NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Abortion Facilities
Licensing Standards
(LAC 48:1.4431)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services
Financing proposes to amend LAC 48:1.4431 in the Medical
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S.
40:2175.1 et seq- This proposed Rule is promulgated iIn
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health
Services Financing repealed and replaced the provisions
governing the licensing standards for abortion facilities in
order to incorporate the changes imposed by legislation, and
further revise and clarify those provisions (Louisiana Register,
Volume 41, Number 4).

Act 97 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana
Legislature increased the time period required for certain pre-
operative services. Act 563 of the 2016 Regular Session of the
Louisiana Legislature provides that at least 72 hours before the
abortion, the pregnant woman seeking an abortion shall be given
a copy of certain printed information, including resources,

programs and services for pregnant women who have a diagnosis of



fetal genetic abnormality, and given printed information about
resources, programs and services for infants and children born
with disabilities, as well as other related matters. Act 593 of
the 2016 Regular Session of the Louilsiana Legislature provides
for the disposal, by interment or cremation, of fetal remains
and designates procedures for giving patients options for
arrangements. The department promulgated an Emergency Rule
which amended the provisions governing outpatient abortion
clinics in order to comply with the provisions of Acts 97, 563
and 593 (Louisiana Register, Volume 42, Number 12). This
proposed Rule i1s being promulgated in order to continue the
provisions of the December 3, 2016 Emergency Rule.
Title 48
PUBLIC HEALTH GENERAL
Part I. General Administration
Subpart 3. Licensing and Certification
Chapter 44. Abortion Facilities
Subchapter C. Pre-operative, Intra-operative, and Post-

Operative Procedures

84431. Screening and Pre-Operative Services




a. perform—an—obstetric—ultraseund-on—Except as

provided in Subparagraph b below, at least 72 hours prior to the

pregnant woman, offer to simultaneously display the screen which

i this Section shall be construed to prevent having any part of

an abortion performed or induced, and prior to the

administration of any anesthesia or medication In preparation

for the abortion on the pregnant woman, —From—not—kHistening—te

the sounds detected by the fetal heart monitor, or from not
viewing—the—images—displayed-on—the—ultraseund-sereensthe

physician who i1s to perform the abortion or a qualified person

who is the physician’s agent shall comply with all of the

following requirements:

1. perform an obstetric ultrasound on the

pregnant woman, offer to simultaneously display the screen which

depicts the active ultrasound Images so that the pregnant woman

may view them and make audible the fetal heartbeat, i1t present,

in a quality consistent with current medical practice. Nothing

in this Section shall be construed to prevent the pregnant woman
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from not listening to the sounds detected by the fetal heart

monitor, or from not viewing the images displayed on the

ultrasound screen;

i1. provide a simultaneous and objectively

accurate oral explanation of what the ultrasound is depicting,

in a manner understandable to a layperson, which shall include

the presence and location of the unborn child within the uterus

and the number of unborn children depicted, the dimensions of

the unborn child, and the presence of cardiac activity if

present and viewable, along with the opportunity for the

pregnant woman to ask questions;

i11i. offer the pregnant woman the option of

requesting an ultrasound photograph or print of her unborn child

of a quality consistent with current standard medical practice

that accurately portrays, to the extent feasible, the body of

the unborn child including limbs, if present and viewable;

iv. from a form that shall be produced and

made available by the department, staff will orally read the

statement on the form to the pregnant woman in the ultrasound

examination room prior to beginning the ultrasound examination,

and obtain from the pregnant woman a copy of a completed,

signed, and dated form; and

v. retain copies of the election form and

certification prescribed above. The certification shall be
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placed in the medical file of the woman and shall be kept by the

outpatient abortion facility for a period of not less than seven

years. ITf the woman is a minor, the certification shall be

placed in the medical file of the minor and kept for at least

ten years from the time the minor reaches the age of majority.

The woman®s medical files shall be kept confidential as provided

by law.

preghant—woman—to—ask gquestions: 1T the pregnant woman certifies

in writing that she currently lives 150 miles or more from the

nearest licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing

and able to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage

of pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion

or a qualified person who is the physician’s agent shall comply

with all of the requirements of 84431.E.2.a at least 24 hours

prior to the woman having any part of an abortion performed or

induced.



by—taw-c. — e. Repealed.

E.3. — G.1.

a. At-Except as provided in Subparagraph b

below, at least 24-72 hours before the abortion the physician

who is to perform the abortion or the referring physician shall
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provide informed consent to the pregnant woman seeking an

abortion, pursuant to all laws, rules and regulations regarding

informed consent. The informed consent shall be communicated

both orally and in-person, and in writing, and shall be provided

in a private room. Documentation of all such informed consent

provided shall be maintained in the patient’s medical record.

b. Documentation. The documentation of all such
mececalrecord-IT the woman certifies in writing that she

currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest licensed

outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able to perform

the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of pregnancy, then

the physician who is to perform the abortion or the referring

physician shall comply with all of the requirements of 84431.G.1

at least 24 hours prior to the abortion.

l.c. — 3.

a. At-Except as provided in Subparagraph b

below, at least 24-72 hours before a scheduled abortion the
physician who 1s to perform the abortion, the referring
physician, or a qualified person shall inform the pregnant woman
seeking an abortion, orally and in-person that:

i. — iv.

b. IT the woman certifies in writing that she

currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest licensed

-



outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able to perform

the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of pregnancy, then

the physician who is to perform the abortion the referring

physician, or a qualified person shall comply with all of the

requirements of 84431.G.3 at least 24 hours prior to the

abortion.

a. At least 24-72 hours before the abortion,
the pregnant woman seeking an abortion shall be given a copy of
the printed materials, pursuant to any applicable state laws,
rules, and regulations, by the physician who 1s to perform the
abortion, the referring physician, or a qualified persons

including but not himited to the following:. These printed

materials shall include any printed materials necessary for a

voluntary and informed consent, pursuant to R.S. 40:1061.17.

However, 1f the pregnant woman certifies in writing that she

currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest licensed

outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able to perform

the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of pregnancy, she

shall be given a copy of the printed materials at least 24 hours

prior to an elective abortion procedure by the physician who is

to perform the abortion or a qualified person as defined in R.S.

40:1061.17(B)(4)(c).




i. — NOTE. Repealed.

b. JF-At least 72 hours before the abortion,

the pregnant woman or minor female seeki#ng-considering an

abortion is—unableto read the materials.—the material-shall be

read—to—-her given a copy of the department’s Point of Rescue

pamphlet and any other materials described in R.S. 40:1061.16 by

the physician who is to perform the abortion or a qualified

person as defined in R.S. 40:1061.17(B)(4)(c), except in the

case of medical emergency defined by applicable state laws.

However, if the pregnant woman or minor female considering an

abortion certifies In writing that she currently lives 150 miles

or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion facility

that is willing and able to perform the abortion at the
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particular woman’s stage of pregnancy, she shall be given a copy

of these printed materials at least 72 hours prior to an

elective abortion procedure by the physician who is to perform

the abortion or a qualified person as defined in R.S.

40:1061.17(B)(4)(c), except in the case of medical emergency

defined by applicable state laws.

i. The physician or qualified person shall

provide to the woman, or minor female seeking an abortion, such

printed materials individually and in a private room for the

purpose of ensuring that she has an adequate opportunity to ask

questions and discuss her individual circumstances.

i11. The physician or qualified person shall

obtain the signature of the woman or minor female seeking an

abortion on a form certifying that the printed materials were

given to the woman or minor female.

iii. In the case of a minor female

considering an abortion, if a parent accompanies the minor

female to the appointment, the physician or qualified person

shall provide to the parent copies of the same materials given

to the female.

iv. The signed certification form shall be

kept within the medical record of the woman or minor female for

a period of at least seven years.
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C. 1At least 72 hours before the abortion,

the pregnant woman seeking an abortion-asks—questions—concerning
- the inf n ials. T s ded
to—her—in—her—own—language shall be given a copy of a printed

informational document including resources, programs and

services for pregnant women who have a diagnosis of fetal

genetic abnormality and resources, programs and services for

infants and children born with disabilities. However, if the

pregnant woman certifies in writing that she currently lives 150

miles or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion

facility that i1s willing and able to perform the abortion at the

particular woman’s stage of pregnancy, she shall be given a copy

of these printed materials at least 24 hours prior to an

elective abortion procedure by the physician who is to perform

the abortion or a qualified person as defined in R.S.

40:1061.17(B) (4)(c).

d. IT the pregnant woman seeking an abortion is

unable to read the materials, the materials shall be read to

her. 1f the pregnant woman seeking an abortion asks questions

concerning any of the information or materials, answers shall be

provided to her in her own language.

NOTE: The provisions of this Section requiring a physician or

qualified person to provide required printed materials to a woman

considering an abortion shall become effective 30 days after the
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department publishes a notice of the availability of such

materials.

5. I
a. Prior to the abortion, the outpatient
abortion facility shall ensure the pregnant woman seeking an
abortion has certified, in writing on a form provided by the
department that the information and materials required were

provided at least 24-72 hours prior to the abortion, or at least

24 hours prior to the abortion in the case of a woman who has

given prior certification in writing that she currently lives

150 miles or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion

facility that is willing and able to perform the abortion at the

particular woman’s stage of pregnancy. This form shall be

maintained in the woman’s medical record.

b. I

C. The pregnant woman seeking an abortion 1is
not required to pay any amount for the abortion procedures until

the 24-72-hour period has expired, or until expiration of the

24-hour period applicable in the case of a woman who has given

prior certification in writing that she currently lives 150

miles or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion

facility that 1s willing and able to perform the abortion at the

particular woman’s stage of pregnancy.

6. — 7.b. ...
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8. Disposition of Fetal Remains

a. Each physician who performs or induces an

abortion which does not result in a live birth shall ensure that

the remains of the fetus are disposed of by Interment or

cremation, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 et

seq and the provisions of LAC 51:XXVI1.102 of the Sanitary Code.

b. Prior to an abortion, the physician shall

orally and in writing inform the pregnant woman seeking an

abortion in the licensed abortion facility that the pregnant

woman has the following options:

1. the option to make arrangements for the

disposition and/or disposal of fetal remains by interment or

cremation, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 et

seq.; or

i11. the option to have the outpatient

abortion facility/physician make the arrangements for the

disposition and/or disposal of fetal remains by interment or

cremation, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 et

seq.

C. The pregnant woman shall sign a consent form

attesting that she has been informed of these options, and shall

indicate on the form whether she wants to make arrangements for

the disposition of fetal remains or whether she wants the
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facility to make arrangements for the disposition and/or

disposal of fetal remains.

d. the requirements of §4431.G.8 regarding

dispositions of fetal remains, shall not apply to abortions

induced by the administration of medications when the evacuation

of any human remains occurs at a later time and not in the

presence of the inducing physician or at the facility in which

the physician administered the inducing medications.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:2175.1 et seq.-

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:700
(April 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of
Health Services Financing, LR 43:

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session of
the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed Rule on
the family has been considered. It is anticipated that this
proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family functioning,
stability or autonomy as described In R.S. 49:972 by ensuring
that outpatient abortion facilities protect the health and
safety of the patients receiving services.

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session of
the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this proposed

Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed
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Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or family poverty
in relation to individual or community asset development as
described In R.S. 49:973.

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 170 of
the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the
provider impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. It is
anticipated that this proposed Rule may have an impact on the
staffing level requirements or qualifications required to
provide the same level of service and may result in nominal
direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same
level of service. These provisions may also negatively iImpact
the provider’s ability to provide the same level of service as
described in HCR 170.

In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session of
the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this proposed
Rulle on small businesses has been considered. It Is anticipated
that this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on small
businesses, as described In R.S. 49:965.2 et seq, i1f the
requirements of these licensing changes increases the financial
burden on providers. With the resources available to the
department, a regulatory flexibility analysis has been prepared
in order to consider methods to minimize the potential adverse
impact on small businesses. The department has determined that

there 1s no less iIntrusive or less costly alternative methods of
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achieving the iIntended purpose since the changes result from
legislative mandates.

Interested persons may submit written comments to Cecile
Castello, Health Standards Section, P.0O. Box 3767, Baton Rouge,
LA 70821 or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Castello is
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this proposed
Rule. A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for
Thursday, July 27, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, Bienville
Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. At that
time all interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to
submit data, views or arguments either orally or in writing.
The deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on
the next business day following the public hearing.

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH

Secretary
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