Department of Health Bureau of Health Services Financing

Ambulatory Surgical Center Licensing Standards (LAC 48:I.Chapter 45)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services

Financing has amended LAC 48:I.Chapter 45 as authorized by R.S.

36:254 and R.S. 40:2131-2141. This Rule is promulgated in

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day

of promulgation.

Title 48 PUBLIC HEALTH-GENERAL

Part I. General Administration Subpart 3. Licensing and Certification

Chapter 45. Ambulatory Surgical Center

Subchapter A. General Provisions

§4503. Definitions

* * *

Surgical Smoke Plume-the byproduct of using heat-producing equipment on tissue during surgery.

* * *

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and 40:2131-2141.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health,
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1732 (September
2017), amended LR 49:

§4507. Initial Licensure Application Process

- A. ...
- B. The initial licensing application packet shall include:
 - 1. 4. ...
 - 5. proof of each insurance coverage as follows:
 - a. b. ...
- c. professional liability insurance of at least \$100,000 per occurrence/\$300,000 per annual aggregate, or proof of self-insurance of at least \$100,000, along with proof of enrollment as a qualified health care provider with the Louisiana Patient's Compensation Fund (PCF):
- i. if the ASC is not enrolled in the PCF,
 professional liability limits shall be \$1 million per
 occurrence/\$3 million per annual aggregate; and

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and 40:2131-2141.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1734 (September 2017), amended LR 49:

§4515. Renewal of License

- A. The ASC shall submit a completed license renewal application packet to the department at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the current license. The license renewal application packet shall include:
 - 1. 5. ...
 - 6. proof of each insurance coverage as follows:
 - a. b. ...
- c. professional liability insurance of at least \$100,000 per occurrence/\$300,000 per annual aggregate, or proof of self-insurance of at least \$100,000, along with proof of enrollment as a qualified health care provider with the Louisiana Patient's Compensation Fund (PCF):

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and 40:2131-2141.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1736 (September 2017), amended LR 49:

Subchapter F. Safety, Sanitization and Emergency Preparedness §4575. General Provisions

A. The ASC shall have policies and procedures, approved and implemented by the medical staff and governing body, that address provisions for:

- sanitizing, disinfecting and sterilizing supplies, equipment and utensils;
- 2. the safe use of cleaning supplies and solutions that are to be used and the directions for use, including:

a. ...

- b. cleaning of the OR/procedure rooms between surgical and nonsurgical procedures; and
- 3. surgical smoke plume evacuation to mitigate and remove surgical smoke plume during a surgical procedure that uses heat-producing equipment, including but not limited to electrosurgery and lasers.

B.- D. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and 40:2131-2141.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1752 (September 2017), amended LR 49:

Stephen R. Russo, JD

Department of Health Bureau of Health Services Financing

Crisis Receiving Centers Licensing Standards (LAC 48:1.5303)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services

Financing has amended LAC 48:I.5303 as authorized by R.S. 36:254

and R.S. 40:2180.11 et seq. This Rule is promulgated in

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day

of promulgation.

Title 48 PUBLIC HEALTH-GENERAL Part I. General Administration Subpart 3. Licensing and Certification

Chapter 53. Level III Crisis Receiving Centers

Subchapter A. General Provisions

§5303. Definitions

* * *

Coroner's Emergency Certificate (CEC)—a certificate issued by the coroner or his/her deputy pursuant to R.S. 28:53, or current law.

* * *

PEC-Repealed.

* * *

Physician's Emergency Certificate (PEC)—an emergency certificate executed by a physician, physician assistant,

psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner, or other nurse practitioner, or psychologist pursuant to R.S. 28:53, or current law.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.11 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:102 (January 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47:472 (April 2021), LR 48:301 (February 2022), LR 49:

Stephen R. Russo, JD

Department of Health Bureau of Health Services Financing

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments Reimbursement Methodology (LAC 50:V.2901 and 2903)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services

Financing has amended LAC 50:V.2901 and §2903 in the Medical

Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to

Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated

in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted

on the day of promulgation.

Title 50 PUBLIC HEALTH-MEDICAL ASSISTANCE Part V. Hospital Services Subpart 3. Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments

Chapter 29. Public-Private Partnerships

§2901. Qualifying Criteria

- A. Free-Standing Psychiatric Hospitals. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 2013, a free-standing psychiatric hospital may qualify for this category by being:
- 1. a Medicaid enrolled non-state privately owned and operated hospital that enters into a cooperative endeavor agreement with the Department of Health to increase its provision of inpatient Medicaid and uninsured hospital services by:

a. -b. ...

2. a Medicaid enrolled non-state publicly owned and operated hospital that enters into a cooperative endeavor agreement with the Department of Health to increase its provision of inpatient Medicaid and uninsured hospital services by:

a. - b. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 40:2259 (November 2014), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 49:

§2903. Reimbursement Methodology

A. - A.2. ...

- B. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 2023, payment for DSH eligible services provided through a cooperative endeavor agreement with the Department of Health shall be equal to the Medicaid per diem rate on file for freestanding psychiatric hospitals.
- 1. Cost and lengths of stay will be reviewed for reasonableness before payments are made. Reasonableness will be determined at the sole discretion of the department. Payments shall be made on a monthly basis.

- 2. Payment for DSH eligible services at the Medicaid rate shall be contingent on qualifying hospitals maintaining and timely submitting all department required documentation for DSH eligible services throughout the review and audit process.
- 3. Payments shall be limited to \$552.05 per day if the department determines that the qualifying hospital is not maintaining or timely submitting the required documentation for DSH eligible services throughout the review and audit process.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 40:2259 (November 2014), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:323 (February 2017), LR 49:

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that submission to CMS for review and approval is required.

Stephen R. Russo, JD
Secretary

Department of Health Bureau of Health Services Financing

Hospice Licensing Standards (LAC 48:I.8201, 8259, and 8261)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services

Financing has amended LAC 48:I.8201 and adopted §8259 and §8261

as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2181-2192. This Rule is

promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is

hereby adopted on the day of promulgation.

Title 48

PUBLIC HEALTH-GENERAL

Part I. General Administration Subpart 3. Licensing and Certification

Chapter 82. Minimum Standards for Licensure of Hospice
Agencies

Subchapter A. General Provisions

§8201. Definitions

A. The following words and terms, when used in this Chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

* * *

Geographic Area—area around location of licensed agency that includes any parish within 50 mile radius of the hospice premises. Each hospice shall designate the geographic area in which the agency will provide services.

* * *

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2181-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 15:482 (June 1989), amended LR 24:2257 (December 1998), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44:588 (March 2018), LR 46:344 (March 2020), LR 47:1307 (September 2021), LR 49:

Subchapter E. Hospice Inpatient Facility

§8259. Visitation by Members of the Clergy during a Declared Public Health Emergency

- A. For purposes of §8259 and §8261, a public health emergency (PHE) is a declaration made pursuant to the Louisiana Health Emergency Powers, R.S. 29:790 et seq., or current law.
- B. For purposes of this Section, clergy shall be defined as follows:
- a minister, priest, preacher, rabbi, imam,
 Christian Science practitioner; or
- 2. other similar functionary of a religious organization; or
- 3. an individual reasonably believed to be such a clergy member by the person consulting him.

- C. For purposes of §8259 and §8261, patient shall mean a patient of a licensed inpatient hospice in Louisiana, or the legal or designated representative of the patient.
- D. A licensed inpatient hospice shall comply with any federal law, regulation, requirement, order or guideline regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice issued by any federal government agency during a declared PHE. The provisions of the licensing rules in §8259.E-H shall be preempted by any federal statute, regulation, requirement, order, or guideline from a federal government agency that requires an inpatient hospice to restrict patient visitation in a manner that is more restrictive than the rules.
- E. An inpatient hospice shall comply with any Louisiana state health officer (SHO) order or emergency notice regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice during a declared PHE.
- F. An inpatient hospice shall comply with an executive order or proclamation issued by the governor of the state of Louisiana regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice during a declared PHE.
- G. The provisions of this Section regarding visitation by members of the clergy shall apply to all inpatient hospice facilities licensed by the Department of Health (LDH).
- H. Subject to the requirements of §8259.D-F, each inpatient hospice shall allow a member of the clergy to visit patients of an inpatient hospice during a declared PHE when a

patient, or his legal or designated representative, requests a visit with a member of the clergy, subject to the following conditions and requirements:

- 1. Each inpatient hospice shall have a written policy and procedure addressing visitation by members of the clergy. A copy of the written policy and procedure shall be available, without cost, to the patient and his legal or designated representative, upon request. The inpatient hospice shall provide a link to an electronic copy of the policy and procedure to a member of the clergy, upon request.
- 2. An inpatient hospice's policy and procedure regarding clergy visitation may adopt reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions, provided that such restrictions are implemented by the inpatient hospice, in consultation with appropriate medical personnel, for the purpose of mitigating the possibility of transmission of any infectious agent or infectious disease or for the purpose of addressing the medical condition or clinical consideration of an individual patient.
- 3. An inpatient hospice's policy and procedure on clergy visitation, at a minimum, requires the following:
- a. that a clergy member may be screened for infectious agents or infectious diseases, utilizing at least the current screening or testing methods and protocols recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), as applicable;

- i. if there is a current Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice that requires more rigorous screening or testing methods and protocols, then the inpatient hospice shall utilize those methods and protocols;
- b. that a clergy member may not be allowed to visit an inpatient hospice patient if such clergy member has obvious signs or symptoms of an infectious agent or infectious disease, or if such clergy member tests positive for an infectious agent or infectious disease;
- c. that a clergy member may not be allowed to visit an inpatient hospice if the clergy member refuses to comply with the provisions of the inpatient hospice's policy and procedure or refuses to comply with the inpatient hospice's reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions;
- d. that a clergy member may be required to wear personal protective equipment (PPE) as determined appropriate by the inpatient hospice, considering the patient's medical condition or clinical considerations;
- i. the inpatient hospice's discretion PPE may be made available by the inpatient hospice to clergy members;
- e. that an inpatient hospice's policy and procedure include provisions for compliance with a Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice and with any governor's executive order or proclamation limiting visitation during a declared PHE;

- f. that the patient shall have the right to consensual, nonsexual physical contact such as hand holding or hugging with a member of the clergy; and
- g. that an inpatient hospice's policy and procedure include provisions for compliance with any federal law, regulations, requirements, orders, or guidelines regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice issued by any federal government agency during a declared PHE.
- 4. An inpatient hospice shall submit a written copy of its visitation policies and procedures on clergy member visitation, to the Health Standards Section of LDH at the initial licensure survey.
- 5. After licensure, the inpatient hospice shall make its visitation policies and procedures available for review by LDH at any time, upon request.
- 6. An inpatient hospice shall within 24 hours after establishing its written policies and procedures on clergy member visitation, make its written policies and procedures easily accessible from the homepage of its website.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2181-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 49:

§8561. Visitation by Immediate Family Members and Other
Designated Persons during a Declared Public Health Emergency

- A. For the purposes of this Section, immediate family member shall mean the following in order of priority:
 - 1. spouse;
 - 2. natural or adoptive parent, child, or sibling;
- stepparent, stepchild, stepbrother, or stepsister;
- 4. father-in-law, mother-in-law, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law;
 - 5. grandparent or grandchild;
 - 6. spouse of a grandparent or grandchild; or
- 7. legal or designated representative of the patient.
- B. A licensed inpatient hospice shall comply with any federal law, regulation requirement, order, or guideline regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice issued by any federal government agency during a declared PHE. The provisions of the licensing rules in §8561.C-F shall be preempted by any federal statute, regulation, requirement, order or guideline from a federal government agency that requires an inpatient hospice to restrict patient visitation in a manner that is more restrictive than the rules.
- C. Inpatient hospices shall comply with any Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice regarding visitation in inpatient hospices during a declared PHE.

- D. Inpatient hospices shall comply with any executive order or proclamation issued by the governor of the state of Louisiana regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice during a declared PHE.
- E. The provisions of this Section regarding visitation by immediate family members of the patient and other designated persons, shall apply to all inpatient hospices licensed by LDH.
- F. Subject to the requirements of §8561.B-D, each inpatient hospice shall allow immediate family members and other designated persons to visit a patient of the inpatient hospice during a declared PHE when a patient, or his legal or designated representative, requests a visit with immediate family members and other designated persons, subject to the following conditions and requirements:
- 1. Each inpatient hospice shall have a written policy and procedure addressing visitation by immediate family members and other designated persons. A copy of the written policy and procedure shall be available, without cost, to the patient and his legal or designated representative, upon request. The inpatient hospice shall provide a link to an electronic copy of the policy and procedure to immediate family members and other designated persons, upon request.
- 2. An inpatient hospice's policy and procedure regarding visitation by immediate family members and other designated persons may adopt reasonable time, place, and manner

restrictions, provided that such restrictions are implemented by the inpatient hospice, in consultation with appropriate medical personnel, for the purpose of mitigating the possibility of transmission of any infectious agent or infectious disease or for the purpose of addressing the medical condition or clinical considerations of an individual patient.

- 3. An inpatient hospice's policy and procedure on visitation by immediate family members and other designated persons, at a minimum, requires the following:
- a. that immediate family members of the patient and other designated persons, may be screened for infectious agents or infectious diseases, utilizing at least the current screening or testing methods and protocols recommended by the CDC, as applicable;
- i. if there is a current Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice that requires more rigorous screening or testing methods and protocols, then the inpatient hospice shall utilize those methods and protocols;
- b. that an immediate family member or other designated person may not be allowed to visit an inpatient hospice patient if such immediate family member or other designated person has obvious signs or symptoms of an infectious agent or infectious disease, or if such immediate family member or other designated person tests positive for an infectious agent or infectious disease;

- c. that an immediate family member or other designated person may not be allowed to visit an inpatient hospice patient if the immediate family member or other designated person refuses to comply with the provisions of the inpatient hospice's policy and procedure, or refuses to comply with the inpatient hospice's reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions;
- d. that the patient and immediate family
 members and other designated persons may be required to wear PPE
 as determined appropriate by the inpatient hospice, considering
 the patient's medical condition or clinical consideration;
- i. at the inpatient hospice's discretion,

 PPE may be made available by the inpatient hospice to immediate

 family members and other designated persons;
- e. that an inpatient hospice's policy and procedure include provisions for compliance with a Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice and with any governor's executive order or proclamation limiting visitation during a declared PHE;
- f. that the patient and an immediate family member or other designated person, shall have the right to consensual, nonsexual physical contact such as hand holding or hugging; and
- g. that an inpatient hospice's policy and procedure include provisions for compliance with any federal law, regulations, requirements, orders, or guidelines regarding

visitation in an inpatient hospice issued by any federal government agency during a declared PHE.

- 4. An inpatient hospice shall submit a written copy of its policies and procedures on immediate family member or other designated person visitation, to the Health Standards Section of LDH at the initial licensure survey.
- 5. After licensure, the inpatient hospice shall make its visitation policies and procedures available for review by LDH at any time, upon request.
- 6. An inpatient hospice shall within 24 hours after establishing its written policies and procedures on immediate family member or other designated person visitation, make its written policies and procedures easily accessible from the homepage of its website.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2181-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 49:

Stephen R. Russo, JD

Department of Health Bureau of Health Services Financing

Hospice Licensing Standards (LAC 48:I.8201, 8259, and 8261)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services

Financing has amended LAC 48:I.8201 and adopted §8259 and §8261

as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2181-2192. This Rule is

promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is

hereby adopted on the day of promulgation.

Title 48

PUBLIC HEALTH-GENERAL

Part I. General Administration Subpart 3. Licensing and Certification

Chapter 82. Minimum Standards for Licensure of Hospice
Agencies

Subchapter A. General Provisions

§8201. Definitions

A. The following words and terms, when used in this Chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

* * *

Geographic Area—area around location of licensed agency that includes any parish within 50 mile radius of the hospice premises. Each hospice shall designate the geographic area in which the agency will provide services.

* * *

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2181-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 15:482 (June 1989), amended LR 24:2257 (December 1998), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44:588 (March 2018), LR 46:344 (March 2020), LR 47:1307 (September 2021), LR 49:

Subchapter E. Hospice Inpatient Facility

§8259. Visitation by Members of the Clergy during a Declared Public Health Emergency

- A. For purposes of §8259 and §8261, a public health emergency (PHE) is a declaration made pursuant to the Louisiana Health Emergency Powers, R.S. 29:790 et seq., or current law.
- B. For purposes of this Section, clergy shall be defined as follows:
- a minister, priest, preacher, rabbi, imam,
 Christian Science practitioner; or
- 2. other similar functionary of a religious organization; or
- 3. an individual reasonably believed to be such a clergy member by the person consulting him.

- C. For purposes of §8259 and §8261, patient shall mean a patient of a licensed inpatient hospice in Louisiana, or the legal or designated representative of the patient.
- D. A licensed inpatient hospice shall comply with any federal law, regulation, requirement, order or guideline regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice issued by any federal government agency during a declared PHE. The provisions of the licensing rules in §8259.E-H shall be preempted by any federal statute, regulation, requirement, order, or guideline from a federal government agency that requires an inpatient hospice to restrict patient visitation in a manner that is more restrictive than the rules.
- E. An inpatient hospice shall comply with any Louisiana state health officer (SHO) order or emergency notice regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice during a declared PHE.
- F. An inpatient hospice shall comply with an executive order or proclamation issued by the governor of the state of Louisiana regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice during a declared PHE.
- G. The provisions of this Section regarding visitation by members of the clergy shall apply to all inpatient hospice facilities licensed by the Department of Health (LDH).
- H. Subject to the requirements of §8259.D-F, each inpatient hospice shall allow a member of the clergy to visit patients of an inpatient hospice during a declared PHE when a

patient, or his legal or designated representative, requests a visit with a member of the clergy, subject to the following conditions and requirements:

- 1. Each inpatient hospice shall have a written policy and procedure addressing visitation by members of the clergy. A copy of the written policy and procedure shall be available, without cost, to the patient and his legal or designated representative, upon request. The inpatient hospice shall provide a link to an electronic copy of the policy and procedure to a member of the clergy, upon request.
- 2. An inpatient hospice's policy and procedure regarding clergy visitation may adopt reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions, provided that such restrictions are implemented by the inpatient hospice, in consultation with appropriate medical personnel, for the purpose of mitigating the possibility of transmission of any infectious agent or infectious disease or for the purpose of addressing the medical condition or clinical consideration of an individual patient.
- 3. An inpatient hospice's policy and procedure on clergy visitation, at a minimum, requires the following:
- a. that a clergy member may be screened for infectious agents or infectious diseases, utilizing at least the current screening or testing methods and protocols recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), as applicable;

- i. if there is a current Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice that requires more rigorous screening or testing methods and protocols, then the inpatient hospice shall utilize those methods and protocols;
- b. that a clergy member may not be allowed to visit an inpatient hospice patient if such clergy member has obvious signs or symptoms of an infectious agent or infectious disease, or if such clergy member tests positive for an infectious agent or infectious disease;
- c. that a clergy member may not be allowed to visit an inpatient hospice if the clergy member refuses to comply with the provisions of the inpatient hospice's policy and procedure or refuses to comply with the inpatient hospice's reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions;
- d. that a clergy member may be required to wear personal protective equipment (PPE) as determined appropriate by the inpatient hospice, considering the patient's medical condition or clinical considerations;
- i. the inpatient hospice's discretion PPE may be made available by the inpatient hospice to clergy members;
- e. that an inpatient hospice's policy and procedure include provisions for compliance with a Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice and with any governor's executive order or proclamation limiting visitation during a declared PHE;

- f. that the patient shall have the right to consensual, nonsexual physical contact such as hand holding or hugging with a member of the clergy; and
- g. that an inpatient hospice's policy and procedure include provisions for compliance with any federal law, regulations, requirements, orders, or guidelines regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice issued by any federal government agency during a declared PHE.
- 4. An inpatient hospice shall submit a written copy of its visitation policies and procedures on clergy member visitation, to the Health Standards Section of LDH at the initial licensure survey.
- 5. After licensure, the inpatient hospice shall make its visitation policies and procedures available for review by LDH at any time, upon request.
- 6. An inpatient hospice shall within 24 hours after establishing its written policies and procedures on clergy member visitation, make its written policies and procedures easily accessible from the homepage of its website.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2181-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 49:

§8561. Visitation by Immediate Family Members and Other
Designated Persons during a Declared Public Health Emergency

- A. For the purposes of this Section, immediate family member shall mean the following in order of priority:
 - 1. spouse;
 - 2. natural or adoptive parent, child, or sibling;
- stepparent, stepchild, stepbrother, or stepsister;
- 4. father-in-law, mother-in-law, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law;
 - 5. grandparent or grandchild;
 - 6. spouse of a grandparent or grandchild; or
- 7. legal or designated representative of the patient.
- B. A licensed inpatient hospice shall comply with any federal law, regulation requirement, order, or guideline regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice issued by any federal government agency during a declared PHE. The provisions of the licensing rules in §8561.C-F shall be preempted by any federal statute, regulation, requirement, order or guideline from a federal government agency that requires an inpatient hospice to restrict patient visitation in a manner that is more restrictive than the rules.
- C. Inpatient hospices shall comply with any Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice regarding visitation in inpatient hospices during a declared PHE.

- D. Inpatient hospices shall comply with any executive order or proclamation issued by the governor of the state of Louisiana regarding visitation in an inpatient hospice during a declared PHE.
- E. The provisions of this Section regarding visitation by immediate family members of the patient and other designated persons, shall apply to all inpatient hospices licensed by LDH.
- F. Subject to the requirements of §8561.B-D, each inpatient hospice shall allow immediate family members and other designated persons to visit a patient of the inpatient hospice during a declared PHE when a patient, or his legal or designated representative, requests a visit with immediate family members and other designated persons, subject to the following conditions and requirements:
- 1. Each inpatient hospice shall have a written policy and procedure addressing visitation by immediate family members and other designated persons. A copy of the written policy and procedure shall be available, without cost, to the patient and his legal or designated representative, upon request. The inpatient hospice shall provide a link to an electronic copy of the policy and procedure to immediate family members and other designated persons, upon request.
- 2. An inpatient hospice's policy and procedure regarding visitation by immediate family members and other designated persons may adopt reasonable time, place, and manner

restrictions, provided that such restrictions are implemented by the inpatient hospice, in consultation with appropriate medical personnel, for the purpose of mitigating the possibility of transmission of any infectious agent or infectious disease or for the purpose of addressing the medical condition or clinical considerations of an individual patient.

- 3. An inpatient hospice's policy and procedure on visitation by immediate family members and other designated persons, at a minimum, requires the following:
- a. that immediate family members of the patient and other designated persons, may be screened for infectious agents or infectious diseases, utilizing at least the current screening or testing methods and protocols recommended by the CDC, as applicable;
- i. if there is a current Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice that requires more rigorous screening or testing methods and protocols, then the inpatient hospice shall utilize those methods and protocols;
- b. that an immediate family member or other designated person may not be allowed to visit an inpatient hospice patient if such immediate family member or other designated person has obvious signs or symptoms of an infectious agent or infectious disease, or if such immediate family member or other designated person tests positive for an infectious agent or infectious disease;

- c. that an immediate family member or other designated person may not be allowed to visit an inpatient hospice patient if the immediate family member or other designated person refuses to comply with the provisions of the inpatient hospice's policy and procedure, or refuses to comply with the inpatient hospice's reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions;
- d. that the patient and immediate family
 members and other designated persons may be required to wear PPE
 as determined appropriate by the inpatient hospice, considering
 the patient's medical condition or clinical consideration;
- i. at the inpatient hospice's discretion,

 PPE may be made available by the inpatient hospice to immediate

 family members and other designated persons;
- e. that an inpatient hospice's policy and procedure include provisions for compliance with a Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice and with any governor's executive order or proclamation limiting visitation during a declared PHE;
- f. that the patient and an immediate family member or other designated person, shall have the right to consensual, nonsexual physical contact such as hand holding or hugging; and
- g. that an inpatient hospice's policy and procedure include provisions for compliance with any federal law, regulations, requirements, orders, or guidelines regarding

visitation in an inpatient hospice issued by any federal government agency during a declared PHE.

- 4. An inpatient hospice shall submit a written copy of its policies and procedures on immediate family member or other designated person visitation, to the Health Standards Section of LDH at the initial licensure survey.
- 5. After licensure, the inpatient hospice shall make its visitation policies and procedures available for review by LDH at any time, upon request.
- 6. An inpatient hospice shall within 24 hours after establishing its written policies and procedures on immediate family member or other designated person visitation, make its written policies and procedures easily accessible from the homepage of its website.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2181-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 49:

Stephen R. Russo, JD

Department of Health Bureau of Health Services Financing

Medicaid Reimbursement for Licensed Midwife or Certified Nurse Midwife Services (LAC 50:IX.15161, 15163 and XV.27101)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services

Financing has adopted LAC 50:IX.15161 and §15163, and amended

LAC 50:XV.27101 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized

by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security

Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions

of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This

Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation.

Title 50 PUBLIC HEALTH-MEDICAL ASSISTANCE Part IX. Professional Services Program Subpart 15. Reimbursement

Chapter 151. Reimbursement Methodology

Subchapter G. Midwifery Services

§15161. General Provisions

A. Certified nurse midwives and licensed midwives shall be reimbursed as a percentage of physician reimbursement according to the established fee schedule.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 49:

§15163. Reimbursement Methodology

A. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 2023, services related to pregnancy and childbirth provided by certified nurse midwives (including licensed midwives), shall be reimbursed at 95 percent of the physician fee on file.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 49:

Part XV. Services for Special Populations Subpart 18. Free-Standing Birthing Centers

Chapter 271. Reimbursement

§27101. Reimbursement Methodology

- A. A.3. ...
- B. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 2023, the reimbursement amounts for certified nurse midwives and licensed nurse midwives will be as follows:
- 1. certified nurse midwives providing birthing services within a FSBC shall be reimbursed at 95 percent of the published fee schedule rate for physician services rendered in the Professional Services Program; and
- 2. licensed midwives providing birthing services within a FSBC shall be reimbursed at 95 percent of the published fee schedule rate for physician services in the Professional Services Program.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:2360 (November 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 49:

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that submission to CMS for review and approval is required.

Stephen R. Russo, JD

Department of Health Bureau of Health Services Financing

Crisis Receiving Centers Licensing Standards (LAC 48:1.5303)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services

Financing has amended LAC 48:I.5303 as authorized by R.S. 36:254

and R.S. 40:2180.11 et seq. This Rule is promulgated in

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day

of promulgation.

Title 48 PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL Part I. General Administration Subpart 3. Licensing and Certification

Chapter 53. Level III Crisis Receiving Centers
Subchapter A. General Provisions
§5303. Definitions

* * *

Coroner's Emergency Certificate (CEC)—a certificate issued by the coroner or his/her deputy pursuant to R.S. 28:53, or current law.

* * *

PEC-Repealed.

* * *

Physician's Emergency Certificate (PEC)—an emergency certificate executed by a physician, physician assistant,

psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner, or other nurse practitioner, or psychologist pursuant to R.S. 28:53, or current law.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.11 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:102 (January 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47:472 (April 2021), LR 48:301 (February 2022), LR 49:

Stephen R. Russo, JD

Department of Health Bureau of Health Services Financing

Nursing Facilities Licensing Standards (LAC 48:I.Chapter 97)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing has amended LAC 48:I.Chapter 97 as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2009.2-2116. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation.

Title 48

PUBLIC HEALTH-GENERAL Part I. General Administration Subpart 3. Licensing and Certification

Chapter 97. Nursing Facilities

Subchapter B. Organization and General Services

§9767. Emergency Preparedness

- A. A.5. ...
- B. Emergency Preparedness Plan Approval Process
 - 1. 4.b. ...
- 5. Revision and Resubmission of Emergency Preparedness
 Plan
 - a. b. ...
- c. The department shall review the nursing home's updated and revised emergency preparedness plan to confirm that all required changes, amendments, or revisions have been

incorporated into the plan, and it shall approve the emergency preparedness plan and issue an approval letter to the nursing home. If the required changes, amendments, or revisions have not been incorporated, the department shall reject the emergency preparedness plan and issue a letter of rejection to the nursing home. The department may revoke or deny renewal of a license to a nursing home that has received a letter of rejection of its emergency preparedness plan.

- 6. 8.f. ...
- 9. Annual Review of Emergency Preparedness Plan a. f.iv. ...

(a). The department may revoke or deny renewal of a license to a nursing home that has received a letter of rejection of its emergency preparedness plan.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and 40:2009.2-2009.44.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 42:1905 (November 2016), amended LR 48:1290 (May 2022), LR 49:1076 (June 2023), LR 49:

§9769. Visitation by Members of the Clergy During a Declared Public Health Emergency

- A. For purposes of §9769 and §9771, a public health emergency (PHE) is a declaration made pursuant to the Louisiana Health Emergency Powers Act, R.S. 29:760 et seq., or current law.
 - B. H. ...
- I. Subject to the requirements of §9769.E-G, each nursing facility shall allow members of the clergy to visit residents of the nursing facility during a declared public health emergency (PHE) when a resident, or his legal or designated representative, requests a visit with a member of the clergy, subject to the following conditions and requirements:
 - 1. 2. ...
- 3. A nursing facility's policy and procedure on clergy visitation, at a minimum, requires the following:
- a. that the nursing facility shall give special consideration and priority for clergy visitation to residents receiving end-of-life care;
- b. that a clergy member may be screened for infectious agents or infectious diseases, utilizing at least the current screening or testing methods and protocols recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, as applicable; if there is a current Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice that requires more rigorous screening or testing methods and protocols, then the nursing facility shall utilize those methods and protocols;

- c. that a clergy member may not be allowed to visit a nursing facility resident if such clergy member has obvious signs or symptoms of an infectious agent or infectious disease, or if such clergy member tests positive for an infectious agent or infectious disease;
- d. that a clergy member may not be allowed to visit a nursing facility resident if the clergy member refuses to comply with the provisions of the nursing facility's policy and procedure or refuses to comply with the nursing facility's reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions; and
- e. that a clergy member may be required to wear personal protective equipment as determined appropriate by the nursing facility, considering the resident's medical condition or clinical considerations; at the nursing facility's discretion, personal protective equipment may be made available by the nursing facility to clergy members.
 - f. ...
- g. that a resident shall have the right to consensual, nonsexual physical contact such as hand holding or hugging with a member of the clergy; and
- h. that a nursing facility's policy and procedure include provisions for compliance with any federal law, regulations, requirements, orders, or guidelines regarding

visitation in nursing facilities issued by any federal government agency during a declared public health emergency.

- 4. A nursing facility shall submit a written copy of its visitation policies and procedures to the Health Standards Section of LDH at the initial licensure survey.
- 5. After licensure, the nursing facility shall make its visitation policies and procedures available for review by LDH at any time, upon request.
- 6. A nursing facility shall within 24 hours after establishing its visitation policies and procedures, make its policies and procedures easily accessible from the homepage of its website.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2009.2-2116.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47:1309 (September 2021), amended LR 49:

§9771. Visitation by Immediate Family Members and Other Designated Persons during a Declared Public Health Emergency

A. - D. ...

E. Subject to the requirements of §9771.A-C, each nursing facility shall allow immediate family members and other designated persons to visit a resident of the nursing facility during a declared public health emergency (PHE) when a resident, or his

legal or designated representative, requests a visit with immediate family members and other designated persons, subject to the following conditions and requirements:

- 1. 2. ...
- 3. A nursing facility's policy and procedure on visitation by immediate family members and other designated persons, at a minimum, requires the following:
- a. that the nursing facility shall give special consideration and priority for visitation by immediate family members and other designated persons to residents receiving end-of-life care;
- b. that visitation by immediate family members of the residents and other designated persons may be screened for infectious agents or infectious diseases and will pass such screening prior to each visitation, utilizing at least the current screening or testing methods and protocols recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, as applicable; if there is a current Louisiana SHO order or emergency notice that requires more rigorous screening or testing methods and protocols, then the nursing facility shall utilize those methods and protocols;
- c. that an immediate family member or other designated person may not be allowed to visit a nursing facility resident if such immediate family member or other designated

person has obvious signs or symptoms of an infectious agent or infectious disease, or if such immediate family member or other designated person tests positive for an infectious agent or infectious disease;

- d. that an immediate family member or other designated person may not be allowed to visit a nursing facility resident if the immediate family member or other designated person refuses to comply with the provisions of the nursing facility's policy and procedure or refuses to comply with the nursing facility's reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions;
- e. that immediate family members and other designated persons may be required to wear personal protective equipment as determined appropriate by the nursing facility, considering the resident's medical condition or clinical considerations; at the nursing facility's discretion, personal protective equipment may be made available by the nursing facility to immediate family members and other designated persons;
 - f. ...
- g. that a nursing facility's policy and procedure include provisions for compliance with any federal law, regulations, requirements, orders, or guidelines regarding visitation in nursing facilities issued by any federal government agency during a declared public health emergency;

- h. that includes provisions for off-site visitation, allowing an immediate family member or other designated person to visit a nursing facility resident away from the facility campus; and
- i. that a resident and an immediate family member or other designated person shall have the right to consensual, nonsexual physical contact such as hand holding or hugging.
- 4. A nursing facility shall submit a written copy of its visitation policies and procedures to the Health Standards Section of LDH at the initial licensure survey.
- 5. After licensure, the nursing facility shall make its visitation policies and procedures available for review by LDH at any time, upon request.
- 6. A nursing facility shall within 24 hours after establishing its visitation policies and procedures, make its policies and procedures easily accessible from the homepage of its website.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2009.2-2116.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health,
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47:1310 (September 2021),
amended LR 49:

Stephen R. Russo, JD