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RULE 
 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

 
Crisis Receiving Centers 

Licensing Standards 
(LAC 48:I.Chapter 53 and 5415) 

 The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing has amended LAC 48:I.Chapter 53 and adopted §5415 as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.11 et seq.  This Rule 

is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49.950 et seq.  This Rule is 

hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 48 
 

PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
 

Chapter 53. Level III Crisis Receiving Centers 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§5303. Definitions 

*** 

 Community Mental Health Center—a Medicare certified program 

as defined in 42 CFR §410.2.  An entity that: 

   1. provides outpatient services, including 

specialized outpatient services for children, the elderly, 

individuals who are chronically mentally ill, and clients of its 
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mental health service area who have been discharged from 

inpatient treatment at a mental health facility;  

  2. provides 24-hour-a-day emergency care services; 

  3. provides day treatment or other partial 

hospitalization services, or psychosocial rehabilitation 

services;  

  4. provides screening for patients being considered 

for admission to state mental health facilities to determine the 

appropriateness of this admission; 

  5. meets applicable licensing or certification 

requirements for CMHCs in the state in which it is located; and  

  6. provides at least 40 percent of its services to 

individuals who are not eligible for benefits under title XVIII 

of the Social Security Act. 

*** 

 Department—the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH). 

*** 

 Level III Crisis Receiving Center (or Center or CRC)—an 

agency, business, institution, society, corporation, person or 

persons, or any other group, licensed by the LDH to provide 

crisis identification, intervention and stabilization services 

for people in behavioral crisis. CRCs receive, examine, triage, 
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refer, or treat people in behavioral health crisis. A CRC shall 

have no more than: 

  1. 36 chairs for crisis stabilization/observation; 

and 

  2. 24 beds for short term stay (three to seven 

days). 

   a. – b. Repealed. 

NOTE: Refer to physical environment Section of this Chapter 

for physical space requirements. 

*** 

 Mental Health Emergency Room Extension (MHERE)—a mental 

health emergency room extension operating as a unit of a 

currently licensed hospital. 

*** 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.14. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:102 

(January 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing, LR 47:472 (April 2021), LR 48: 

Subchapter B. Licensing 

§5309. General Licensing Provisions 



4 
 

 A. All entities providing crisis receiving services shall 

be licensed by LDH. It shall be unlawful to operate as a CRC 

without a license issued by the department.  LDH is the only 

licensing authority for CRCs in Louisiana.  

 B. ... 

 C. The following entities are exempt from CRC licensure 

under this Chapter, so long as they are providing CRC services 

to existing clients: 

  1. community mental health centers (CMHCs);  

  2. - 3. ...  

  4. psychiatric residential treatment facilities;  

  5. – 6. ... 

  7. home and community based services (HCBS) waiver 

agencies limited to center-based respite; 

  8. substance use/addictive disorder facilities;  

  9. mental health clinics as defined in §5603; 

  10. ...  

  11. MHEREs; and 

  12. federally qualified health care centers (FQHCs).  

  13. Repealed. 

 D. - L. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.14. 
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 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:103 

(January 2015), amended LR 48: 

Subchapter I. Physical Environment 

§5397. Interior Space 

 A. The CRC shall: 

  1. – 5. ... 

  6. maintain heating, ventilation and cooling systems 

in good order and safe condition to ensure a comfortable 

environment;  

  7. ensure that electric receptacles in client care 

areas are tamper-resistant or equipped with ground fault circuit 

interrupters; and 

  8. maintain separate wings or units for voluntary 

and involuntary individuals to include areas for admissions, 

sleeping, shower and toilet areas, and sally ports or other 

entry areas.  Further, the CRC shall provide separate areas 

(which may be accomplished by providing areas to voluntary 

individuals at different times than to involuntary individuals) 

for dining, recreational, educational, vocational, health care, 

and passageways, for voluntary and involuntary individuals.  

 B. – P.1. ... 



6 
 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.14. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:121 

(January 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing, LR 47:475 (April 2021), LR 48: 

Chapter 54. Crisis Receiving Centers 

Subchapter B. Voluntary-Only Crisis Receiving Center 

§5415 Voluntary-Only Crisis Receiving Center  

 A. Any entity, organization, or person applying to be 

licensed as a CRC has the option to be licensed as a voluntary-

only crisis receiving center (VO-CRC), wherein the licensed 

entity shall only admit or receive individuals who present 

voluntarily to the facility. 

 B. Individuals presenting to a VO-CRC shall have the 

ability to come and go to the facility for services as the 

individual deems appropriate; individuals shall not be required 

to sign a formal voluntary admission form under R.S. 28:52 or 

successor statute. 

 C. A VO-CRC shall adhere to all the licensing 

requirements for CRCs, including Chapter 53 and Chapter 54 of 

this licensing Rule, with the following substitutions: 
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  1. for §5367.C, a VO-CRC shall only receive 

individuals who present voluntarily to the unit/facility; 

  2. for §5367.F.1.b, a VO-CRC does not need to 

establish legal authority for the individual; 

  3. for §5397.A.8, the VO-CRC does not need to 

maintain separate spaces for involuntary and voluntary 

admissions or individuals, since the VO-CRC will only serve 

voluntary admissions or individuals; and 

  4. for §5397.G, a VO-CRC shall not have a seclusion 

room. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.14. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 

Secretary 
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RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

 
Facility Need Review 

Relocation of Nursing Facility Beds 
(LAC 48:I.12529) 

 
 The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing has amended LAC 48:I.12529 as authorized by R.S. 

36:254 and 40:2116. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with 

the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTH-GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 
Subpart 5.  Health Planning 

 
Chapter 125. Facility Need Review 

Subchapter D. Relocation of Nursing Facility Beds 

§12529. General Provisions 

 A. – D. ...  

  1. The department may approve a one-time temporary 

relocation of a nursing facility’s Medicaid FNR approvals to 

another licensed building that may be outside the existing FNR 

approved service area or parish, provided that all of the 

following provisions are met: 

   a. – e. ... 
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   f. The temporary license shall expire 18 months 

from the date of issuance and the facility shall relocate to its 

new replacement nursing facility building during that period. 

One extension of the temporary license, not to exceed 6 months, 

may be granted by the department for good cause shown. 

   g. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and 40:2116. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 21:806 (August 1995), amended LR 25:1250 

(July 1999), LR 28:2190 (October 2002), LR 30:1023 (May 2004), 

LR 32:845 (May 2006), LR 34:2619 (December 2008), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing, LR 36:1009 (May 2010), amended by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing LR 46:953 (July 

2020), LR 47:1306 (September 2021), LR 48: 

 

Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 

Secretary 

 



1 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

 
Nursing Facilities 

 
 The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing has repealed the following uncodified Rules in the 

Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 

pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act: 

Register Date Title Register 
Volume, Number 

Page 
Number 

December 20, 1984 Physician 
Recertification 
for Recipients in 
SNFs and ICFs 

Vol 10 No 12 1034 

April 20, 1987 MAP - LTC 
Reimbursement 
Methodology - Wage 
Clarification 

Vol 13 No 04 243 

August 20, 1989 MAP - Pharmacist 
and Medical 
Records 
Practitioner 
Consultation for 
LTC Facilities 

Vol 15 No 08 628 

April 20, 1990 MAP - Temporary 
Management 

Vol 16 No 04 318 

March 20, 1994 Nursing Facility - 
Infectious Disease 
- Tuberculosis 

Vol 20 No 03 306 

 

 This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 

of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This 

Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

 Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health 
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and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

(CMS), if it is determined that submission to CMS for review and 

approval is required. 

Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 

Secretary 
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RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

 
Nursing Facilities 

Reimbursement Methodology 
Cost Reports 

(LAC 50:II.20003) 
 

 The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing has amended LAC 50:II.20003 in the Medical Assistance 

Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX 

of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day 

of promulgation. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part II.  Nursing Facilities 
Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

 
Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 

§20003. Cost Reports [Formerly LAC 50:VII.1303] 

 A. – A.3. ... 

 B. Cost reports must be prepared in accordance with the 

cost reporting instructions adopted by the Medicare Program 

using the definition of allowable and non-allowable cost 

contained in the CMS Publication 15-1, Provider Reimbursement 

Manuals, with the following exceptions. 

  1. – 2. ... 
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  3. Amended Cost Reports. The department will accept 

amended cost reports in electronic format for a period of 12 

months following the end of the cost reporting period. Cost 

reports may not be amended after an audit or desk review has 

been initiated; however, the department maintains the right, at 

their discretion, to supersede this requirement and allow a cost 

report to be amended after the desk review or audit has been 

initiated. When an amended cost report is received by the 

department, it will notify the submitting facility if a desk 

review or audit covering the submitted cost report period has 

been initiated and that the amended cost report cannot be 

accepted. Amended cost reports should include a letter 

explaining the reason for the amendment, an amended 

certification statement with original signature, and the 

electronic format completed amended cost reports. Each amended 

cost report submitted should be clearly marked with “Amended” in 

the file name. 

  4. Rate Warning. While the Medicare regulations may 

allow more than one option for classifying costs, Medicaid will 

only recognize costs in a rate and floor component based on the 

case mix cross-walk shown on the case mix cross-walk tab of the 

Medicaid Excel cost report template. If a facility chooses to 

classify cost on their Medicare cost report in a manner that 

excludes that cost from their direct care or care-related rate 
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component and floor, then the cost will forever be excluded from 

the direct care and care-related rate and floor, unless adjusted 

at audit or desk review. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 28:1473 (June 2002), repromulgated LR 

28:1790 (August 2002), amended LR 28:2537 (December 2002), LR 

32:2263 (December 2006), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 40:541 (March 

2014), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 43:526 (March 2017), LR 48: 

 Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

(CMS), if it is determined that submission to CMS for review and 

approval is required. 

Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 

Secretary 
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