’s order must be signed and dated and must contain 

the number of hours per day and duration of Skilled Nursing 

services required to meet the beneficiary’s needs.  This order must 

be updated at least every 60 days.  The physician’s order must be 

submitted to the Human Services Authority or DistrictLGEs with 

the beneficiary’s annual POC and upon request.  Prior 

authorizationPA will not be released if the physician’s order is not 

submitted as required. 

 

b. Primary care physician’s letter of necessity for Skilled Nursing services:   

 

i. The physician’s letter of medical necessity must be on the 

physician’s letterhead. 

 

c. Current Form 90-L signed by the beneficiary’s primary care physician; 

 

d. Summary of the beneficiary’s medical history: 

 

i. The summary must indicate the beneficiary’s service needs, based 

on a documented record review, and specify any recent (within one 

year) Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 

(EPSDT) extended home health service approvals. 

 

e. CMS Form 485 completed by the home health agency to identify the Skilled 

Nursing service needs. 



LOUISIANA MEDICAID PROGRAM ISSUED: xx/xx/23 

  REPLACED: 09/07/21 

CHAPTER 32:  NEW OPPORTUNTIES WAIVER 

SECTION 32.6:  PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS PAGE(S) 1820 
 

Provider Requirements Page 18 of 1820 Section 32.6 

 

4. Develop and implement an Individual Nursing Service Plan in conjunction with the 

beneficiary’s physician, support team, and the support coordinator to identify and 

fulfill the beneficiary’s specific needs in a cost-effective manner; 

 

5. Render services to the beneficiary as ordered by the beneficiary’s primary care 

physician and as reflected in the beneficiary’s POC within the requirements of the 

Louisiana Nurse Practice Act.  For the purpose of this policy, nursing assessments, 

nursing care planning, and revisions of care planning must be consistent with the 

Outcome and Assessment Information Set (OASIS) requirements used by home 

health agencies that provide Skilled Nursing services; 

 

6. Complete progress notes for each treatment, assessment, intervention, and critical 

incident; 

 

7. Provide the support coordination agency with physician-ordered changes every 60 

days regarding the beneficiary’s health status and health needs; 

 

8. Inform the support coordinator immediately of the providers’ inability to provide 

staff according to the beneficiary’s nursing service plan; 

 

9. Report any beneficiary’s non-compliance with or refusal of the established 

Individual Nursing Service Plan and provide these notes to the designated support 

coordinator every three months, or as specified in the POC; 

 

10. Maintain both current and past records and make them available upon request to 

the OCDD, service providers, support coordinators, the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), and/or legislative auditors; 

 

11. Bill for prior authorized services rendered based on the beneficiary’s approved Plan 

of CarePOC; 

 

12. Ensure the home health nurse and the beneficiary’s support coordinator 

communicate at least monthly to determine if any further planning is required; 

 

13. Report any changes in the beneficiary’s nursing service needs to the support 

coordinator. If necessary, the support coordinator will call an Interdisciplinary 

interdisciplinary Team team meeting to review the POC and to discuss any needed 

revisions. Changes to Skilled skilled Nursing nursing services, in accordance with 
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regulations, must be reflected in the Individual Nursing Services Plan and 

submitted to the support coordinator every 60 days; 

 

NOTE:  It is not necessary to revise the POC every 60 days unless there is a change in the 

beneficiary’s medical condition requiring the need for additional Skilled Nursing services or the 

beneficiary requests a change. 

 

14. Changes in the Individual Nursing Service Plan must be approved by the primary 

care physician and reflect the physician’s orders for the Skilled skilled Nursing 

nursing service; 

 

15. Ensure the Individual Nursing Service Plan is current and available in the 

beneficiary’s home at all times; 

 

16. Follow all NOW requirements, minimum standards for home health agencies and 

state and federal rules and regulations for licensed home health agencies and 

nursing care; and 

 

17. Comply with OCDD standards for payment, Medical Assistance Program Integrity 

Law (MAPIL), HIPAA, ADA, and licensing requirements. 

 

Adult Companion Care Services Provider Responsibilities 
 

The provider organization shall must develop a written agreement as part of the beneficiary’s POC 

that defines all of the shared responsibilities between the companion and the beneficiary. The 

written agreement shall include, but is not limited to the following: 

1. Types of support provided by the companion; 

 

2. Activities provided by the companion; and 

 

3. A typical weekly schedule. 

 

Revisions to this agreement must be facilitated by the provider organization and approved by the 

support team. Revisions may occur at the request of the beneficiary, the companion, the provider, 

or other support team members.  

The provider organization is responsible for performing the following functions which are 

included in the daily rate:  
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1. Arranging the delivery of services and providing emergency services; 

 

2. Making an initial home visit to the beneficiary’s home, as well as periodic home 

visits as required by the department;  

 

3. Contacting the companion a minimum of once per week or as specified in the 

beneficiary’s comprehensive plan of carePOC; 

4. Providing 24-hour oversight and supervision of the adult companion care services, 

including back-up for the scheduled and unscheduled absences of the companion; 

and 

 

5. Facilitating a signed written agreement between the companion and the beneficiary 

that assures the following: 

 

a. The companion's portion of expenses must be at least $200 per month, but 

shall not exceed 50 percent of the combined monthly costs, which include 

rent, utilities, and primary telephone expenses; and  

 

b. Inclusion of any other expenses must be negotiated between the beneficiary 

and the companion. These negotiations must be facilitated by the provider, 

and the resulting agreement must be included in the written agreement and 

in the beneficiary’s POC. 


