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PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS 
 

Provider participation in the Louisiana Medicaid program is voluntary.  In order to participate in 

the Medicaid program, a provider must: 

 

1. Meet all of the requirements for licensure as established by state laws and rules 

promulgated by the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH); 

 

2. Agree to abide by all rules and regulations established by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services (CMS), LDH, and other state agencies, if applicable; and 

 

3. Comply with all the terms and conditions for Medicaid enrollment. 

 

It is the provider’s responsibility to: 

 

1. Providers must aAttend all mandated meetings and training sessions as directed by 

the Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) or the Human 

Services Authority or District     local governing authority LGE) as a condition of 

enrollment and continued participation as a waiver provider. A Provider provider 

Enrollment enrollment Packet packet must be completed for each LDH 

administrative region in which the agency will provide services.  Providers will not 

be added to the Freedom of Choice (FOC) list of available providers until they have 

been issued a Medicaid provider number;. 

 

2. Providers must participate in the initial training for prior authorization and data 

collection and any training provided on changes in the system.  Initial training is 

provided at no cost to the agency.  Any repeat training must be paid for by the 

requesting agency;. 

 

3. Providers must hHave available computer equipment, software, and internet 

connectivity necessary to participate in prior authorization (PA), data collection, 

and Electronic electronic Visit visit Verificationverification;. 

 

4. It is the provider’s responsibility to eEnsure that use of contractors, including the 

use of independent contractors, complies with all state and federal laws, rules 

and/or regulations, including those enforced by the United States Department of 

Labor;. 

 

 

 

5. All providers must mMaintain a toll-free telephone line with 24-hour accessibility 

manned by a staff member or by an answering service.  This toll-free number must 

be given to beneficiaries at intake or at the first meeting.  
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Brochures providing information on the agency’s experience must include the agency’s 

toll-free number along with the OCDD’s toll-free information number.  OCDD 

must approve all brochures prior to use; and. 

 

6. Providers must dDevelop a Quality quality Improvement improvement and 

Selfself-Assessment assessment Planplan.  This is a document completed by the provider 

describing the procedures that are used, and the evidence that is presented, to demonstrate 

compliance with program requirements.  The first Selfself-Assessment assessment is due 

six months after approval of the Quality Improvement Plan (QIP), and yearly thereafter.  
  

The Quality Improvement PlanQIP must be submitted for approval within 60 days after the 

training is provided by LDH. 

 

Providers must be certified for a period of one year.  Re-certification must be completed no less 

than 60 days prior to the expiration of the certification period. 

 

The agency must not be excluded from participation as an entity as evidenced by an open exclusion 

on the Louisiana State Adverse Actions database, the Office of Inspector General’s (OIG) national 

exclusions database, or the federal System for Award Management (SAM) database.    

 

The agency must not be excluded from participation as an entity as evidenced by an open exclusion 

on the Louisiana State Adverse Actions database, the Office of Inspector General’s (OIG) national 

exclusions database, or the federal System for Award Management (SAM) database.  The agency 

must not have an outstanding Medicaid Program program audit exception or other unresolved 

financial liability owed to the state. 

 

Changes in the following areas are to be reported to the Office of the Secretary’s  

BureauSecretary’s Bureau of Health Services Financing Health Standards Section, to OCDD, and 

to the Fiscal fiscal Intermediary’s intermediary’s Provider Enrollment Section section in writing 

at least 10 days prior to any change: 

 

1. Ownership; 

 

2. Physical location; 

 

3. Mailing address; 

 

4. Telephone number; and 

 

5. Account information affecting electronic funds transfer (EFT). 

 

The provider must complete a new provider enrollment packet when a change in ownership of 5 

five percent to 50 percent of the controlling interest occurs, but the provider may continue serving 
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beneficiaries.  When 51 percent or more of the controlling interest is transferred, a complete re-

certification process must occur, and the agency shall not continue serving beneficiaries until the 

re-certification process is complete. 

 

Waiver services are to be provided only to persons who are waiver beneficiaries and strictly in 

accordance with the provisions of the approved Plan plan of Care care (POC). 

 

Providers may not refuse to serve any waiver beneficiary that chooses their agency unless there is 

documentation to support an inability to meet the individual’s health, safety, and welfare needs, or 

all previous efforts to provide services and supports have failed and there is no option but to refuse 

services.  Such refusal to serve an individual must be put in writing by the provider and include a 

detailed explanation as to why the provider is unable to serve the individual.  Written notification 

must be submitted to the Human Service Authority or District LGE.  Providers who contract with 

other entities to provide waiver services must maintain copies of such contracts signed by both 

agencies.  Such contracts must state that the subcontractor may not refuse to serve any waiver 

beneficiary referred to it by the enrolled direct service provider agency. 

 

The beneficiary’s provider and support coordination agency must have a written working 

agreement that includes the following: 

 

1. Written notification of the time frames for POC planning meetings; 

 

2. Timely notification of meeting dates and times to allow for provider participation; 

 

3. Information on how the agency is notified when there is a POC or service delivery 

change; and 

 

4. Assurance that the appropriate provider representative is present at planning 

meetings as invited by the beneficiary. 

 

The ROW services outlined below may be provided by the provider or by an agreement with other 

contracted agents.  The actual provider of the service, whether it is the provider or a subcontracted 

agent, must meet the following licensure or other qualifications: 

 

Waiver Service Requirements  Service Provided by 

Support Coordination 

Case Management License 

 

Providers of support coordination for the ROW program 

must have a signed performance agreement with OCDD to 

provide services to waiver beneficiaries.   

 

Support coordination agencies must meet all of the 

performance agreement requirements, state rules in 

addition to any additional criteria outlined in the Case 

Enrolled agency 

 Provider Type 45: 
  Case Management-Contract 

 

Specialty 81: 

Case Management 

 

Subspecialty: 

4W 
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Management Services manual chapter, state rule, and 

ROW Provider Manual. 
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Waiver Service Requirements  Service Provided by 

Community Living 

Supports 

 

 

Home and Community-Based Services Provider 

License 

(Personal Care Attendant Module) 

 

Self-Direction Option Available 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 82:  
Personal Care Attendant 

 

Specialty 82: 

Personal Care Attendant 

 

Subspecialty: 

4W 

Companion Care 

 

 

 

Personal Care Attendant Module 

 

 

 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 82:  
Personal Care Attendant 

 

Specialty 82: 

Personal Care Attendant 

 

Subspecialty: 

4W 

Shared Living 

 

Supervised Independent Living Module 

Supervised Independent Living Conversion Module 

 

Shared Living Providers must also have OCDD approval 

which includes: 

1. Conversion Option: 

a. Current ICF/IID provider in good standing 

and licensed to operate by LDH-Health 

Standards Section (Conversion Module); 

b. Apply for and meet ROW provider 

qualifications for the Shared Living 

Conversion; and 

c. OCDD regional office will document that the 

Shared Living option was explained to, 

understood by, and agreed upon by all 

individuals who will be affected when the 

ICF/IID is closed and the license is 

surrendered. 

 

2. New Option: 

a. If any ICF/IID license is held or was 

previously held, the licensee must be or have 

been a provider in good standing; and 

b. Apply for and meet ROW provider 

qualifications for the Shared Living. 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 11:  
Shared Living 

 

Specialty 4A: 

DD 

 

Subspecialties: 

Conversion Option: 

4J-Provider Owned/Leased 

Residence 

4H- Beneficiary 

Owned/Leased Residence 

 

New Option: 

4G-Provider Owned/Leased 

Residence 

4L- Beneficiary 

Owned/Leased Residence 
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One Time Transitional 

Expenses 
 OCDD 

Host Home 

Substitute Family Care Module when providing 

services to adults  

  

Class “A” Child Placing License when provider 

services to children 

 

Providers must: 

1. Have experience in delivering therapeutic 

services to persons with developmental 

disabilities; and 

2. Have staff who have experience working with 

persons with developmental disabilities. 

3.2. 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 84:  
Substitute Family Care 

 

Specialty 84: 

Substitute Family Care 

 

Subspecialty: 

4W 

Center Based Respite 

Home and Community-Based Services Provider 

License 

Respite Care Module for a facility 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 83: 

Waiver-Respite Care 

 

Specialty 83: 

Respite Care 

 

 

Environmental 

Accessibility 

Adaptations 

Home Adaptations: 

 

Providers must be registered through the Louisiana State 

Licensing Board for Contractors as a General 

Contractor, Home Improvement Contractor, or 

Residential Building Contractor. 

 

Environmental Modification providers must meet the 

following requirements: 

1. Must be enrolled as a Medicaid Environmental 

Modifications Provider;  

2. Must comply with all applicable Local (City or 

Parish) Occupational License(s); 

3. All services shall be provided in accordance 

with applicable State or local requirements; 

4. Must meet any state or local requirements for 

licensure or certification for the work 

performed, as well as the person performing the 

service (i.e., building contractors, plumbers, 

electricians, or engineers);  

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 15: 
Environmental Modifications 

 

Specialty 80: 

Environmental Modifications 
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5. Must meet such standards for modifications to 

the home when state and local building or 

housing code standards are applicable; and 

 If currently enrolled in Louisiana Medicaid as a 

DME provider, documentation from the 

manufacturing company (on their company 

letterhead) that confirms this DME provider is 

an authorized distributor of a specific product 

that attaches to a building.   

NOTE: This letter must specify the 

product and must state that this DME 

provider has been trained on its 

installation. 

 

Vehicle Adaptations/Vehicle Lift 

 

Providers must be licensed by the Louisiana Motor 

Vehicle Commission as a Specialty specialty Vehicle 

vehicle Dealer dealer and accredited by the National 

Mobility Equipment Dealers Association under the 

Structural structural Vehicle vehicle Modifier modifier 

categoryin the state licensure. 

 

Vehicle Modification modification providers must meet 

the following requirements: 

1. Must be enrolled as a Medicaid Environmental 

environmental Modifications modifications 

Providerprovider;  

2. Must comply with all applicable Local local 

(City city or Parishparish) Occupational 

occupational Licenselicense(s); and 

3. All services shall be provided in accordance 

with applicable State or local requirements. 

 

Assistive 

Technology/Specialized 

Medical Equipment 

and Supplies 

 

Must meet all applicable vendor standards and 

requirements for manufacturing, design and installation 

of technological equipment and supplies. 

 

If currently enrolled in Louisiana Medicaid as a DME 

provider, documentation from the manufacturing 

company (on their letterhead) that confirms this DME 

provider is an authorized distributor of a specific 

product that attaches to a building.   

NOTE: This letter must specify the product and must 

state that this DME provider has been trained on its 

installation. 

 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 17: 

Assistive Devices 

 

Specialty 91: 

Assistive Devices 
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Personal Emergency 

Response Systems 

Must meet all applicable vendor requirements, federal, state, 

parish and local laws for installation. 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 16:  

Personal Emergency 

Response Systems 

 

Specialty 90: 

Personal Emergency 

Response Systems 

(Waiver) 

 

Transportation-

Community Access 

 

Must maintain the state minimum automobile liability 

insurance coverage, have a current state inspection sticker, 

and have a current valid driver’s license. 

 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 42: 
Friends and Family 

 

Specialty: 

4W 

 

Subspecialty: 

4W 

 

Professional Services 

 

 

Must possess a current valid Louisiana license to practice in 

the following fields of expertise: 

 

1. Registered Dieticiandietician; 

2. Speech Therapisttherapist; 

3. Occupational Therapisttherapist; 

4. Physical Therapisttherapist; 

5. Social Workerworker; and 

6. Psychologist. 

 

Professionals are able to enroll individually and/or be linked to 

an agency.  Professionals must have one-year experience in 

delivering services to persons with developmental disabilities 

based on the following criteria: 

 

1. Verification that every professional meets the one-year 

experience requirement for delivering services to 

persons with developmental disabilities; 

2. Full-time employment gained in advanced and 

accredited training programs (i.e., masters or residency 

level training programs) which includes services for 

persons with developmental disabilities); 

3. Paid, full-time professional experience in specialized 

service/treatment settings for persons with 

Enrolled agency 

 

Employed or 

contracted by Home 

and Community- 

Based Service 

Provider (Personal 

Care Attendant 

Module, Supervised 

Independent Living 

Module or Home 

Health agency 

 

 

 

 

Individual 

Enrollment 

 

Provider Type 41: 

Registered Dietician 

Specialty 4R: 

Registered Dietician 

 

Provider Type 39: 
Speech Therapist 

Specialty 71: 
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developmental disabilities (i.e., intermediate care 

facilities for persons with developmental disabilities); 

4. Paid, full-time professional experience in multi-

disciplinary programs for persons with developmental 

disabilities (i.e., mental health treatment programs for 

persons with dual diagnosis-mental illness and 

developmental disabilities);  

5. Paid, full-time professional experience in specialized 

educational, vocational and therapeutic programs or 

settings for persons with developmental disabilities 

(i.e., school special education program); and 

6. Two years of part-time experience (minimum of 20 

hours per week) may be substituted for one year of full-

time experience. 

 

Items that do not qualify for the required experience: 

1. Volunteer professional experience; and 

2. Experience gained in caring for a relative or friend with 

developmental disabilities. 

 

If a professional chooses to link to an agency, the agency must 

be licensed by the LDH as one of the following: 

1. Home Health health Agencyagency;  

2. Free-Standing standing Rehab rehabilitation 

Clinicclinic;  

3. Supervised Independent independent Living living 

Agency agency (Shared shared Livingliving); 

4. Substitute Family family Care care (Host host 

Homehome-Adultadult); or 

5. Class “A” Child child Placing placing Agency agency 

(Host host Homehome-Childchild) by the Department 

of Children and Family Services. 

 

Speech Therapy 

 

Provider Type 37:  
Occupational 

Therapist 

Specialty 74: 

Occupational Therapy 

 

Provider Type 35: 
Physical Therapist 

Specialty 65: 

Individual Physical 

Therapy 

 

Provider Type 73:  
Social Worker 

Specialty 73: 

Social Work 

 

Provider Type 31: 

Psychologist 

Specialty 62: 

Psychologist 

(Crossovers Only) 

Specialty 95: 

Psychologist (PBS 

Program Only) 

Specialty 96: 

Psychologist (PBS 

Program and 

Crossovers) 

 

For All 

Professionals: 

Subspecialty: 

4W 

 

Individual 

Professionals can 

link to:     
 

Provider Type 11: 
Shared Living  

and/or  

Provider Type 84:  
Substitute Family Care 

Nursing  
Enrolled agency 

Must be linked to: 
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Registered Nurse nurse and Licensed licensed Practical 

practical Nursenurse:  must meet Louisiana licensing 

requirements 

 

Nurses are only able to provide services by linking to an 

agency.  The agency must be licensed by the Louisiana 

Department of HealthLDH as one of the following: 

1. Home Health health Agencyagency; or 

2. Shared Living living (only Subspecialtysubspecialty-

Conversionconversion). 

 

Nurses must have one-year experience delivering services to 

persons with developmental disabilities.  OCDD requires 

verification that every professional meets the one-year 

experience requirement for delivering services to persons with 

developmental disabilities based on the following criteria: 

 

1. Full-time experience gained in advanced and 

accredited training programs (i.e., masters or 

residency level training programs) which includes 

treatment services to persons with developmental 

disabilities); 

2. Paid, full-time experience in specialized 

service/treatment services for persons with 

developmental disabilities (i.e., intermediate care 

facilities for persons with developmental disabilities); 

3. Paid, full-time nursing experience in multi-

disciplinary programs for persons with developmental 

disabilities (i.e., mental health treatment programs for 

persons with dual diagnosis-mental illness and 

developmental disabilities); or 

4. Paid, full-time nursing experience in specialized 

education, vocational and therapeutic programs or 

settings for persons with developmental disabilities 

(i.e., school special education program). 

NOTE: Two years of part-time experience 

(minimum of 20 hours per week) may be 

substituted for one year of full-time 

experience. 

Activities not included toward the required experience 

include: 

1. Volunteer nursing experience; and 

2. Experience gained by caring for a relative or friend 

with developmental disabilities. 

Provider Type 11: 

Shared Living Agency 

(only w/Subspecialty 

4H and/or 4J) 

or 

Provider Type 44: 

Home Health Agency 

 

Specialty 87: 

All Other 

 

Subspecialty: 

4W 
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Dental 
Current valid Louisiana license to practice in the field of 

expertise/specialty 

Enrolled agency 

Provider 27: 

Dental-Individual or 

Group 

 

Specialty19: 

Orthodontist 

Specialty 66: 

Dentist, DDS, DMS 

Specialty 67: 

Oral Surgeon, Dental 

Specialty 68: 

Pedodontist 

 

 

 

 

Supported Employment 

Valid Certificate of Compliance as a Community 

Rehabilitation Provider from Louisiana Rehabilitation 

Services; or 

Adult Day Center Module   

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 98: 

Habilitative 

Supportive 

Employment 

 

Specialty 98: 

Supported 

Employment 

 

Prevocational Services 
Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(Adult Day Care Module) 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 13:  
Prevocational 

Habilitation 

 

Specialty 36: 

Prevocational 

Habilitation 

 

Day Habilitation 

 

Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(Adult Day Center Module) 

 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 14: 
Adult Day Habilitation 

 

Specialty 50: 

Day Habilitation 
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Adult Day Health Care 

(ADHC) 

Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(Adult Day Center Module) 

 

 

NOTE: Qualifications for ADHC staff are set forth in the 

licensing regulations found in the Louisiana Administrative 

Code. 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type 85:  
Adult Day Health 

Care 

 

Specialty 35: 

Adult Day Health 

Care 

 

Subspecialty: 

4W 

Monitored In Home 

Caregiving 

 

 

 

Home and Community-Based Services Provider License 

(Monitored In-Home Caregiving   Module) 

 

 

 

Enrolled agency 

Provider Type MI 

Monitored In- Home 

Caregiving   
 

 

Specialty 35: 

Monitored In- Home 

Caregiving   

 

 

When required by state law, the person performing the service, such as building contractors, 

plumbers, electricians, or engineers, must meet applicable requirements for professional licensure 

and modifications to the home and must meet all applicable building code standards. 

 

A provider is able to enroll and select up to three sub-specialties per one provider number.  For 

example, if a Shared shared Living living Provider provider wishes to enroll and provide all four 

subspecialties, two separate provider numbers will need to be obtained.  

 

 

Provider Responsibilities for All Providers 
 

All providers of ROW services are responsible for the following: 

 

1. Ensuring an appropriate representative from the agency attends the POC planning 

meeting and is an active beneficiary in the team meeting; 

 

NOTE:  An appropriate representative is considered to be someone who has 

knowledge and authority to make decisions about the beneficiary’s service 

delivery.  This person may be a program manager, a direct services professional, 

case supervisor, or the executive director or designee. An unlicensed direct service 

worker who works with or will work with the beneficiary is not considered an 

appropriate representative for the POC planning meeting.   
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 Communicating and working with support coordinators and other support team 

members to achieve the beneficiary’s personal outcomes; 

 

3.2. Ensuring the provider plan of carePOC documents are updated as changes occur, 

including the beneficiary’s emergency contact information and list of medications 

and kept current; 

 

4.3. Informing the support coordinator by telephone or e-mail as soon as the agency 

recognizes that any goals, objectives or timelines in the POC will not meet the 

beneficiary’s needs, but not later than 10 days prior to the expiration of any 

timelines in the service plan that cannot be met; 

 

5.4. An update to the provider’s document should only occur as a result of a documented 

meeting with the beneficiary or authorized representative where the reason for 

change is indicated and all parties sign the meeting attendance record; 

 

6.5. Ensuring the provider agency support team member(s) sign and date any revisions 

to the service plan indicating agreement with the changes to the goals, objectives, 

or time lines; 

 

7.6. Providing the support coordination agency or LDH representatives with requested 

written documentation including, but not limited to: 

 

a. Completed, signed, and dated service plan; 

 

b. Service logs, progress notes, and progress summaries; 

 

c. Direct service worker attendance and payroll records; 

 

d. Written grievances or complaints filed by beneficiaries/family; 

 

e. Critical or other incident reports involving the beneficiary; and 

 

f. Entrance and exit interview documentation. 

 

4.3. Explaining to the beneficiary/family in his/her native language the beneficiary 

rights and responsibilities within the agency; and 

 

5.4. Assuring that beneficiaries are free to make a choice of providers without undue 

influence. 
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Note:  It is the policy of LDH, OCDD that all critical incidents for HCBS be reported, investigated 

and tracked. The statewide incident management system MUST be used for ALL critical incident 

reporting. 

 

Support Coordination  

 
Support Coordination coordination is a service that will assist beneficiaries in gaining access to 

all of their needed support services, including medical, social, educational, and other services, 

regardless of the funding source for the services.  

 

Support Coordination Providers 
 

Providers of support coordination for the ROW program must have a signed performance 

agreement with OCDD to provide services to waiver beneficiaries. Support coordination agencies 

must meet all of the performance agreement requirements in addition to any additional criteria 

outlined by OCDD. 

 

Support cCoordination activities include, but are not limited to the following: 

 

1. Convening the person-centered planning team comprised of the beneficiary, 

beneficiary’s family, direct service providers, medical and social work 

professionals, as necessary, and advocates, who assist in determining the 

appropriate supports and strategies needed in order to meet the beneficiary’s needs 

and preferences; 

 

2. On-going coordination and monitoring of supports and services included in the 

beneficiary’s approved POC; 

 

3. Building and implementing the supports and services as described in the POC; 

 

4. Assisting the beneficiary to use the findings of formal and informal assessments to 

develop and implement support strategies to achieve the personal outcomes defined 

and prioritized by the beneficiary in the POC; 

 

5. Providing information to the beneficiary on potential community resources, 

including formal resources and informal/natural resources, which may be useful in 

developing strategies to support the beneficiary in attaining his/her desired personal 

outcomes; 

 

6. Assisting with coordinating transportation to access medical services and 

community resources; 

 

7. Assisting with problem solving with the beneficiary, families, services providers, 

and/or the Human Services Authority or DistrictLGE;  
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8. Assisting the beneficiary to initiate, develop, and maintain informal and natural 

support networks and to obtain the services identified in the POC, assuring that they 

meet their individual needs; 

 

9. Advocating on behalf of the beneficiary to assist him or her in obtaining benefits, 

supports or services, i.e. to help establish, expand, maintain, and strengthen the 

beneficiary’s information and natural support networks. This may involve calling 

and/or visiting beneficiaries, community groups, organizations, or agencies with or 

on behalf of the beneficiary; 

 

10. Training and supporting the beneficiary in self-advocacy, i.e. the selection of 

providers and utilization of community resources to achieve and maintain his/her 

desired outcomes; 

 

11. Oversight of the service providers to ensure that their beneficiary receives 

appropriates services and outcomes as designated in the POC; 

 

12. Assisting the beneficiary to overcome obstacles, recognize potential opportunities, 

and developing creative opportunities; 

 

13. Meeting with the beneficiary in face-to-face meetings, as well as via telephone 

contact, as specified. This includes meeting the beneficiary where the services take 

place; 

 

14. If criteria are met, virtual visits are permitted; however, the initial and annual POC 

meeting and at least one other meeting per year must be conducted face to face; 

 

15. When a relative is living in the home or a legally responsible individual or legal 

guardian provides a paid ROW service, all support coordination visits must be 

conducted face-toface, with no option for virtual visits; 

 

16.  

14.17. Reporting and documenting any incidents/complaints/abuse/neglect according to 

the OCDD policy and in accordance with licensure, state laws, rules, and 

regulations, as applicable; 

 

15. Arranging any necessary professional/clinical evaluations needed and ensuring  

16.18. beneficiary choice; 

 

17.19. Identifying, gathering, and reviewing the array of formal assessments and other 

documents that are relevant to the beneficiary’s needs, interests, strengths, 

preferences, and desired personal outcomes; 
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18.20. Developing an action plan in conjunction with the beneficiary to monitor and 

evaluate strategies to ensure continued progress toward the beneficiary’s personal 

outcomes; and 

 

19.21. On-going discussions with the beneficiary (16 years of age and older) about 

employment including: 

 

a. Identifying barriers to employment and working to overcome those barriers, 

connecting the beneficiary to certified work incentive coordinators (CWIC) 

to do benefits planning; 

 

b. Referring the beneficiary to Louisiana Rehabilitation Services (LRS); and  

 

b.c. Following the case through closure with LRS, and other activities of the 

employment process as identified, including the quarterly completion of 

data input using the Path to Employment Formform. 

 

NOTE: Advocacy is defined as assuring that the beneficiary receives appropriate supports and 

services of high quality and locating additional services not readily available in the community. 

 

Support Coordination Providers Qualifications 
 
Support Coordination providers must meet the following requirements: 

 

1. Be licensed as a support coordination provider; and 

 

2. Meet all requirements as outlined in the Support Coordination Performance 

Agreement. 

 

NOTE: Please refer to the Guidelines for Support Planning, Operational Instruction for Critical 

Incident Review, and OCDD Support Coordination Reference Guide for additional information. 

 

 
Provider Responsibilities for All Residential Care Service Providers   
 

Direct service provider agencies must have written policy and procedure manuals that include; but, 

are not limited to the following: 

 

1. Training policy that includes orientation and staff training requirements according 

to the Home and Community-Based Service (HCBS) Providers Licensing 

Standards, the Direct Service Worker (DSW) Registry, and the Class A Child 

Placing Licensing Standards (as applicable to specific residential service being 

provided); 
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2. Direct care abilities, skills, and knowledge requirements that employees must 

possess to adequately perform care and assistance as required by waiver 

beneficiaries; 
 

3. Employment and personnel job descriptions, hiring practices including a policy 

against discrimination, employee evaluation, promotion, disciplinary action, 

termination, and hearing of employee grievances, staffing, and staff coverage plan; 
 

4. Record maintenance, security, supervision, confidentiality, organization, transfer, 

and disposal; 
 

5. Identification, notification, and protection of beneficiary’s rights both verbally and 

in writing in a language that the beneficiary/family is able to understand; 
 

6. Written grievance procedures; 
 

7. Information about abuse and neglect as defined by LDH regulations and state and 

federal laws;  
 

8. Electronic Visit visit Verification verification (EVV): requirements/proper use of 

check in/out; acceptable editing of electronically captured services; reporting 

services when in “no service zones” or failure to clock in/out (Electronic 

Connectivity Form form and manual entry); confidentiality of log in information; 

monitoring of EVV system for proper use;  

 

9. Direct Service Worker (DSW) Registry: requirement for accessing the 

department’s Adverse Action database for findings placed against the direct service 

workers prohibiting employment; and 

 

10. Criminal History history Checkschecks: requirement for compliance with state 

statutes for non-licensed direct care personnel. 
 

11. Medicaid has established a direct support worker (DSW) wage floor.  Provider 

agencies must follow these rules and pay the DSW as directed by Medicaid. The 

current wage floor can be found in the Louisiana Administrative Code and OCDD 

will post a memo on the OCDD website.  Providers will be responsible for 

following this directive. 

 

POC Provider Documents 
 

The direct service provider must complete the provider portion of the POC to include all waiver 

services that the agency provides to the beneficiary based on the beneficiary’s identified POC goals 

and other supports required.        
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The provider documents in the POC must be person-centered, focused on the beneficiary’s desired 

outcomes, and include the following elements: 

 

1. Specific goals matching the goals outlined in the beneficiary’s approved POC; 

 

2. Measurable objectives and timelines to meet the specified goals and strategies to 

meet the objectives; 

 

3. Identification of the direct service provider staff and any other support team 

members who will be involved in implementing the strategies; and 

 

4. The method that will be used to document and measure the implementation of 

specified goals and objectives. 

 

The POC provider documents must be reviewed and updated as necessary to comply with the 

specified goals, objectives, and timelines stated in the beneficiary’s approved POC or when 

changes are necessary based on beneficiary needs. 

 

 

 

Back-up Planning 
 

Direct service providers are responsible for providing all necessary staff to fulfill the health and 

welfare needs of the beneficiary when paid supports are scheduled to be provided.  This also 

includes at times when the scheduled direct service worker is absent or , unavailable or unable to 

work for any reason. 

 

All direct service providers are required to develop an individualized back-up plan for each 

beneficiary that includes detailed strategies and person-specific information that addresses the 

specialized care and supports needed by the beneficiary.   

 

Direct service providers are required to: 

 

1. Have policies in place which outline the protocols that the agency has established 

to assure that back-up direct service workers are readily available;  

 

2. Ensure that lines of communication and chain of command procedures have been 

established; and  

 

3. Have procedures for dissemination of the back-up plan information to beneficiaries, 

their authorized representatives, and their support coordinators.   
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Protocols must also describe how and when the direct support staff will be trained in the care 

needed by the beneficiary.  This training must occur prior to any direct support staff member being 

solely responsible for a beneficiary. 

 

Back-up plans must be updated as changes occur and at least annually to assure that the information 

is kept current and applicable to the beneficiary’s needs.  The back-up plan must be submitted to 

the beneficiary’s support coordinator in a timely manner to be included as a component of the 

beneficiary’s initial and annual POC. 

 

Direct service providers may not use the beneficiary’s informal support system as a means of 

meeting the agency’s individualized back-up plan and/or emergency evacuation response plan 

requirements without documented consent of the informal support system.  The beneficiary’s 

family members and others identified in the beneficiary’s circle of support may elect to provide 

backup, but this does not exempt the provider from the requirement of providing the necessary 

staff for backup purposes when paid supports are scheduled. 

 

Emergency Evacuation Planning 
 

Emergency evacuation plans must be developed in addition to the beneficiary’s individualized 

back-up plan.  Providers must have an emergency evacuation plan that specifies in detail how the 

direct service provider will respond to potential emergency situations such as fires, hurricanes, 

tropical storms, hazardous material release, flash flooding, ice storms, and terrorist attacks. 

 

The emergency evacuation plan must be person-specific and include at a minimum the following 

components: 

 

1. Individualized risk assessment of potential health emergencies; 

 

2. A detailed plan to address the beneficiary’s individualized evacuation needs, 

including a review of the beneficiary’s individualized back-up plan, during 

geographical and natural disaster emergencies and all other potential emergency 

conditions; 

 

3. Policies and procedures outlining the agency’s implementation of emergency 

evacuation plans and the coordination of these plans with the local Office of 

Emergency Preparedness and Homeland Security; 

 

4. Establishment of effective lines of communication and chain of command 

procedures; 

 

5. Establishment of procedures for the dissemination of the emergency evacuation 

plan to beneficiaries and support coordinators; and 
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6. Protocols outlining how and when direct service workers and beneficiaries will be 

trained in the implementation of the emergency evacuation plan and post-

emergency procedures. 

 

Training for direct service workers and surety of competency must occur prior to the worker being 

solely responsible for the support of the beneficiary. 

 

The beneficiary must be provided with regular, planned opportunities to practice the emergency 

evacuation response plan. 

 

OCDD, support coordination agencies, and direct service provider agencies are responsible for 

following the established emergency protocol before, during, and after hurricanes or other natural 

disasters or events as outlined in the “Emergency Protocol for Tracking Location Before, During, 

and After Hurricanes” document found in the OCDD Guidelines for Support Planning manual. 

(Refer to Appendix D for website information). 

 

Host Home Provider Responsibilities 
 

The Host Home provider is responsible for screening, training, overseeing, and providing technical 

assistance to Host Home families in accordance with OCDD requirements, including the 

coordination of medical, behavioral, and other professional services geared to persons with 

developmental disabilities.   

 

Host Home Providers providers must provide on-going assistance to Host Home Families families 

so that all HCBS waiver health and safety assurances, monitoring, and critical incident reporting 

requirements are met.  The Host Home provider and the Host Home family are required to 

participate in the POC process and follow the POC as indicated. 
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Host Home Providers providers are responsible for: 

 

1. Assisting in the selection of Host Home Families families (determining suitable 

matches between Host Home Families families and Host Home beneficiaries); 

 

2. Inspecting the home setting, completing reference checks on each person in the 

home (criminal record and background checks), conducting a home study, verifying 

that Host Home Family family has a stable income sufficient to meet routine 

expenses independent of ROW service payments, and making a certification 

determination of prospective Host Home Familiesfamilies; 

 

3. Developing contracts with Host Home Familiesfamilies; 

 

4. Participating in the development of the beneficiary’s POC; 

 

5. Providing and/or arranging routine and specialized training specific to the needs of 

the beneficiary; 

 

6. Providing ongoing follow-up and oversight of Host Home Families families to 

ensure that the POC is being followed (including the documentation and 

maintenance of data and records), that the services being provided meet quality 

standards, that there is continuity of services, and that the home environment 

continues to be a safe and suitable environment; 

 

7. Providing emergency services as needed; 

 

8. Providing 24-hour oversight and supervision of Host Home services, including 

approved alternative supports, and supervision as identified in the approved POC; 

and 

 

9. Providing Host Home Family family relief supports (scheduled and unscheduled 

relief) during absences of the Host Home Family with the following guidelines: 

 

a. Limited to 360 hours (15 days) per POC year as indicated in the POC;  

 

b. Relief staff for scheduled and unscheduled absences are included in the Host 

Home Provider’s provider’s rate; 

 

c. Relief staff for scheduled and unscheduled absences may be provided either 

in the Host Home Family family setting or at a location of the beneficiary’s 

choosing, but must be indicated in the POC; 
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d. The beneficiary (or if the beneficiary is a minor, the beneficiary’s legal 

representative) may agree to have the beneficiary reside with another Host 

Home Familyfamily;  

 

e. Regardless of where the Host Home services are provided, the Host Home 

Provider provider is responsible for oversight, supervision, and back-up of 

the Host Home service; and 

 

f. Assuring that only persons approved in accordance with licensing 

regulations are allowed to provide services to or reside in the same residence 

as the beneficiary.   

 

Host Home Families families are responsible for:  

  

 

1. Participating with the Host Home Provider provider during the selection of Host 

Home families (determination of families as a suitable match for Host Home 

beneficiaries); 

 

2. Being available during inspections of the home setting, participating in a home 

study, and complying with all activities conducted by the Host Home Provider 

provider in the determination process; 

 

3. Participating in the Host Home Provider’s provider’s contract development for the 

Host Home family; 

 

4. Participating in routine and specialized training specific to the needs of the 

beneficiary; 

 

5. Participating in the development of the beneficiary’s POC;   

 

6. Following the beneficiary’s POC and providing any specialized supports as 

specified in the POC; 

 

7. Providing assistance to ensure that the beneficiary has access to community 

services/activities and assistance in the development of community recreational and 

social interests;  

 

8. Providing assistance to the beneficiary in keeping medical appointments, therapy 

appointments, and other appointments necessary for the health and well-being of 

the beneficiary;  

 

9. Providing or arranging appropriate transportation to school, work, medical 

appointments, therapy appointments, and other appointments/activities necessary 

for the health and well-being of the beneficiary; 
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10. If indicated in the POC, the Host Home Family family will support the beneficiary 

in maintaining contact with his/her biological family and/or natural supports; 

 

11. Providing unpaid supports when the beneficiary is either working or interested in 

working;   

 

12. Maintaining adequate records to substantiate service delivery and producing such 

records upon request; 

 

13. Maintaining data to assist in the evaluation of the beneficiary's personal goals as 

identified in the POC and producing such records upon request; and 

 

14. Immediately reporting to the Host Home Provider provider any major issues or 

concerns related to the beneficiary's safety and well-being. 

 
Host Home Services (Provided to Children) 

 
Host Home Families families who provide serves to children are required to provide daily supports 

and supervision on a 24-hour basis in order to: 

 

1. Meet the on-going support needs of the beneficiary; and  

 

2. Handle emergencies as any family would do for its minor child as required based 

on age, capabilities, health conditions, and special needs. 

 

Providers serving children or adults in the Host Home setting must meet the following 

requirements: 

 

1. Have experience in delivering therapeutic services to persons with developmental 

disabilities; 

 

2. Have staff who have experience working with persons with developmental 

disabilities;  

 

3. Screen, train, oversee, and provide technical assistance to Host Home Families 

families in accordance with OCDD requirements, including the coordination of 

medical, behavioral, and other professional services geared to persons with 

developmental disabilities; and   

 

4. Provide on-going assistance to Host Home Families families so that all HCBS 

waiver health and safety assurances, monitoring, and critical incident reporting 

requirements are met. 
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Host Home Services (Provided to Adults) 

 
Host Home Families families who serve adults who have been interdicted must ensure that services 

are furnished in accordance with the legal requirements of the interdiction and must assist in 

providing information to supervisory authorities. 

 

Host Home Families Employed Outside of the Home 

 
Host Home Families families who are employed outside of the home must adjust their 

employment/business duties/responsibilities to allow for the flexibility needed to meet their 

responsibilities to the beneficiary. 

 

Companion Care Provider Responsibilities  

The provider organization shall develop a written agreement as part of the beneficiary’s POC 

which defines all of the shared responsibilities between the companion and the beneficiary. The 

written agreement shall include, but is not limited to: 

1. Types of support provided by the companion; 

 

2. Activities provided by the companion;  

 

3. A typical weekly schedule; 

 

4. Assisting in the selection of companions who would be a suitable match for each 

beneficiary; 

 

5. Participating in the development of the beneficiary’s POC; 

 

6. Facilitating in the development of the Beneficiarybeneficiary/Companion 

companion Agreementagreement;  

 

7. Ensuring that the POC is being followed;  

 

8. Conducting an initial inspection as well as periodic inspections of the beneficiary’s 

home; 

 

9. Providing all required training to companions, including any training specific to the 

special needs of the beneficiary; and 
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10. Contacting the companion a minimum of once per week or more, if specified in the 

POC. 

The provider organization is responsible for performing the following functions which are 

included in the daily rate: 

1. Arranging the delivery of services and providing emergency services; 

 

2. Making an initial home visit to the beneficiary’s home, as well as periodic home 

visits, as required by the department; 

 

3. Contacting the Beneficiarybeneficiary/companion a minimum of once per week or 

as specified in the beneficiary’s comprehensive plan of care;  

 

4. Providing 24-hour oversight, back-up, and supervision of the companion care 

services, including back-up for the scheduled and unscheduled absences of the 

companion; 

 

5. Providing emergency services; 

 

6. Providing Companion Companion Care Care relief supports (scheduled and 

unscheduled relief) during absences of the companion with the following 

guidelines: 

a. Limited to 360 hours (15 days) per POC year as indicated in the POC; 

 

b. Relief staff members or scheduled and unscheduled absences are included 

in the Companion Companion Care Care rate; and 

 

c. The Companion Care Provider provider is responsible for oversight, 

supervision, and back-up of the Companion companion Care care service. 

 

7. Facilitating a signed written agreement between the companion and the beneficiary 

which assures: 

a. The companion's portion of expenses must be at least $200 per month, but 

shall not exceed 50 percent of the combined monthly costs, which includes 

rent, utilities, and primary telephone expenses; and 

 

b. Inclusion of any other expenses must be negotiated between the beneficiary 

and the companion. These negotiations must be facilitated by the provider, 

and the resulting agreement must be included in the written agreement and 

in the beneficiary’s POC. 
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Responsibilities of the Companion  

 
Responsibilities of the Companion companion include: 

 
1. Participating in the beneficiary’s POC; 

 

2. Participating in the development of the Beneficiarybeneficiary/Companion 

companion Agreementagreement; 

 

3. Maintaining records in accordance with OCDD and provider requirements; and 

 

4. Following the POC and Beneficiarybeneficiary/Companion companion 

Agreementagreement, which includes: 

 

a. Implementing the identified supports as indicated;  

   

b. Assisting with activities of daily living as indicated; 

 

c. Assisting the beneficiary in accessing community activities as indicated; 

 

d. Being available as indicated and outlined in the pre-arranged time schedule 

as outlined; 

 

e. Being available on short notice by telephone during crises situations as 

outlined; and 

 

f. Coordinating transportation as needed. 

 

Shared Living Provider Responsibilities 

In addition to the aforementioned responsibilities, Shared Living providers must also have OCDD 

approval which includes the following: 

1. Conversion Option: 

 

a. Current ICF/IID provider in good standing and licensed to operate by LDH-

Health Standards Section; 

 

b. Application for and meeting ROW provider qualifications for the Shared 

Living Conversion; and 

 

c. Documentation by the Human Service Authority or District LGE that the 

Shared shared Living living option was explained to, understood by, and 
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agreed upon by all individuals who will be affected when the ICF/IID is 

closed and its license is surrendered. 

 

2. New Option: 

 

a. If any ICF/IID license is held or was previously held, the licensee must be 

or have been a provider in good standing; and 

 

b. Application for and meeting ROW provider qualifications for the Shared 

Living. 

 

Day Habilitation Provider Responsibilities 

The service provider must possess a current valid Home and Community-Based ServiceHCBS 

Providers providers License license to provide adult day care services and adhere to the following 

requirements in order to provide transportation to beneficiaries. 

 

The provider’s vehicles used in transporting beneficiaries must adhere to the following 

requirements of the HCBS licensing rule: 

 

1. Be in good condition and repair; 

 

2. Have a current Louisiana inspection sticker; and 

 

3. Have a first aid kit on board. 

 

Providers must: 

 

1. Maintain liability insurance in the amount specified in the HCBS licensing 

requirements;  

 

2. Ensure drivers have a current Louisiana driver’s license applicable to the vehicle 

being used; 

 

3. Document this service in the beneficiary’s record; and  

 

4. Ensure the trip is documented in the provider’s transportation log, which can be 

either electronic with GPS tracking or a paper log.  

 

NOTE: The log is not required to be filed in the beneficiary’s record file, but must 

contain information that identifies the beneficiary, the time of pick up, and the time 

of drop off. It shall also be available upon request for review by any Louisiana state 

agency, including Human Services Authorities and Districts LGE and Support 

support Coordinationcoordination.     
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Supported Employment Provider Responsibilities 
 

Supported Employment employment providers must maintain documentation in the file of each 

individual beneficiary that the services are not available to the beneficiary in programs funded 

under Section 110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or Section 602 (16) and (17) of the Individuals 

with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) [20 u.s.c. 1401 (26) and (29.1)]. 

 

The service provider must possess a current valid Home HCBSand Community-Based Service  

Providerprovider  

Llicense to provide adult day care services and Supported supported Employmentemployment, 

and adhere to the following requirements in order to provide transportation to beneficiaries: 

 

1. Vehicles used in transporting beneficiaries must adhere to the requirements of the 

HCBS licensing rule;   

 

2. Drivers must have a current Louisiana driver’s license applicable to the vehicle 

being used; 

 

3. Vehicles used in transporting beneficiaries must: 

 

a. Be in good condition and repair; 

 

b. Have a current Louisiana inspection sticker;  

 

c. Have a first aid kit on board. 

 

4. The provider must document this service in the beneficiary’s record, and the trip 

must be documented in the provider’s transportation log, which can be either 

electronic with GPS tracking or a paper log.  

 

NOTE: The log is not required to be filed in the beneficiary’s record file, but must contain 

information that identifies the beneficiary, the time of pick up, and the time of drop off. It 

shall also be available upon request for review by any Louisiana state agency, including 

Human Services Authorities LGE and Districts districts and Support support 

Coordinationcoordination. 

 

Prevocational Provider Responsibilities 
 

The provider must maintain documentation in the file of each individual beneficiary receiving 

Prevocational prevocational services that the services are not available to eligible beneficiaries in 

programs funded under Section 110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or Section 602 (16) and (17) 

of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)IDEA Act [20 U.S.C. 1401 (26) and 

(29)].  
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The service provider must adhere to the following requirements in order to provide transportation 

to beneficiaries: 

 

1. The provider’s vehicles used in transporting beneficiaries must: 

 

a. Be in good condition and repair; 

 

b. Have a current Louisiana inspection sticker; and  

 

c. Have a first aid kit on board. 

 

2. Drivers must have a current Louisiana driver’s license applicable to the vehicle 

being used; and 

 

3. The provider must document this service in the beneficiary’s record, and the trip 

must be documented in the provider’s transportation log. 

 

Professional Services Provider Responsibilities (Psychological) 
 

Providers of psychological services must: 

 

1. Perform an initial evaluation to assess the beneficiary’s need for services; 

 

2. Develop an Individualized individualized Service service Plan plan for the provision 

of psychological services, which must document the supports that will be provided to 

the beneficiary to meet his/her goals based on the beneficiary’s approved POC; 

 

3. Implement the beneficiary’s therapy service plan in accordance with appropriate 

licensing and certification standards; 

 

4. Complete progress notes for each session, within ten days of the session, and provide 

notes to the beneficiary’s support coordinator every three months or as otherwise 

specified in the POC; 

 

5. Maintain both current and past records and make them available upon request to 

OCDD, service providers, support coordinators, the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), and/or Legislative legislative Auditorsauditors, and 

 

6. Bill only for services rendered, based on the beneficiary’s approved POC and Prior 

prior Authorizationauthorization. 
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Nursing Services Provider Responsibilities 
 

Provider agencies of Nursing nursing services must: 

 

1. Ensure that all nurses employed to provide Nursing nursing Services services are 

either registered nurses or who have a current Louisiana Board of Nursing license 

or licensed practical nurses who have a current Louisiana State Board of Practical 

Nurse Examiners license, and have a minimum of one year of supervised nursing 

experience in providing Skilled skilled Nursing nursing services in a community 

setting to beneficiaries; 

 

2. Provide an orientation on waiver services to licensed nurses and assure that licensed 

nurses adhere to the OCDD Critical Incident Reporting policy (See Appendix D for 

information regarding this policy); 

 

3. Collect and submit the following documents to the beneficiary’s support 

coordination agency: 

 

a. Primary care physician’s order for Nursing nursing services;   

 

NOTE: The physician’s order must be signed and dated and must contain 

the number of hours per day and the duration of Nursing nursing services 

required to meet the beneficiary’s needs.  The physician’s order must also 

be updated at least every 60 days, and a copy must be sent to the support 

coordination agency prior to expiration of the previous approval to ensure 

continuation of services.  The physician’s order must be submitted to the 

Human Services Authority or District LGE with the beneficiary’s annual 

POC and upon request.  Prior Authorization authorization will not be 

released if the physician’s order is not submitted as required. 

 

b. Primary care physician’s letter of necessity for Nursing nursing services.  

The physician’s letter of necessity must be on the physician’s letterhead, 

identify all nursing duties to be performed by the nurse, and state the 

beneficiary’s current medical condition and need for Nursing nursing 

services;  

 

c. Current Form 90-L signed by the beneficiary’s primary care physician; 

 

d. Summary of the beneficiary’s medical history, which indicates the 

beneficiary’s service needs based on a documented record review and 

specifies any recent (within one year) Early early and Periodic periodic 

Screeningscreening, Diagnosisdiagnosis, and Treatment treatment 

(EPSDT) extended home health approvals; and 
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e. CMS Form 485 completed by the Home home Health health agency to 

identify the Skilled skilled Nursing nursing service needs. 

 

4. Develop and implement an Individual individual Nursing nursing Service service 

Plan plan in conjunction with the beneficiary’s physician, support team, and the 

support coordinator to identify and fulfill the beneficiary’s specific needs in a cost-

effective manner; 

 

5. Render services to the beneficiary as ordered by the beneficiary’s primary care 

physician and as reflected in the beneficiary’s POC within the requirements of the 

Louisiana Nurse Practice Act.  For the purpose of this policy, nursing assessments, 

nursing care planning, and revisions of care planning must be consistent with the 

Outcome and Assessment Information Set (OASIS) requirements used by Home 

home Health health Agencies agencies who provide Skilled skilled Nursing nursing 

services;  

 

6. Complete progress notes for each treatment, assessment, intervention, and critical 

incident; 

 

7. Provide the support coordination agency with physician-ordered changes every 60 

days regarding the beneficiary’s health status and health needs; 

 

8. Inform the support coordinator immediately of the providers’ inability to provide 

staff according to the beneficiary’s nursing service plan;  

 

9. Report any beneficiary’s non-compliance with or refusal of the established 

Individual individual Nursing nursing Service service Plan plan and provide these 

notes to the designated support coordinator every three months, or as otherwise 

specified in the POC; 

 

10. Maintain both current and past records and make them available upon request to 

the OCDD, service providers, support coordinators, the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), and/or legislative auditors; 

 

11. Bill for prior authorized services rendered based on the beneficiary’s approved 

POC;  

 

12. Ensure that the Home home Health health nurse and the beneficiary’s support 

coordinator communicate at least monthly to determine if any further planning is 

required; 

 

13. Report any changes in the beneficiary’s nursing service needs to the support 

coordinator.  If necessary, the support coordinator will call an Interdisciplinary 

Team meeting to review the POC and to discuss any needed revisions.  Changes to 

Skilled skilled Nursing nursing services in accordance with regulations must be 
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reflected in the Individual individual Nursing nursing Services services Plan plan 

and submitted to the support coordinator every 60 days; 

 

NOTE:  It is not necessary to revise the POC every 60 days unless there is a change 

in the beneficiary’s medical condition requiring the need for additional Skilled 

skilled Nursing nursing services or the beneficiary requests a change. 

 

14. Changes in the Individual individual Nursing nursing Service service Plan plan 

must be approved by the primary care physician and reflect the physician’s orders 

for the Skilled skilled Nursing nursing service; 

 

15. Ensure the Individual individual Nursing nursing Service service Plan plan is 

current and available in the beneficiary’s home at all times; 

 

16. Follow all ROW requirements, Minimum minimum Standards standards for Home 

home Health health Agenciesagencies, and State and Federal rules and regulations 

for licensed Home home Health health Agencies agencies and nursing care; and 

 

17. Comply with OCDD standards for payment, Medical Assistance Program Integrity 

Law (MAPIL), Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), and licensing requirements. 

 

Adult Day Health Care Providers 

Services provided by an (Adult Day Health Care) ADHC provider that: 

 

1. Is licensed by the LDH Health Standards Section (HSS) as an ADHC provider in 

accordance with Louisiana Revised Statutes 40:2120.47; 

 

2. Has enrolled in Medicaid as an ADHC provider; and 

 

3. Is listed on the OCDD FOC form. 

 

NOTE: Qualifications for ADHC staff are set forth in the licensing regulations 

found in the Louisiana Administrative Code. 

 

Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) providers must: 

 

1. Comply with all applicable LDH rules and regulations including the use of an 

approved EVV system; and 

 

2. Provide transportation to any beneficiary within their licensed region in accordance 

with ADHC licensing standards. 
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NOTE: An ADHC center may serve a person residing outside of the ADHC 

center’s licensed region. However, transportation by the ADHC center is not 

required.  

 

ADHC providers are not allowed to require that beneficiaries attend a minimum number of days 

per week. A beneficiary’s repeated failure to attend as specified in the Plan plan of Care care may 

warrant a revision to the Plan plan of Carecare, or a possible discharge from the ADHC services 

and/or the ROW. 

 

ADHC providers should notify the beneficiary’s support coordinator when a beneficiary routinely 

fails to attend the ADHC as specified. 

 

When an ADHC provider reaches licensed capacity, the Human Human Services Services 

Authority Authority or District District should be notified immediately. The ADHC provider’s 

name will be removed from the OCDD FOC form until the ADHC provider notifies the Human 

human Services services Authority authority or District district that they are able to admit new 

beneficiaries. (Refer to the ADHC Manual 9.5- Provider Requirements for additional information.) 

 

ADHC providers shall complete the LDH approved cost report and submit the cost report(s) to the 

LDH designated contractor on or before the last day of September following the close of the cost-

reporting period.  

 

Monitored In-Home Caregiving Service Providers 
 

Services provided by a monitored in-home caregiving (MIHC) services provider that: 

 

1. Has a Home home and Communitycommunity-Based based Services services 

provider license with the Monitored In-HomeMIHC;  

 

2. Is approved by OCDD to provide monitored in-home caregiving servicesMIHC 

services; and  

 

3. Has enrolled in Medicaid to provide monitored in-home caregiving servicesMIHC 

services. 

Monitored in-home caregivingMIHC providers must comply with LDH rules and regulations and 

be listed as a provider of choice on the OCDD FOC form as a MIHC services provider before 

being approved to provide services.  

Monitored in-home caregiving providers: 
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1. Must be agency providers who employ professional nursing staff and other 

professionals to train and support caregivers to perform the direct care activities 

performed in the home; 

 

2. Must assess and approve the home in which services will be provided; 

 

3. Shall enter into contractual agreements with caregivers whom they have approved 

and trained; and 

 

4. Must pay per-diem stipends to caregivers. 

 


