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NOTICE OF INTENT 

 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

 

Free-Standing Birth Centers 

Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.Chapter 67) 

 

 The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing proposes to repeal and replace the provisions of LAC 

48:I.Chapter 67 as authorized by R.S. 36:254. This proposed Rule 

is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

 Act 332 of the 2019 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature authorized the Department of Health to promulgate 

Rules relative to the licensing of free-standing birth centers 

(FSBCs). In compliance with Act 332, the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated a Notice of 

Intent which proposed to repeal LAC 48:I.Chapter 67 governing 

the licensing of hospitals in its entirety as these provisions 

are incorporated elsewhere in the Louisiana Administrative Code 

and replace it with provisions governing licensing of FSBCs 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 47, Number 7). As a result of the 

comments received, the department determined it was necessary to 

abandon the Notice of Intent published in the July 20, 2021 

edition of the Louisiana Register. 
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 The department now proposes to promulgate a revised Notice 

of Intent in order to repeal LAC 48:I.Chapter 67 governing the 

licensing of hospitals in its entirety and replace it with 

provisions governing the licensing of FSBCs, in compliance with 

Act 332. 

Title 48 

 

PUBLIC HEALTH-GENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 

 

Chapter 67. Free-Standing Birth Centers 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§6701. Introduction 

 A. These regulations contain the minimum licensing 

standards for free-standing birth centers (FSBCs). Free-standing 

birth centers are established for the purpose of rendering 

birthing procedures to its clients outside of a traditional 

hospital. 

 B. The care and services to be provided by an FSBC shall 

include: 

  1. birth-related procedures; 

  2. criteria for admission to, continuation in, and 

transfer out of, the birth center; 

  3. medications as needed for clinical procedures 

rendered; 
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  4. services necessary to provide for the physical 

and emotional well-being of the clients served; 

  5. established consultation, assessment of emergency 

conditions, and transfer as needed; and 

  6. organized administrative structure and support 

services. 

 C. Each entity that meets the definition of an FSBC shall 

submit an initial licensing application and the required fee to 

the department within 90 days of the promulgation of these 

initial rules, regulations, and licensing standards. If the 

entity is not licensed within 120 days after submission of its 

initial licensing application and fee, the entity shall cease 

operations until such time as it is licensed as a free-standing 

birth center by the department. 

 D. FSBCs that apply for their initial FSBC license or 

receive plan review approval for initial construction or major 

renovations, or change their geographic address after the 

effective date of the promulgation of this Rule, shall be 

required to comply with all of the provisions herein. 

 E. Those FSBCs in operation on the effective date of the 

promulgation of this rule, shall be exempt only from the 

provisions of §6701.D. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 
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 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services and Financing, LR 48: 

§6703. Definitions 

 Active Labor—rapid cervical dilation beginning at six 

centimeters dilation. 

 Administrator—the person responsible for the on-site, daily 

implementation and supervision of the overall free-standing 

birth center’s operation commensurate with the authority 

conferred by the governing body. 

 Apgar Score—an accepted and convenient method for reporting 

the status of the newborn immediately after birth and the 

response to resuscitation if it is needed. 

 Board—the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners 

(LSMBE). 

 Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM)—a licensed healthcare 

practitioner who is acting within the scope of practice of 

his/her respective licensing board(s) and/or certifications. 

 Cessation of Business—center is non-operational and/or has 

stopped offering or providing services to the community. 

 Change of Ownership (CHOW)—the addition, substitution, or 

removal, whether by sale, transfer, lease, gift, or otherwise, 

of a licensed healthcare provider subject to this rule by a 

person, corporation, or other entity, which results in a change 

of controlling interest of assets or other equity interests of 
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the licensed entity may constitute a CHOW of the licensed 

entity. 

 Client—an individual who is receiving services from a 

licensed free-standing birth center. 

 Department—the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) or any 

of its sections, bureaus, offices or its contracted designee. 

 Division of Administrative Law (DAL)—the agency authorized 

to conduct fair hearings and take actions on appeals of 

departmental decisions as provided for in the Administrative 

Procedure Act, or its successor. 

 Employed—performance of a job or task for compensation, 

such as wages or a salary. An employed person may be one who is 

contracted or one who is hired for a staff position. 

 Family—individuals selected by the pregnant woman to be 

present and/or in attendance during her admission to the free-

standing birth center. 

 Free-Standing Birth Center (FSBC)—a facility, place, 

center, agency, person, institution, corporation, partnership, 

unincorporated association, group, or other legal entity which 

provides FSBC services and at which a person is anticipated to 

have an uncomplicated vaginal delivery following a low-risk 

pregnancy. An FSBC does not include a hospital licensed pursuant 

to R.S. 40:2100 et seq., nor does it include the place of 

residence of the person giving birth. 
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 Free-Standing Birth Center Services—peripartum care, 

including prenatal, labor, delivery, and postpartum, and 

services for people with low-risk pregnancies provided at free-

standing birth centers. This includes any ancillary ambulatory 

service provided to a person at low risk for pregnancy 

complications, if such services are within the scope of practice 

of the individual providing the service. 

 Governing Body—the individual or group of individuals who 

are legally responsible for the operation of the FSBC, including 

management, control, conduct and functioning of the FSBC, also 

known as the governing authority. 

 Health Standards Section (HSS)—Department of Health, Office 

of the Secretary, Health Standards Section. 

 Intrapartum—the period beginning with active labor to the 

expulsion of the placenta. 

 Licensed Midwife—a licensed healthcare practitioner who is 

acting within the scope of practice of his/her respective 

licensing board(s) and/or certifications. 

 Licensed Healthcare Practitioner—a licensed physician or 

CNM, or a licensed midwife. 

 Lochia—the normal discharge from the uterus after 

childbirth occurring three to ten days after delivery. 

 Low-Risk Pregnancy—a normal, uncomplicated, singleton 

pregnancy that has vertex presentation and is at low risk for 
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development of complications during labor and birth, as 

determined from an evaluation and examination conducted by a 

physician or other practitioner or individual acting within the 

scope of his or her practice. 

 Miscarried Child—the fetal remains resulting from a 

spontaneous fetal death that does not require compulsory 

registration pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 40:47. 

 National Standards—national standards for birth centers 

published or established by the American Association of Birth 

Centers, as well as requirements for accreditation published by 

the Commission for Accreditation of Birth Centers. 

 Non-Operational—when the FSBC is not open for business 

operations on designated days and hours as stated on the 

licensing application. 

 Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM)—an agency of the 

Department of Public Safety responsible for architectural and 

licensing plan review and inspections for life safety codes. 

 Perineal Laceration—a tear of the skin and other soft 

tissue structures which, in women, separate the vagina from the 

anus. Perineal tears manly occur in women as a result of vaginal 

childbirth and vary in severity. 

 Physician—a licensed healthcare practitioner who is acting 

within the scope of practice of his/her respective licensing 

board(s) and/or certifications. 
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 Physician Evaluation and Examination—physician evaluation 

and examination as provided in R.S. 37:3244 to determine 

whether, at the time of such evaluation and examination, the 

individual is at low or normal risk of developing complications 

during pregnancy and childbirth. 

 Postmature—gestational age of greater than 42 weeks. 

 Postpartum—the period beginning immediately after 

childbirth in accordance with current standards of practice. 

 Practice of Midwifery—holding oneself out to the public as 

being engaged in the business of attending, assisting, or 

advising a woman during the various phases of the 

interconceptional and childbearing periods. 

 Prenatal Care (Antepartum Care)—occurring or existing 

before birth. The prenatal period (also known as antenatal care) 

refers to the regular care recommended for women during 

pregnancy. Prenatal care is preventative care with the goal of 

providing regular check-ups that allow licensed healthcare 

practitioners to treat and prevent potential health problems 

throughout the course of pregnancy. 

 Preterm—prior to the thirty-seventh week of gestation. 

 Qualified Personnel—means that the individual is trained 

and competent in the services which he or she provides and is 

licensed or certified when required by statute or professional 

standard. 
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 Scope of Practice—services that a licensed healthcare 

practitioner is deemed competent to perform and permitted to 

undertake, in keeping with the terms of their professional 

license. 

 Secretary—the secretary of LDH, or designee. 

 Standards—policies, procedures, rules, guidelines, and 

standards of current practice contained in this Part in addition 

to those rules and standards promulgated by LDH for the 

licensing and operation of free-standing birth centers. 

 Term—gestational age of greater or equal to 37 weeks but 

less than 42 weeks. 

 Transfer Agreement—a written agreement made with at least 

one receiving hospital in the community and with a local 

ambulance service for the timely transport of emergency clients 

to a licensed hospital that will provide obstetric/newborn acute 

care should an emergency arise which would necessitate hospital 

care and services. 

 Uterine Atony—a loss of tone in the uterine musculature. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254, 

R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28, R.S. 37:1270 and R.S. 37:3241-3259. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6705. General Requirements 
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 A. All FSBCs shall be licensed by LDH. No facility, 

place, center, agency, person, institution, corporation, 

partnership, unincorporated association, group, or other legal 

entity providing FSBC services shall be established or operated 

unless licensed as an FSBC by the department to perform such 

services. 

 B. A license issued to an FSBC shall be valid for one 

geographic location and issued to the entity or person and 

premises named in the license application. 

 C. A license issued pursuant to these regulations shall 

be valid for 12 months unless revoked or otherwise suspended 

prior to that date, commencing with the month of issuance. 

 D. Unless otherwise renewed or stayed in the rules 

promulgated by the department, a license issued pursuant to this 

Part shall expire on the last day of the twelfth month after the 

date of issuance. 

 E. A license issued pursuant to this Part shall be on a 

form prescribed by the department. 

 F. A license issued pursuant to this Part shall not be 

transferable or assignable. 

 G. A license issued to an FSBC shall be posted in a 

conspicuous place on the licensed premises. 

 H. Each FSBC shall be located within a 20 minutes’ 

transport time from a general acute care hospital providing 



11 

 

obstetric services which allows for an emergency cesarean 

delivery to begin within 30 minutes of the decision by a 

licensed obstetrician/gynecologist physician in the receiving 

facility that a cesarean delivery is necessary. 

 I. Each FSBC shall have agreements or written policies 

and procedures with other agencies, institutions, or 

individuals, for services to clients including, but not limited 

to: 

  1. laboratory and diagnostic services; 

  2. obstetric consultation services; 

  3. pediatric consultation services; 

  4. transport services; 

  5. obstetric/newborn acute care in hospitals; and 

  6. pharmaceutical services. 

 J. Each FSBC shall have an established consultation, 

collaboration, or referral system, for both emergency and non-

emergency circumstances, that fall outside the scope of birth 

center practice, to meet the needs of a mother or the newborn. 

 K. Each FSBC shall have requirements and protocols for 

assessing, transferring, and transporting clients to a licensed 

hospital and arrangements with a local ambulance service for the 

transport of emergency clients to a licensed hospital. 

 L. Each FSBC shall have requirements for documentation of 

adequate prenatal care and for documentation and evidence that 
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the delivery is expected to be low risk, singleton birth, and 

vertex presentation. 

 M. Each FSBC shall meet the national standards for birth 

centers published or established by the American Association of 

Birth Centers, as well as requirements for accreditation 

published by the Commission for Accreditation of Birth Centers. 

 N. Neither general nor epidural anesthesia services shall 

be administered at the FSBC. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6707. Licensing 

 A. The LDH HSS is the only licensing authority for FSBCs 

in the state of Louisiana. 

 B. Each FSBC license shall: 

  1. be issued only to the person or entity named in 

the license application; 

  2. be valid only for the FSBC to which it is issued 

and only for the specific geographic address of that FSBC; 

  3. be valid for one year from the date of issuance, 

unless revoked, suspended, modified or terminated prior to that 

date, or unless a provisional license is issued: 
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   a. a provisional license shall be valid for a 

period not to exceed six months if the department determines 

that there is no immediate and serious threat to the health and 

safety of clients; 

  4. expire on the last day of the twelfth month after 

the date of issuance, unless timely renewed by the FSBC; 

  5. not be subject to sale, assignment, donation, or 

other transfer, whether voluntary or involuntary; and 

  6. be posted in a conspicuous place on the licensed 

premises at all times. 

 C. The FSBC shall abide by and adhere to any federal, 

state, and local laws, rules, policies, procedures, manuals, or 

memorandums applicable to such facilities. 

 D. A separately licensed FSBC shall not use a name which 

is the same as the name of another such FSBC licensed by the 

department as determined by the secretary of state. 

 E. Each existing entity that meets the definition of FSBC 

as defined in this Chapter shall submit an initial licensing 

application and fee to the department within 90 days of the 

promulgation of the initial rules, regulations, and licensing 

standards. If the existing entity is not licensed within 120 

days after submission of its initial licensing application and 

fee, the existing entity shall cease operations until such time 
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as it is licensed as a free-standing birth center by the 

department. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6709. Initial Licensure Application Process 

 A. An initial application for licensing as an FSBC shall 

be obtained from the department. A completed initial license 

application packet for an FSBC shall be submitted to, and 

approved by the department, prior to an applicant providing 

services. 

 B. The initial licensing application packet shall 

include: 

  1. a completed licensure application and the non-

refundable licensing fee as established by statute; 

  2. a copy of the approval letter(s) of the 

architectural and licensing facility plans from the OSFM and any 

other office/entity designated by the department to review and 

approve the center’s architectural and licensing plan review; 

  3. a copy of the on-site inspection report with 

approval for occupancy by the OSFM, if applicable; 
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  4. a copy of the on-site health inspection report 

with approval for occupancy from the Office of Public Health 

(OPH); 

  5. proof of each insurance coverage as follows: 

   a. general liability insurance of at least 

$300,000 per occurrence; 

   b. worker’s compensation insurance as required 

by state law; 

   c. professional liability insurance of at least 

$100,000 per occurrence/$300,000 per annual aggregate, or proof 

of self-insurance of at least $100,000, along with proof of 

enrollment as a qualified healthcare provider with the Louisiana 

Patient’s Compensation Fund (PCF): 

    i. if the FSBC is not enrolled in the PCF, 

professional liability limits shall be $1,000,000 per 

occurrence/$3,000,000 per annual aggregate; and 

   d. the LDH HSS shall specifically be identified 

as the certificate holder on any policies and any certificates 

of insurance issued as proof of insurance by the insurer or 

producer (agent); 

  6. proof of a line of credit issued from a federally 

insured, licensed lending institution in the amount of at least 

$50,000; 

  7. disclosure of ownership and control information; 
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  8. the usual and customary days and hours of 

operation; 

  9. an organizational chart and names, including 

position titles, of key administrative personnel and governing 

body; 

  10. fiscal intermediary, if applicable; 

  11. secretary of state’s articles of incorporation; 

  12. clinical laboratory improvement amendments (CLIA) 

certificate or CLIA certificate of waiver, if applicable; 

  13. an 8.5 by 11-inch mapped floor plan; and 

  14. any other documentation or information required 

by the department for licensure. 

 C. If the initial licensing packet is incomplete, the 

applicant shall be notified of the missing information, and 

shall have 90 days from receipt of the notification to submit 

the additional requested information. If the additional 

requested information is not submitted to the department within 

90 days, the application shall be closed. If an initial 

licensing application is closed, an applicant who is still 

interested in becoming an FSBC shall be required to submit a new 

initial licensing application packet with the required fee to 

start the initial licensing process. 

 D. Once the initial licensing application packet has been 

approved by the department, notification of such approval shall 
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be forwarded to the applicant. Within 90 days of receipt of the 

approval of the application, the applicant shall notify the 

department that the FSBC is ready and is requesting an initial 

licensing survey. If an applicant fails to notify the department 

within 90 days, the initial licensing application shall be 

closed. After an initial licensing application is closed, an 

applicant who is still interested in becoming a licensed FSBC 

shall be required to submit a new initial licensing packet with 

the required fee to start the initial licensing process. 

 E. Applicants shall be compliant with applicable federal, 

state, departmental or local statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, 

regulations and fees before the FSBC will be issued an initial 

license to operate. 

 F. Fire Protection. All FSBCs required to be licensed by 

the law shall comply with the rules, established fire protection 

standards and enforcement policies as promulgated by the OSFM. 

It shall be the primary responsibility of the OSFM to determine 

if applicants are complying with those requirements. No license 

shall be issued to an applicant seeking licensure after the 

effective date of the promulgation of this rule or license 

renewed without the applicant furnishing a certificate from the 

OSFM stating that the applicant is complying with its 

provisions. 
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 G. Sanitation and Client Safety. All FSBCs required to be 

licensed by the law shall comply with the Rules, Sanitary Code 

and enforcement policies as promulgated by the Office of Public 

Health (OPH). It shall be the primary responsibility of the OPH 

to determine if applicants are complying with those 

requirements. No initial license shall be issued to an applicant 

seeking licensure or license renewal after the effective date of 

the promulgation of this rule without the applicant furnishing a 

certificate from the OPH stating that the applicant is complying 

with its provisions. 

 H. For those existing facilities that get a conditional 

certificate from OPH/OSFM, a provisional license may be issued 

to the applicant if the OPH or the OSFM issues the applicant a 

conditional certificate. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6711. Initial Licensing Surveys 

 A. Prior to the initial license being issued, an initial 

onsite licensing survey shall be conducted to ensure compliance 

with the licensing laws and standards. 

  1. The initial licensing survey of an FSBC shall be 

an announced survey. 
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  2. Follow-up surveys to the initial licensing 

surveys may be announced or unannounced surveys depending on the 

outcome of the initial survey. 

 B. The FSBC shall not provide services to any client 

until the initial licensing survey has been performed and the 

FSBC has been determined to be compliant with these licensing 

regulations and has received written approval from the HSS. 

EXCEPTION:  For FSBCs in operation at the time of the 

promulgation of this Rule, the requirement for non-

admittance of clients prior to survey does not apply. 

 C. If the initial licensing survey finds that the FSBC is 

compliant with all licensing laws, regulations, and other 

required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and 

fees, the department shall issue a full license to the center. 

The license shall be valid until the expiration date shown on 

the license, unless the license is modified, revoked, suspended 

or terminated. 

 D. If the initial licensing survey finds that the FSBC is 

noncompliant with any licensing laws or regulations, or any 

other required rules or regulations that present a potential 

threat to the health, safety, or welfare of the clients, the 

department shall deny the initial license. 

 E. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds 

that the FSBC is noncompliant with any licensing laws or 



20 

 

regulations, or any other required rules or regulations, but the 

department in its sole discretion determines that the 

noncompliance does not present a threat to the health, safety or 

welfare of the clients, the department may issue a provisional 

initial license for a period not to exceed six months. The FSBC 

shall submit a plan of correction to the department for approval 

and shall be required to correct all such noncompliance or 

deficiencies prior to the expiration of the provisional license. 

  1. If all such noncompliance or deficiencies are 

corrected on the follow-up survey, a full license may be issued. 

  2. If all such noncompliance or deficiencies are not 

corrected on the follow-up survey, or new deficiencies affecting 

the health, safety, or welfare of a client are cited, the 

provisional license shall expire, and the facility shall be 

required to begin the initial licensing process again by 

submitting a new initial license application packet and the 

required licensing fee. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6713. Types of Licenses and Expiration Dates 

 A. The department shall have the authority to issue the 

following types of licenses. 
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  1. Full Initial License. The department shall issue 

a full license to the FSBC when the initial licensing survey 

finds that the FSBC is compliant with all licensing laws and 

regulations, and is compliant with all other required statutes, 

laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and fees. The license 

shall be valid until the expiration date shown on the license, 

unless the license is modified, revoked, suspended, or 

terminated. 

  2. Provisional Initial License. The department may 

issue a provisional initial license for a period not to exceed 

six months to an FSBC when the initial licensing survey finds 

that the FSBC is noncompliant with any licensing laws or 

regulations or any other required statutes, laws, ordinances, 

rules, regulations or fees, but the department determines that 

the noncompliance does not present a threat to the health, 

safety or welfare of the clients. A provisional license may also 

be issued after an initial licensing survey to allow the FSBC to 

become accredited. 

  3. Full Renewal License. The department may issue a 

full renewal license to an existing licensed FSBC that is in 

substantial compliance with all applicable federal, state, 

departmental, and local statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, 

regulations, and fees. The license shall be valid until the 
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expiration date shown on the license, unless the license is 

modified, revoked, suspended, or terminated. 

  4. Provisional License. The department, in its sole 

discretion, may issue a provisional license to an existing 

licensed FSBC for a period not to exceed six months for any of 

the following reasons. 

   a. The existing FSBC has more than five 

deficient practices or deficiencies cited during any one survey. 

   b. The existing FSBC has more than three 

substantiated complaints in a 12-month period. 

   c. The existing FSBC has been issued a 

deficiency that involved placing a client at risk for serious 

harm or death. 

   d. The existing FSBC has failed to correct 

deficient practices within 60 days of being cited for such 

deficient practices or at the time of a follow-up survey. 

   e. The existing FSBC is not in substantial 

compliance with all applicable federal, state, departmental and 

local statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and fees 

at the time of renewal of the license. 

   f. When the department issues a provisional 

license, the FSBC shall submit a plan of correction to the 

department for approval and shall be required to correct all 

such noncompliance or deficiencies prior to the expiration of 
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the provisional license. The department shall conduct a follow-

up survey, either on-site or by desk review, of the FSBC prior 

to the expiration of the provisional license. 

   g. If the follow-up survey determines that the 

FSBC has corrected the deficient practices and has maintained 

compliance during the period of the provisional license, the 

department may issue a full license for the remainder of the 

year until the anniversary date of the FSBC license. 

   h. If the follow-up survey determines that all 

noncompliance or deficiencies have not been corrected, or if new 

deficiencies that are a threat to the health, safety, or welfare 

of a client are cited on the follow-up survey, the provisional 

license shall expire, and the facility shall be required to 

begin the initial licensing process again. 

   i. If the follow-up survey determines that most 

but not all noncompliance or deficiencies have been corrected, 

or if new deficiencies that are not a threat to the health, 

safety, or welfare of a client are cited on the follow-up 

survey, a one-time extension of the provisional license may be 

granted at the discretion of the department. 

   j. The department shall issue written notice to 

the FSBC of the results of the follow-up survey. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 
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 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6715. Changes in Licensee Information or Personnel 

 A. An FSBC license shall be valid only for the person or 

entity named in the license application and only for the 

specific geographic address listed on the license application. 

 B. Any permanent change regarding the entity FSBC’s name, 

“doing business as” name, mailing address, telephone number, 

stated days and hours of operation, or any combination thereof, 

shall be reported in writing to the department within five 

business days of the change. 

  1. For any temporary closures of the FSBC greater 

than 24 hours, other than weekends or holidays, the FSBC shall 

notify HSS in advance. 

  2. At any time that the FSBC has an interruption in 

services or a change in the licensed location due to an 

emergency, the FSBC shall notify HSS no later than the next 

stated business day. 

 C. Any change regarding the FSBC’s key administrative 

personnel shall be reported in writing to the department within 

10 days of the change. 

  1. Key administrative personnel include the: 

   a. administrator; and 

   b. director of clinical midwifery services. 
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  2. The FSBC’s notice to the department shall include 

the individual’s: 

   a. name; 

   b. address; 

   c. hire date; and 

   d. qualifications. 

 D. A CHOW of the FSBC shall be reported in writing to the 

department within five days of the change. 

 E. The license of an FSBC is not transferable or 

assignable and cannot be sold. The new owner shall submit the 

legal CHOW document, all documents required for a new license 

and the applicable licensing fee. Once all application 

requirements are completed and approved by the department, a new 

license shall be issued to the new owner. 

  1. An FSBC that is under license revocation, 

provisional licensure and/or denial of license renewal may not 

undergo a CHOW. 

  2. If the CHOW results in a change of geographic 

address, an on-site physical environment survey by the HSS, an 

on-site inspection by the OPH and the OSFM shall be required 

prior to issuance of the new license. 

 F. If the FSBC changes its name without a change in 

ownership, the FSBC shall report such change to the department 

in writing five days prior to the change. The change in the 
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FSBC’s name requires a change in the license and payment of the 

required fee for a name change and reissuance of a license. 

 G. Any request for a duplicate license shall be 

accompanied by the applicable required fee. 

 H. If the FSBC changes the physical address of its 

geographic location without a change in ownership, the FSBC 

shall report such change to the department in writing at least 

six weeks prior to the change. Because the license of an FSBC is 

valid only for the geographic location of that FSBC, and is not 

transferrable or assignable, the FSBC shall submit a new 

licensing application and the required fees, licensing 

inspection reports, and licensing plan reviews for the new 

location. 

  1. An on-site physical environment survey by the 

HSS, an on-site inspection by the OPH and the OSFM shall be 

required prior to the issuance of the new license. 

  2. The change in the FSBC’s physical address results 

in a new anniversary date and the full licensing fee shall be 

paid. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6717. Renewal of License 
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 A. The FSBC shall submit a completed license renewal 

application packet to the department at least 30 days prior to 

the expiration of the current license. The license renewal 

application packet shall include the: 

  1. license renewal application; 

  2. non-refundable license renewal fee; 

  3. stated days and hours of operation; 

  4. current State Fire Marshal report; 

  5. current OPH inspection report; 

  6. proof of each insurance coverage as follows: 

   a. general liability insurance of at least 

$300,000 per occurrence; 

   b. worker’s compensation insurance of at least 

$100,000 as required by state law; 

   c. professional liability insurance of at least 

$100,000 per occurrence/$300,000 per annual aggregate, or proof 

of self-insurance of at least $100,000, along with proof of 

enrollment as a qualified healthcare provider with the PCF: 

    i. if the FSBC is not enrolled in the PCF, 

professional liability limits shall be $1,000,000 per 

occurrence/$3,000,000 per annual aggregate; 

   d. the LDH HSS shall specifically be identified 

as the certificate holder on any policies and any certificates 
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of insurance issued as proof of insurance by the insurer or 

producer (agent); 

  7. proof of a line of credit issued from a federally 

insured, licensed lending institution in the amount of at least 

$50,000; and 

  8. any other documentation required by the 

department, if applicable. 

 B. The department may perform an on-site survey and 

inspection upon annual renewal of a license. 

 C. Failure to submit a completed license renewal 

application packet prior to the expiration of the current 

license will result in the voluntary non-renewal of the FSBC 

license. There are no appeal rights for such surrender or non-

renewal of the license, as this is a voluntary action on the 

part of the FSBC. 

 D. If an existing licensed FSBC has been issued a notice 

of license revocation, suspension or termination, and the FSBC’s 

license is due for annual renewal, the department shall deny the 

license renewal application and shall not issue a renewal 

license. 

  1. Subject to the provisions in D.2 of this section, 

if a timely administrative appeal has been filed by the FSBC 

regarding the license revocation, suspension, or termination, 

the administrative appeal shall be suspensive, and the FSBC 
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shall be allowed to continue to operate and provide services 

until such time as the administrative tribunal or department 

issues a decision on the license revocation, suspension, or 

termination. 

  2. If the secretary of the department determines 

that the violations of the FSBC pose an imminent or immediate 

threat to the health, welfare, or safety of a client, the 

imposition of such action may be immediate and may be enforced 

during the pendency of the administrative appeal. If the 

secretary of the department makes such a determination, the FSBC 

will be notified in writing. 

  3. The denial of the license renewal application 

does not affect in any manner the license revocation, 

suspension, or termination. 

 E. The renewal of a license does not in any manner affect 

any sanction, civil monetary penalty, or other action imposed by 

the department against the FSBC. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6719. Deemed Status 

 A. A licensed FSBC may request deemed status once the 

center becomes accredited by an LDH authorized accreditation 



30 

 

organization, or if the applicant has achieved accreditation 

prior to initial licensure and becomes licensed. 

 B. The department may approve the deemed status request 

and accept accreditation in lieu of periodic licensing surveys 

when the provider provides documentation to the department that 

shows: 

  1. the accreditation is current and was obtained 

through an LDH authorized accreditation organization; 

  2. all FSBC services provided under the FSBC license 

are accredited; and 

  3. the accrediting organization’s findings. 

 C. If deemed status is approved, accreditation will be 

accepted as evidence of satisfactory compliance with this 

Chapter in lieu of conducting periodic re-licensure surveys. 

Accreditation will not replace annual renewal of licensure. The 

FSBC shall annually apply to renew the provider license and meet 

licensure requirements. 

 D. To maintain deemed status, the center shall submit a 

copy of current accreditation documentation with its annual 

license renewal application. 

 E. The department may conduct unannounced complaint 

investigations on all FSBCs including those with deemed status. 

 F. The department may rescind deemed status and conduct a 

licensing survey for the following: 
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  1. a valid complaint is received within the 

preceding 12 months; 

  2. the FSBC begins offering additional services; 

  3. a CHOW occurs; 

  4. a provisional license has been issued within the 

preceding 12-month period; 

  5. deficiencies have been identified within the 

preceding 12-month period that placed clients at risk for harm; 

  6. a treatment or service results in death or 

serious injury; or 

  7. a change in geographic location occurs. 

 G. The center shall notify HSS upon change in 

accreditation status within two business days. 

 H. The department shall rescind deemed status when the 

center loses its accreditation. 

 I. An FSBC approved for deemed status is subject to and 

shall comply with all provisions of this Chapter, except §6709.F 

and §6709.G. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6721. Survey Activities 
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 A. The department may conduct periodic licensing surveys 

and other surveys as deemed necessary to ensure compliance with 

all laws, rules, and regulations governing FSBCs and to ensure 

client health, safety, and welfare. These surveys may be 

conducted on-site or by administrative review and shall be 

unannounced. 

 B. The department may require an acceptable plan of 

correction from the FSBC for any survey where deficiencies have 

been cited, regardless of whether the department takes other 

action against the FSBC for the deficiencies cited in the 

survey. The acceptable plan of correction shall be submitted for 

approval to the department within the prescribed timeframe. 

 C. A follow-up survey may be conducted for any survey 

where deficiencies have been cited to ensure correction of the 

deficient practices. 

 D. The department may issue appropriate sanctions for 

noncompliance, deficiencies and violations of law, rules, and 

regulations. Sanctions may include, but are not limited to: 

  1. civil fines; 

  2. directed plans of correction; 

  3. denial of license renewal; and/or 

  4. license revocation. 

 E. LDH surveyors and staff shall be: 
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  1. given access to all areas of the FSBC and all 

relevant files and other documentation as necessary or required 

to conduct the survey: 

   a. for any records or other documentation 

stored onsite, such shall be provided within one to two hours of 

surveyor request; and 

   b. for any records or other documentation 

stored off-site, such shall be provided to the surveyor for 

review no later than 24 hours from the time of the surveyor’s 

request. 

  2. allowed to interview any facility staff, client 

or other persons as necessary or required to conduct the survey; 

and 

  3. allowed to photocopy any records/files requested 

by surveyors during the survey process. 

 F. The department shall conduct complaint surveys in 

accordance with R.S. 40:2009.13 et seq. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6723. Statement of Deficiencies 

 A. Any statement of deficiencies issued by the department 

to an FSBC shall be available for disclosure to the public 30 
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days after the FSBC submits an acceptable plan of correction to 

the deficiencies or 90 days after the statement of deficiencies 

is issued to the FSBC, whichever occurs first. 

 B. Unless otherwise provided in statute or in these 

licensing provisions, the FSBC shall have the right to an 

informal reconsideration of any deficiencies cited as a result 

of a survey or investigation. 

  1. Correction of the violation, noncompliance, or 

deficiency shall not be the basis for the reconsideration. 

  2. The informal reconsideration of the deficiencies 

shall be requested in writing within 10 calendar days of receipt 

of the statement of deficiencies, unless otherwise provided in 

these standards. 

  3. The request for informal reconsideration of the 

deficiencies shall be made to HSS and will be considered timely 

if received by HSS within 10 calendar days of the FSBC’s receipt 

of the statement of deficiencies. 

  4. If a timely request for an informal 

reconsideration is received, the department shall schedule and 

conduct the informal reconsideration. The FSBC shall be notified 

in writing of the results of the informal reconsideration. 

  5. Except as provided for complaint surveys pursuant 

to R.S. 40:2009.13 et seq., and as provided in these licensing 

provisions for initial license denials, license revocations, and 
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denial of license renewals, the decision of the informal 

reconsideration team shall be the final administrative decision 

regarding the deficiencies. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6725. Denial of Initial License, Revocation of License, 

Denial of License Renewal 

 A. The department may deny an application for an initial 

license or a license renewal, or the department may revoke a 

license in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act. 

 B. Denial of an Initial License. 

  1. The department shall deny an initial license if 

the initial licensing survey finds that the FSBC is noncompliant 

with any licensing laws or regulations, or any other required 

statutes or regulations that present a potential threat to the 

health, safety or welfare of the clients. 

  2. The department shall deny an initial license for 

any of the reasons that a license may also be revoked or denied 

renewal pursuant to these licensing provisions. 
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  3. If the department denies an initial license, the 

applicant for an FSBC license shall not render services to 

clients. 

 C. Voluntary Non-Renewal of a License. If the FSBC fails 

to timely renew its license, the license expires on its face and 

is considered voluntarily surrendered. There are no appeal 

rights for such surrender or non-renewal of the license, as this 

is a voluntary action on the part of the facility. 

 D. Revocation of License or Denial of License Renewal. An 

FSBC license may be revoked or denied renewal for any of the 

following reasons, including but not limited to: 

  1. failure to be in substantial compliance with the 

FSBC licensing laws, rules, and regulations; 

  2. failure to be in substantial compliance with 

other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, or 

regulations; 

  3. failure to uphold client rights whereby deficient 

practices result in harm, injury, or death of a client; 

  4. failure to protect a client from a harmful act by 

an FSBC employee or other client on the premises including, but 

not limited to: 

   a. any action which poses a threat to client or 

public health and safety; 

   b. coercion; 
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   c. threat or intimidation; 

   d. harassment; 

   e. abuse; or 

   f. neglect; 

  5. failure to notify the proper authorities, as 

required by federal or state law or regulations, of all 

suspected cases of the acts outlined in §6725.D.4.a-f; 

  6. failure to employ qualified personnel; 

  7. failure to submit an acceptable plan of 

correction for deficient practices cited during an on-site 

survey within the stipulated timeframes; 

  8. failure to submit the required fees, including 

but not limited to: 

   a. fees for address or name changes; 

   b. any fine assessed by the department; or 

   c. fee for a CHOW; 

  9. failure to allow entry into the FSBC or access to 

requested records during a survey; 

  10. failure to protect clients from unsafe care by an 

individual employed by the FSBC; 

  11. when the FSBC staff or owner knowingly (or with 

reason to know) makes a false statement of a material fact in 

any of the following: 

   a. the application for licensure; 
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   b. data forms; 

   c. clinical records; 

   d. matters under investigation by the 

department; 

   e. information submitted for reimbursement from 

any payment source; or 

   f. advertising; 

  12. conviction of a felony or entering a plea of 

guilty or nolo contendere to a felony by an owner, 

administrator, or director of clinical midwifery services, as 

evidenced by a certified copy of the conviction; 

  13. failure to comply with all reporting requirements 

in a timely manner as requested by the department; 

  14. failure to comply with the terms and provisions 

of a settlement agreement with the department or an educational 

letter; 

  15. failure to repay an identified overpayment to the 

department or failure to enter into a payment agreement to repay 

such overpayment; or 

  16. failure to timely pay outstanding fees, fines, 

sanctions or other debts owed to the department. 

 E. In the event an FSBC license is revoked, renewal is 

denied, or the license is surrendered in lieu of an adverse 

action, any owner, officer, member, manager, director, or 
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administrator of such FSBC is prohibited from owning, managing, 

directing, or operating another FSBC for a period of two years 

from the date of the final disposition of the revocation, denial 

action, or surrender. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6727. Notice and Appeal of Initial License Denial, License 

Revocation, or Denial of License Renewal 

 A. Notice of an initial license denial, license 

revocation, or denial of license renewal shall be given to the 

FSBC in writing. 

 B. The FSBC has a right to an administrative 

reconsideration of the initial license denial, license 

revocation, or denial of license renewal. There is no right to 

an informal reconsideration of a voluntary non-renewal or 

surrender of a license by the FSBC. 

  1. The request for the administrative 

reconsideration shall be submitted within 15 days of the receipt 

of the notice of the initial license denial, license revocation, 

or denial of license renewal. The request for administrative 

reconsideration shall be in writing and shall be forwarded to 

HSS. 
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  2. The request for administrative reconsideration 

shall include any documentation that demonstrates that the 

determination was made in error. 

  3. If a timely request for an administrative 

reconsideration is received by HSS, an administrative 

reconsideration shall be scheduled, and the FSBC will receive 

written notification of the date of the administrative 

reconsideration. 

  4. The FSBC shall have the right to appear in person 

at the administrative reconsideration and may be represented by 

counsel. 

  5. Correction of a violation or deficiency which is 

the basis for the initial license denial, revocation, or denial 

of license renewal shall not be a basis for reconsideration. 

  6. The administrative reconsideration process is not 

in lieu of the administrative appeals process. 

  7. The FSBC will be notified in writing of the 

results of the administrative reconsideration. 

 C. The FSBC has a right to an administrative appeal of 

the initial license denial, license revocation, or denial of 

license renewal. There is no right to an administrative appeal 

of a voluntary non-renewal or surrender of a license by the 

FSBC. 
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  1. The FSBC shall request the administrative appeal 

within 30 days of the receipt of the results of the 

administrative reconsideration. 

   a. The FSBC may forego its rights to an 

administrative reconsideration, and if so, shall request the 

administrative appeal within 30 days of the receipt of the 

notice of the initial license denial, license revocation, or 

denial of license renewal. 

  2. The request for administrative appeal shall be in 

writing and shall be submitted to the DAL. The request shall 

include any documentation that demonstrates that the 

determination was made in error and shall include the basis and 

specific reasons for the appeal. 

  3. Subject to the provisions in C.3.a. of this 

Section, if a timely request for an administrative appeal is 

received by the DAL, the administrative appeal of the license 

revocation or denial of license renewal shall be suspensive, and 

the FSBC shall be allowed to continue to operate and provide 

services until such time as the department issues a final 

administrative decision. 

   a. If the secretary of the department 

determines that the violations of the FSBC pose an imminent or 

immediate threat to the health, welfare, or safety of a client, 

the imposition of the license revocation or denial of license 
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renewal may be immediate and may be enforced during the pendency 

of the administrative appeal. If the secretary of the department 

makes such a determination, the FSBC will be notified in 

writing. 

  4. Correction of a violation or a deficiency which 

is the basis for the denial of initial licensure, revocation, or 

denial of license renewal shall not be a basis for an 

administrative appeal. 

 D. If an existing licensed FSBC has been issued a notice 

of license revocation, and the FSBC’s license is due for annual 

renewal, the department shall deny the license renewal 

application. The denial of the license renewal application does 

not affect, in any manner, the license revocation. 

 E. If a timely administrative appeal has been filed by 

the FSBC on an initial license denial, denial of license 

renewal, or license revocation, the DAL shall conduct the 

hearing in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

  1. If the final decision is to reverse the initial 

license denial, denial of license renewal or license revocation, 

the FSBC’s license will be reinstated or granted upon the 

payment of any licensing fees, outstanding sanctions, or other 

fees due to the department. 
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  2. If the final decision is to affirm the denial of 

license renewal or license revocation, the FSBC shall stop 

rendering services to clients. 

   a. Within 10 days of the final decision, the 

FSBC shall notify HSS, in writing, of the secure and 

confidential location where the client records will be stored. 

 F. There is no right to an informal reconsideration or an 

administrative appeal of the issuance of a provisional initial 

license to a new FSBC or the issuance of a provisional license 

to an existing FSBC. An FSBC that has been issued a provisional 

license is licensed and operational for the term of the 

provisional license. The issuance of a provisional license is 

not considered to be a denial of initial licensure, a denial of 

license renewal, or a license revocation. 

 G. An FSBC with a provisional initial license or an 

existing FSBC with a provisional license that expires due to 

noncompliance or deficiencies cited at the follow-up survey 

shall have the right to an informal reconsideration and the 

right to an administrative appeal of the validity of the 

deficiencies cited at the follow-up survey. 

  1. The correction of a violation, noncompliance, or 

deficiency after the follow-up survey shall not be the basis for 

the informal reconsideration or for the administrative appeal. 
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  2. The informal reconsideration and the 

administrative appeal are limited to whether the deficiencies 

were properly cited at the follow-up survey. 

  3. The FSBC shall request the informal 

reconsideration in writing, which shall be received by the HSS 

within five calendar days of receipt of the notice of the 

results of the follow-up survey from the department. 

  4. The FSBC shall request the administrative appeal 

within 15 days of receipt of the notice of the results of the 

follow-up survey from the department. The request for 

administrative appeal shall be in writing and shall be submitted 

to the DAL. 

  5. An FSBC with a provisional initial license or an 

existing FSBC with a provisional license that expires under the 

provisions of this Chapter shall cease providing services to 

clients unless the DAL issues a stay of the expiration. 

   a. The stay may be granted by the DAL upon 

application by the FSBC at the time the administrative appeal is 

filed and only after a contradictory hearing is held, and the 

FSBC shows that there is no potential harm to the clients being 

served by the FSBC. 

  6. If a timely administrative appeal has been filed 

by the FSBC with a provisional initial license that has expired, 

or by an existing FSBC whose provisional license has expired 
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under the provisions of this Chapter, the DAL shall conduct the 

hearing in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

   a. If the final decision is to remove all 

deficiencies, the FSBC’s license will be reinstated upon the 

payment of any outstanding sanctions and licensing or other fees 

due to the department. 

   b. If the final decision is to uphold the 

deficiencies thereby affirming the expiration of the provisional 

license, the FSBC shall cease rendering services to clients. 

    i. Within 10 days of the final decision, 

the FSBC shall notify HSS in writing of the secure and 

confidential location where the client records will be stored. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6729. Cessation of Business  

 A. Except as provided in §6787 and §6789 of these 

licensing regulations, a license shall be immediately null and 

void if an FSBC ceases to operate. 

 B. A cessation of business is deemed to be effective the 

date on which the FSBC stopped offering or providing services to 

the community. 
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 C. Upon the cessation of business, the FSBC shall 

immediately return the original license to the department. 

 D. Cessation of business is deemed to be a voluntary 

action on the part of the FSBC. The FSBC does not have a right 

to appeal a cessation of business. 

 E. The FSBC shall notify the department in writing 30 

days prior to the effective date of the closure or cessation. In 

addition to the notice, the FSBC shall submit a written plan for 

the disposition of client clinical records for approval by the 

department. The plan shall include the following: 

  1. the effective date of the closure; 

  2. provisions that comply with federal and state 

laws on storage, maintenance, access and confidentiality of the 

closed provider’s clients’ clinical records; and 

  3. appointed custodian(s) who shall provide the 

following: 

   a. access to records and copies of records to 

the client or authorized representative, upon presentation of 

proper authorization(s); and 

   b. physical and environmental security that 

protects the records against fire, water, intrusion, 

unauthorized access, loss and destruction; 

  4. public notice regarding access to records, in the 

newspaper with the largest circulation near the closing 
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provider, at least 15 days prior to the effective date of 

closure. 

 F. If an FSBC fails to follow these procedures, the 

owners, managers, officers, directors, and administrators may be 

prohibited from opening, managing, directing, operating, or 

owning an FSBC for a period of two years. 

 G. Once the FSBC has ceased doing business, the center 

shall not provide services until the FSBC has obtained a new 

initial license. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

Subchapter B. Administration and Organization 

§6735. Governing Body 

 A. An FSBC shall have an identifiable governing body with 

responsibility for, and authority over, the policies and 

activities of the FSBC, which shall include all contracts. The 

governing body is the ultimate governing authority of the FSBC 

and shall adopt bylaws which address its responsibilities. No 

contract or other arrangements shall limit or diminish the 

responsibilities of the governing body. 

 B. An FSBC shall have documents identifying the following 

information regarding the governing body: 
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  1. names and addresses of all members; 

  2. terms of membership; 

  3. officers of the governing body; and 

  4. terms of office for any officers. 

 C. The governing body shall be comprised of one or more 

persons and shall hold formal meetings at least twice a year. 

There shall be written minutes of all formal meetings, and the 

bylaws shall specify the frequency of meetings and quorum 

requirements. 

 D. The governing body of an FSBC shall: 

  1. ensure the FSBC’s continual compliance and 

conformity with all relevant federal, state, local, and 

municipal laws and regulations; 

  2. ensure that the FSBC is adequately funded and 

fiscally sound which entails: 

   a. verification of sufficient assets equal to 

$100,000 or the cost of three months of operation, whichever is 

less; or 

   b. a letter of credit issued from a federally 

insured, licensed lending institution in the amount of at least 

$50,000 or the cost of three months of operation, whichever is 

less; 

  3. review and approve the FSBC’s annual budget; 



49 

 

  4. designate a person to act as the administrator 

and delegate enough authority to this person to manage the day-

to-day operations of the FSBC; 

  5. annually evaluate the administrator’s 

performance; 

  6. have the authority to dismiss the administrator; 

  7. formulate and annually review, in consultation 

with the administrator, written policies and procedures 

concerning the FSBC’s philosophy, goals, current services, 

personnel practices, job descriptions, fiscal management, and 

contracts: 

   a. the FSBC’s written policies and procedures 

shall be maintained within the FSBC and made available to all 

staff during hours of operation; 

  8. determine, in accordance with state law, which 

licensed healthcare practitioners are eligible candidates for 

appointment to the FSBC staff; 

  9. ensure and maintain quality of care, inclusive of 

a quality assurance/performance improvement process that 

measures client, process, and structural (e.g. system) outcome 

indicators to enhance client care; 

  10. ensure that birthing procedures shall not be 

performed in areas other than the birthing rooms; 
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  11. ensure that birthing procedures are initiated in 

accordance with acceptable standards of practice. 

  12. meet with designated representatives of the 

department whenever required to do so; 

  13. inform the department, or its designee, prior to 

initiating any substantial changes in the services provided by 

the FSBC; and 

  14. ensure that pursuant to R.S. 40:1191.2, prior to 

the final disposition of a miscarried child, but not more than 

24 hours after a miscarriage occurs in an FSBC, the FSBC shall 

notify the client, or if the client is incapacitated, the spouse 

of the client, both orally and in writing, of both of the 

following: 

   a. the parent's right to arrange for the final 

disposition of the miscarried child using the notice of parental 

rights form as provided for in R.S. 40:1191.3; and 

    b. the availability of a chaplain or other 

counseling services concerning the death of the miscarried 

child, if such services are provided by the FSBC. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6737. Policies and Procedures  
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 A. An FSBC shall develop, implement, and maintain written 

policies and procedures governing all services rendered at the 

FSBC. The FSBC shall comply with all federal and state laws, 

rules, and regulations in the development and implementation of 

its policies and procedures. 

 B. All policies and procedures shall be reviewed at least 

annually and revised as needed. 

 C. Direct care staff shall have access to information 

concerning clients that is necessary for effective performance 

of the employee’s assigned tasks. 

 D. The FSBC shall have written policies and procedures 

for the maintenance and security of records, specifying who 

shall supervise the maintenance of records, who shall have 

custody of records, and to whom records may be released. 

 E. The FSBC shall allow designated representatives of the 

department, in the performance of their mandated duties, to: 

  1. inspect all aspects of an FSBC’s operations which 

directly or indirectly impact clients; and 

  2. interview any staff member or client. 

 F. An FSBC shall make any required information or 

records, and any information reasonably related to assessment of 

compliance with these provisions, available to the department. 
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 G. An FSBC shall, upon request by the department, make 

available the legal ownership documents and any other legal 

contracts or agreements in place. 

 H. The FSBC shall have written policies and procedures 

approved by the governing body, which shall be implemented and 

followed, that address, at a minimum, the following: 

  1. confidentiality and confidentiality agreements; 

  2. security of files; 

  3. publicity and marketing, including the 

prohibition of illegal or coercive inducement, solicitation, and 

kickbacks; 

  4. personnel; 

  5. client rights; 

  6. grievance procedures; 

  7. emergency preparedness; 

  8. abuse and neglect; 

  9. incidents and accidents, including clinical 

emergencies; 

  10. universal precautions; 

  11. documentation, whether electronic or in paper 

form; 

  12. admission and discharge policies and procedures, 

inclusive of criteria for admission to, continuation in, and 

transfer out, of the FSBC; 
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  13. hours outside of stated usual and customary 

operation, including, but not limited to early closures, 

extended business hours, and holidays; and 

  14. conditions for coverage, if applicable. 

 I. An FSBC shall have written personnel policies, which 

shall be implemented and followed, that include: 

  1. written job descriptions for each staff position, 

including volunteers; 

  2. policies which provide for staff, upon offer of 

employment, to have a health assessment as defined by the FSBC 

and in accordance with LAC Title 51, Public Health-Sanitary Code 

requirements; 

  3. policies which verify that all clinic employees, 

including contracted personnel, prior to, and at the time of 

employment and annually thereafter, shall be free of 

tuberculosis in a communicable state, in accordance with the 

current LAC Title 51, Public Health-Sanitary Code; 

  4. an employee grievance procedure; 

  5. abuse reporting procedures that require all 

employees to report any incidents of abuse or mistreatment, 

whether that abuse or mistreatment is done by another staff 

member, a family member, a client, or any other person; 

  6. a written policy to prevent discrimination; and 
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  7. a written policy to address prohibited use of 

social media. The policy shall ensure that all staff, either 

contracted or directly employed, receive training relative to 

the restrictive use of social media and include, at a minimum, 

ensuring confidentiality of client information and preservation 

of client dignity and respect, including protection of client 

privacy and personal and property rights. 

 J. The FSBC shall maintain, in force at all times, the 

requirements for financial viability under this Chapter. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

Subchapter C. Admissions, Transfers and Discharges 

§6743. Prohibitions to Admission or Continued Care in an FSBC 

 A. The FSBC shall not knowingly accept or thereafter 

maintain responsibility for the prenatal or intrapartum care of 

a woman who: 

  1. has had a previous cesarean section or other 

known uterine surgery such as hysterotomy or myomectomy; 

  2. has a history of difficult to control hemorrhage 

with previous deliveries; 

  3. has a history of thromboembolism, deep vein 

thromboembolism, or pulmonary embolism; 
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  4. is prescribed medication for diabetes, or has 

hypertension, Rh disease isoimmunization with positive titer, 

active tuberculosis, active syphilis, active gonorrhea, HIV 

positive or is otherwise immunocompromised, epilepsy, hepatitis, 

heart disease, kidney disease, or blood dyscrasia; 

  5. contracts primary genital herpes simplex during 

the pregnancy or manifests active genital herpes during the last 

four weeks of pregnancy; 

  6. has a contracted pelvis; 

  7. has severe psychiatric illness or a history of 

severe psychiatric illness in the six-month period prior to 

pregnancy; 

  8. has been prescribed narcotics in excess of three 

months during the pregnancy or is addicted to narcotics or other 

drugs; 

  9. ingests more than 2 ounces of alcohol or 24 

ounces of beer a day on a regular day or participates in binge 

drinking; 

  10. smokes 20 cigarettes or more per day, and is not 

likely to cease in pregnancy; 

  11. has a multiple gestation; 

  12. has a fetus of less than 37 weeks gestation at 

the onset of labor; 

  13. has a gestation beyond 42 weeks by dates; 
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  14. has a fetus in any presentation other than vertex 

at the onset of labor; 

  15. has a fetus with suspected or diagnosed 

congenital anomalies that may require immediate medical 

intervention; 

  16. has preeclampsia; 

  17. has a parity greater than five; 

  18. is younger than 16 or a primipara older than 40; 

  19. has been taking medications known to cause 

Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome; 

  20. has history of congenital heart disease; 

  21. has history of cardiac surgery(ies); or 

  22. labors greater than the 12-18 hours after rupture 

of membranes with no cervical change. 

 B. A licensed healthcare practitioner shall not knowingly 

render FSBC services outside of their scope of practice. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6745. Admissions and Assessments 

 A. Each FSBC shall have written admission and assessment 

policies and criteria in accordance with the licensed healthcare 

practitioner’s scope of practice. The FSBC shall have 
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policies/procedures and written criteria for the evaluation of 

risk status, admission, transfer, discharge, and complications 

requiring medical or surgical intervention. The policies and 

procedures and written criteria shall be developed, implemented, 

enforced, monitored, and reviewed annually by the clinical staff 

and approved by the governing body. 

 B.  An FSBC shall ensure that each client has the 

appropriate pre-natal and postpartum assessments completed, 

inclusive of suitability for less than 23-hour timeframe of 

client stay, ability of the FSBC to provide services needed in 

the postpartum period in accordance with the prescribed plan of 

care, and discharge plans to home or another licensed facility 

setting. 

 C. The history and physical assessment prior to delivery 

shall specify that the client is clinically cleared for delivery 

in an FSBC and meets the requirements for FSBC services and this 

Chapter pursuant to applicable state statutes. 

 D. Upon admission, each client shall have a perinatal 

assessment completed by qualified personnel. The perinatal 

assessment shall include, at a minimum: 

  1.  an updated clinical record entry documenting an 

examination for any changes in the client’s condition since 

completion of the most recently documented clinical history and 

physical assessment; 
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  2.  documentation of any known allergies to drugs 

and/or biological agents; and 

  3. documentation of a standardized risk assessment 

for postpartum hemorrhage. 

 E. The client’s clinical history and physical assessment 

shall be placed in the client’s clinical record. 

 F. The client’s postpartum condition shall be assessed 

and documented in the clinical record by qualified personnel in 

accordance with applicable state health and safety laws, FSBC 

policies, and standards of practice. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6747. Required Newborn Care 

 A. Each delivery shall be attended by two qualified 

personnel currently trained in: 

  1. adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation equivalent to 

American Heart Association Class C Basic Life Support; 

  2. Neonatal Resuscitation Program endorsed by 

American Academy of Pediatrics/American Heart Association; and 

  3. advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) 

certification in accordance with national accreditation 

standards. 
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 B. The licensed healthcare practitioner shall be 

responsible for care of the newborn immediately following the 

delivery only. Subsequent infant care should be managed by a 

pediatrician or primary care physician. This does not preclude 

the licensed healthcare practitioner from providing counseling 

regarding routine newborn care and breastfeeding and arranging 

for the neonatal tests required by state law. If any abnormality 

is suspected, the newborn shall be sent for medical evaluation 

as soon as possible. 

 C. The licensed healthcare practitioner shall ensure that 

Vitamin K is available at the time of delivery and take 

appropriate measures designed to prevent neonatal hemorrhage. 

 D. The licensed healthcare practitioner is responsible 

for ensuring that all neonatal tests required by state law are 

performed, in the timeframe as delineated by the law. If the 

parents object to such tests being performed on the infant, the 

licensed healthcare practitioner shall document this objection 

in the client’s chart, notify and refer the newborn to the 

infant’s pediatrician or primary care physician, and notify the 

appropriate authorities. 

 E. The licensed healthcare practitioner shall leave clear 

instructions for follow-up care, including signs and symptoms of 

conditions that require medical evaluation, especially fever, 

irritability, generalized rash, and lethargy. 
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 F. The licensed healthcare practitioner shall be 

responsible for performing a glucose check for a newborn for 

conditions as recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics. 

 G. The FSBC shall have a policy for oral glucose 

administration for the infant who does not respond to 

supplemental feedings in accordance with current standards of 

practice. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6749. Physician Evaluation of Newborn  

 A. The licensed healthcare practitioner shall recommend 

that any infant delivered by the licensed healthcare 

practitioner be evaluated by a pediatrician or primary care 

physician within three days of age or sooner if it becomes 

apparent that the newborn needs medical attention for problems 

associated with, but not limited to, congenital or other 

anomalies. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6751. Required Physician Consultation, Postpartum Period  
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 A. The licensed healthcare practitioner shall obtain 

emergent medical consultation or refer for emergent medical care 

any woman who, during the postpartum period: 

  1. has a third-degree or fourth-degree perineal 

laceration; 

  2. has uterine atony; 

  3. bleeds in an amount greater than 500 milliliters 

and still continuing to bleed; 

  4. does not urinate or empty her genitourinary 

bladder within two hours of birth; 

  5. develops a fever greater than 100.4 degrees 

Fahrenheit or 38 degrees Centigrade on any two of the first 10 

days postpartum, excluding the first 24 hours; 

   6. develops foul smelling lochia; or 

   7. develops blood pressure below 100/50 if pulse 

exceeds 100, pallor, cold clammy skin, and/or weak pulse. 

 B. The licensed healthcare practitioner shall obtain 

emergent medical consultation or refer for emergent medical care 

any infant who: 

  1. has an Apgar score of seven or less at five 

minutes; 

  2. has any obvious anomaly; 

  3. develops grunting respirations, retractions, or 

cyanosis; 
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  4. has cardiac irregularities; 

  5. has a pale, cyanotic, or grey color; 

  6. develops jaundice within 48 hours of birth; 

  7. has an abnormal cry; 

  8. weighs less than 5 pounds or weighs more than 10 

pounds; 

  9. shows signs of prematurity, dysmaturity, or post 

maturity; 

  10. has meconium staining of the placenta, cord, 

and/or infant with signs or symptoms of aspiration pneumonia; 

  11. does not urinate or pass meconium in the first 24 

hours after birth; 

  12. is lethargic or does not feed well; 

  13. has edema; 

  14. appears weak or flaccid, has abnormal feces, or 

appears not to be normal in any other respect; 

  15. has persistent temperature below 97 degrees 

Fahrenheit per FSBC policy; 

  16. has jitteriness not resolved after feeding; or 

  17. has a blood glucose level of less than 45mg/dL. 

 C. The FSBC shall develop, implement, and enforce written 

policies to provide follow-up postpartum care to the newborn and 

the mother either directly or by referral. Follow up care may be 

provided in the FSBC, at the mother’s residence, by telephone, 
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or by a combination of these methods in accordance with accepted 

standards of practice. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

Subchapter D. Service Delivery 

§6757. Perinatal Services 

 A. Perinatal services shall be well organized and 

provided in accordance with current acceptable national 

standards of practice adopted from national associations or 

organizations. 

 B. Birthing rooms shall be located to address privacy 

during occupancy for labor, birth, and postpartum care. 

 C. The FSBC shall ensure that the deliveries do not 

exceed the capabilities of the FSBC, and any length of client 

care does not exceed 23 hours post-delivery. 

 D. Except for the requirements of §6747.A. specific to 

deliveries, at least one licensed healthcare practitioner shall 

be immediately available whenever there is a client in the FSBC 

and shall have been trained in: 

  1. the use of emergency equipment; 

  2. adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation equivalent to 

American Heart Association Class C Basic Life Support; 
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  3. Neonatal Resuscitation Program endorsed by 

American Academy of Pediatrics/American Heart Association; and 

  4. certified in advanced cardiac life support 

(ACLS). 

 E. A roster of licensed healthcare practitioners, 

specifying the delivery privileges of each, shall be kept in the 

FSBC and available to all staff. 

 F. Approved policies shall define which delivery 

procedures require a licensed healthcare practitioner who is 

acting within their scope of practice. 

 G. A birthing room register shall be accurately 

maintained and kept up-to-date and complete. This register shall 

be maintained for a six-year period. The register shall include, 

at a minimum, the: 

  1. client’s complete name; 

  2. client’s FSBC individual identification number; 

  3. licensed healthcare practitioner’s name; 

  4. date and time of the delivery; and 

  5. type of delivery performed. 

 H. There shall be enough staff assigned to the postpartum 

care area to meet the needs of the clients. At a minimum, one 

qualified licensed healthcare practitioner shall be onsite and 

available for the length of any client stay in the FSBC. 



65 

 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40: 2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6759. Transfer Agreements and Client Transfers 

 A. The FSBC shall secure a written transfer agreement 

with at least one receiving hospital in the community with 

policies and procedures for timely transport. 

 B. If the FSBC is not able to secure a written transfer 

agreement, the licensed healthcare practitioner shall be 

responsible for the safe and immediate transfer of the patients 

from the FSBC to a hospital when a higher level of care is 

indicated. 

C. The FSBC shall be responsible for developing written 

policies and procedures for the safe transfer of patients and 

coordination of admission, when necessary, into an inpatient 

facility. The written policy shall include, but not be limited 

to: 

  1. identification of the FSBC personnel who shall be 

responsible for the coordination of admission into an inpatient 

facility; 

  2. procedures for security inpatient services; and 

  3. procedures for the procurement of the pertinent 

and necessary copies of the patient’s medical record that will 
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be sent with the transferring patient so that the information 

may be included in the patient’s inpatient medical record. 

 D. The FSBC shall be located within 20 minutes' transport 

time to a general acute care hospital providing obstetric 

services 24 hours per day and 7 days a week, with which the FSBC 

has a written transfer agreement.  The FSBC shall maintain a 

contractual relationship with the general acute care hospital, 

including a written transfer agreement, which allows for an 

emergency caesarian delivery to begin within 30 minutes of the 

decision made by a licensed obstetrician at the receiving 

hospital that a caesarian delivery is necessary. 

 E. The licensed healthcare practitioner shall accompany 

any mother or infant requiring hospitalization to the hospital, 

giving any pertinent written records and verbal report to the 

physician assuming care. If possible, the licensed healthcare 

practitioner should remain with the mother and/or infant to 

ascertain outcome. In those instances where it is necessary to 

continue providing necessary care to the party remaining in the 

FSBC, the licensed healthcare practitioner may turn over the 

care of the transport of mother or child to qualified emergency 

or hospital personnel. All necessary written records shall be 

forwarded with such personnel and a verbal report must be given. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40: 2180.21-2180.28. 
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 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6761. Discharges. 

 A. Each FSBC shall have written discharge policies and 

procedures. The written description of discharge policies shall 

be provided to the department upon request and made available to 

the client or his/her legal representative. The FSBC shall 

ensure that all elements of the discharge requirements are 

completed. 

 B The mother and newborn shall not be discharged less 

than two hours from time of delivery of the placenta. 

 C. The postpartum needs of each client shall be addressed 

and documented in the discharge notes. 

 D. Upon discharge, the FSBC shall: 

  1. provide each client with written discharge 

instructions, including written guidelines detailing how the 

client may get emergency assistance for herself and her newborn; 

  2. provide each client with all supplies deemed 

clinically necessary per the discharge orders, excluding 

medications; 

  3. coordinate care with a licensed healthcare 

practitioner and/or provide care and support during the 

immediate and no later than 36 hours of birth including, but not 

limited to: 
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   a. maternal and newborn assessments and follow-

up plans; 

   b. current recommended newborn screenings; 

   c. breastfeeding support and referral; 

   d. screening for postpartum mental health 

issues; 

   e. psychosocial assessment; 

   f. family planning services; and 

   g. referral for ongoing health issues 

  4. ensure that all clients are informed, either in 

advance of their delivery or prior to leaving the FSBC, of the 

following: 

   a. necessary prescriptions; 

   b. postpartum instructions that includes but is 

not limited to the following post-birth warning signs: 

       i. P-pain in your chest; 

      ii. O-obstructed breathing or 

shortness of breath; 

     iii. S-seizures; 

      iv. T-thoughts of hurting yourself or 

your baby; 

       v. B-bleeding that is soaking through 

one pad/hour, or blood clots the size of an egg or bigger; 

      vi. I-incision that is not healing; 



69 

 

     vii. R-red or swollen leg that is 

painful or warm to touch; 

    viii. T-temperature of 100.4 degrees 

Fahrenheit or higher; and 

      ix. H-headache that does not improve, 

even after taking medicine for relief, or a bad headache with 

vision changes; and 

   c. licensed healthcare practitioner(s) contact 

information for follow-up care of the mother and her newborn. 

 E. The FSBC shall ensure that each client has a discharge 

order signed by the licensed healthcare practitioner who 

performed the delivery; 

 F. The FSBC shall ensure and document that all clients 

are discharged in the company of a responsible adult, except 

those clients exempted by the attending licensed healthcare 

practitioner. Such exemptions shall be specific and documented 

for individual clients. Blanket exemptions are prohibited. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40: 2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

Subchapter E. Facility Responsibilities 

§6767. General Provisions 
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 A. FSBCs shall comply and show proof of compliance with 

all relevant federal, state, and local rules and regulations. It 

is the FSBC’s responsibility to secure the necessary approvals 

from the following entities: 

  1. HSS; 

  2. OSFM architectural and licensing plan review; 

  3. OPH; 

  4. OSFM Life Safety Code inspection; and 

  5. the applicable local governing authority (e.g., 

zoning, building department or permit office). 

 B. The administrator, or designee, shall be accessible to 

FSBC staff or designated representatives of the department any 

time there is a client in the FSBC. 

 C. An FSBC shall have qualified staff sufficient in 

number to meet the needs of clients and to ensure provision of 

services. 

 D. The FSBC shall develop and maintain documentation of 

an orientation program for all employees, either contact or 

staff, that is of sufficient scope and duration to inform the 

individual about his/her responsibilities, how to fulfill them, 

review of policies and procedures, job descriptions, competency 

evaluations and performance expectations. An orientation program 

and documented competency evaluation and/or job expectations of 
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assigned or reassigned duties shall be conducted prior to any 

assignments or reassignments. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6769. Staffing Requirements 

 A. Administrative Staff. The following administrative 

staff is required for all FSBCs: 

  1. a qualified administrator at each licensed 

geographic location who shall meet the qualifications as 

established in these provisions; 

  2. other administrative staff as necessary to 

operate the FSBC and to properly safeguard the health, safety, 

and welfare of the clients receiving services; and 

  3. an administrative staff person on-call and 

available via telecommunication after routine daytime or office 

hours for the length of any client stay in the FSBC. 

 B. Administrator 

  1. Each FSBC shall have a qualified administrator 

who is a full-time on-site employee responsible for the day-to-

day management, supervision, and operation of the FSBC. 

  2. Any current administrator employed by a licensed 

FSBC, at the time these licensing provisions are adopted and 
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become effective, shall be deemed to meet the qualifications of 

the position of administrator as long as that individual holds 

his/her current position. If that individual leaves his/her 

current position, he/she shall be required to meet the 

qualifications stated in these licensing provisions to be re-

employed into such a position. 

  3. The administrator shall meet the following 

qualifications: 

   a. possess a college degree from an accredited 

university; and 

   b. have one year of previous work experience 

involving administrative duties in a healthcare facility. 

  4. Changes in the administrator shall be reported to 

the department within 10 days of the change on the appropriate 

form designated by the department. 

 C. The director of clinical midwifery services shall:   

  1. have a current, unrestricted Louisiana license as 

a physician, a CNM, or a licensed midwife; 

  2. be in good standing with the applicable state 

licensing board; and 

  3. shall have a minimum of one-year experience in a 

healthcare setting and possess the knowledge, skills and 

experience consistent with the complexity and scope of delivery 

services provided by the FSBC; 
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   a. the director of clinical midwifery services 

holding dual administrative/midwifery director roles shall meet 

the qualifications of each role; and 

   b. changes in the director of clinical 

midwifery services shall be reported in writing to the 

department within 10 days of the change on the appropriate form 

designated by the department. 

 D. Responsibilities of the administrator and the director 

of clinical midwifery services. The administrator and the 

director of clinical midwifery services shall develop, adopt, 

implement, and monitor the policies and procedures of the FSBC 

and the professional services of the staff. The staff bylaws 

shall be maintained within the FSBC. The bylaws and rules shall 

contain provisions for at least the following: 

  1. developing the structure of the licensed 

healthcare practitioner staff, including qualified personnel and 

categories of membership; 

  2. developing, implementing, and monitoring policies 

and procedures to review credentials, at least every two years, 

and to delineate and recommend approval for individual 

privileges; 

  3. developing, implementing, and monitoring policies 

and procedures to ensure that all licensed healthcare 

practitioner staff possess current and unrestricted Louisiana 
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licenses and that each member of the licensed practitioner staff 

is in good standing with his/her respective licensing board; 

  4. providing recommendations to the governing body 

for membership to the licensed healthcare practitioner staff 

with initial appointments and reappointments not to exceed two 

years; 

  5. developing, implementing, and monitoring policies 

and procedures for the suspension and/or termination of 

membership to the licensed healthcare practitioner staff; 

  6. developing, implementing, and monitoring criteria 

and frequency for review and evaluation of past performance of 

its individual staff members. This process shall include 

monitoring and evaluation of the quality of client care provided 

by each individual; 

  7. the appointment of committees as deemed 

appropriate; 

  8. reviewing and making recommendations for 

revisions to all policy and procedures at least annually; and 

  9. meeting at least semi-annually. One of these 

meetings shall be designated as the official annual meeting. A 

record of attendance and minutes of all licensed healthcare 

practitioner staff meetings shall be maintained within the FSBC. 

 E. Licensed Healthcare Practitioner Staff 
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  1. The FSBC shall have an organized licensed 

healthcare practitioner staff, inclusive of one or more of the 

following, who shall attend each woman in labor from the time of 

admission through birth and the immediate postpartum period: 

   a. a licensed obstetrician; 

   b. a certified nurse midwife; or 

   c. a licensed midwife. 

  2. A licensed obstetrician providing birthing 

services within the FSBC shall: 

   a. hold a current, unrestricted state license 

issued by the LSBME; 

   b. be actively engaged in a clinical 

obstetrical practice; 

   c.  have hospital privileges in obstetrics in a 

hospital accredited by the Joint Commission; and 

   d. practice within the scope of practice of a 

licensed physician in accordance with applicable state statutes 

and regulations. 

  3. A CNM or LM providing birthing services within 

the FSBC shall be a licensed healthcare practitioner who is 

acting within the scope of practice of his/her respective 

licensing board(s) and/or certifications. 

  4. All licensed practitioner staff shall be 

accountable to the governing body for the quality of all 
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perinatal care provided to clients and newborns, and for the 

ethical and professional practices of its members. 

  5. The licensed healthcare practitioner staff shall 

be legally and professionally qualified for the positions to 

which they are appointed and for the performance of privileges 

granted. 

  6. A licensed healthcare practitioner staff shall 

remain within the FSBC until all clients are assessed as stable. 

  7. The client’s attending licensed healthcare 

practitioner staff, or designated on-call licensed healthcare 

practitioner staff, shall be available by telephone for 

consultation and evaluation of the client, and available to be 

onsite within 30 minutes if needed, until the client is 

discharged from the FSBC. 

  8. Each client admitted to the FSBC shall be under 

the professional supervision of a member of the FSBC’s licensed 

healthcare practitioner staff who shall assess, supervise, and 

evaluate the care of the client. 

  9. Credentialing files for each staff shall be kept 

current and maintained within the FSBC at all times. 

 F. Delivery Services Staff. The staffing pattern shall 

provide for sufficient qualified personnel and for adequate 

supervision and direction by licensed healthcare practitioners 
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consistent with the number of deliveries performed and 

throughout the length of any client stay in the FSBC. 

  1. Delivery services shall be under the direction of 

a licensed healthcare practitioner that includes a plan of 

administrative authority with written delineation of 

responsibilities and duties for each category of staff members. 

  2. The FSBC shall ensure that the delivery services 

are directed under the leadership of licensed healthcare 

practitioner(s) sufficient in number, and on duty at all times 

that the FSBC is in operation and a client is in the center, to 

plan, assign, supervise, and evaluate delivery services, as well 

as to give clients the high-quality care that requires the 

judgment and specialized skills of licensed healthcare 

practitioners. 

   a. There shall be sufficient staff with the 

appropriate qualifications to assure ongoing assessment of 

clients' needs and that these identified needs are addressed. 

The number and types of staff is determined by the volume and 

types of delivery the FSBC performs. 

  3. All licensed healthcare practitioners employed, 

contracted, or working with the FSBC shall have a current, 

unrestricted, and valid Louisiana license to practice. 

Nonprofessional or unlicensed qualified personnel employed, 
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contracted, and performing delivery care services shall be under 

the supervision of a licensed healthcare practitioner. 

  4. There shall be, at minimum, one licensed 

practitioner with ACLS certification on duty, in the building, 

and immediately available at any time there is a client in the 

FSBC in accordance with national accreditation standards. 

  5. A formalized program on in-service training shall 

be developed and implemented for all categories of the FSBC 

staff. Training shall be required on a quarterly basis related 

to required job skills. 

   a. Documentation of such in-service training 

shall be maintained on-site in the FSBC’s files. Documentation 

shall include the: 

      i. training content; 

     ii. date and time of the training; 

    iii. names and signatures of personnel in 

attendance; and 

     iv. name of the presenter(s). 

  6. General staffing provisions for the delivery 

rooms shall be the following: 

   a. each delivery procedure shall be performed 

by a licensed healthcare practitioner; and 

   b. appropriately trained qualified personnel 

may perform assistive functions during each delivery procedure. 
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 G. General Personnel Requirements 

  1. All licensed qualified personnel and FSBC 

employees, including contracted personnel shall meet and comply 

with these personnel requirements. 

  2. All licensed qualified personnel and FSBC 

employees, including contracted personnel, prior to and at the 

time of employment and annually thereafter, shall be verified to 

be free of tuberculosis in a communicable state in accordance 

with the FSBC’s policies and procedures and the current Centers 

for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the OPH 

recommendations. 

  3. All unlicensed qualified personnel involved in 

direct client care and/or services shall be supervised by a 

licensed healthcare practitioner. 

  4. A personnel file shall be maintained within the 

FSBC on every employee, including contracted employees. Policies 

and procedures shall be developed to determine the contents of 

each personnel file. At a minimum, all personnel files shall 

include the following: 

   a. an application; 

   b. current verification of professional 

licensure; 

   c. healthcare screenings as defined by the 

FSBC; 
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   d. orientation and competency verification; 

   e. annual performance evaluations; 

   f. criminal background checks for unlicensed 

staff, prior to offer of direct or contract employment, after 

the effective date of this Rule, as applicable and in accordance 

with state law. The criminal background check shall be conducted 

statewide by the Louisiana State Police or its authorized agent; 

and 

   g. any other screenings required of new 

applicants by state law. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6771. Medications for Mother and Newborn  

 A. The licensed healthcare practitioners may administer 

and/or order medications in accordance with their scope of 

practice and licensing regulations. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6773. Clinical Records 
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 A. Each FSBC shall make provisions for securing clinical 

records of all media types, whether stored electronically or in 

paper form. The identified area or equipment shall be secured to 

maintain confidentiality of client records and shall be 

restricted to staff movement and remote from treatment and 

public areas. 

 B. All client records shall be protected from loss or 

damage. 

 C. The FSBC shall have a designated area located within 

the FSBC which shall provide for the proper storage, protection 

and security for all clinical records and documents. 

 D. The FSBC shall develop and maintain a unique clinical 

record for each client admitted and/or treated. Records may 

exist in hard copy, electronic format or a combination thereof. 

 E. The FSBC shall ensure the confidentiality of client 

records, including information in a computerized clinical record 

system, in accordance with the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act (HIPAA) regulations and any state laws, rules 

and regulations. 

  1. If computerized records are used, the FSBC shall 

develop: 

   a. a back-up system for retrieval of critical 

clinical records; 
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   b. safeguards/firewalls to prevent unauthorized 

use and access to information; and 

   c. safeguards/firewalls to prevent alterations 

of electronic records. 

 F. A unique clinical record shall be maintained for every 

client admitted and/or treated. 

 G. The following data shall be documented and included as 

part of each client’s basic clinical record: 

  1. unique client identification; 

  2. admission and discharge date(s) and times of 

mother and infant; 

  3. clinical and social history; 

  4. physical examination notes of mother and infant 

in accordance with clinical staff bylaws, policies and 

procedures; 

  5. diagnosis(es); 

  6. licensed practitioner’s orders; 

  7. clinical laboratory report(s), if any; 

  8. pathology report(s), if any; 

  9. radiological report(s), if any; 

  10. consultation report(s), when appropriate; 

  11. delivery and treatment regimen; 

  12. licensed practitioner’s progress notes; 
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  13. nurses’ records of care provided, and medications 

administered, if any; 

  14. authorizations, consents, or releases; 

  15. delivery report; 

  16. medication record to include, but not limited to: 

   a. type of medication or local anesthetic, if 

used; 

   b. route of medication administered, if any; 

   c. person administering the medication or local 

anesthetic, if used; and 

   d. post-medication assessment, when 

appropriate; 

  17. name(s) of the treating licensed practitioner(s); 

  18. start and end time of the delivery procedure and 

time of birth of infant; 

  19. a current informed consent for delivery procedure 

and local anesthetics that includes the following:  

   a. name of the client; 

   b. client individual identification number; 

   c. name of the procedure being performed; 

   d. reasonable and foreseeable risks and 

benefits; 

   e. name of the licensed healthcare 

practitioner(s) who will perform the procedure or delivery; 
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   f. signature of client or legal guardian or 

individual designated as having power of attorney for clinical 

decisions on behalf of the client, if any; 

   g. date and time the consent was obtained; and 

   h. signature and professional credential of the 

person witnessing the consent; 

  20. delivery procedures report(s); 

  21. client education and discharge instructions; and 

  22. a discharge summary, including: 

   a. licensed healthcare practitioner progress 

notes; and  

   b. discharge notes. 

 H. The clinical records shall be under the custody of the 

FSBC and maintained in its original, electronic, microfilmed or 

similarly reproduced form for a minimum period of 10 years from 

the date a client is discharged. The FSBC shall provide a means 

to view or reproduce the record in whatever format it is stored. 

 I. Clinical records may be removed from the premises for 

computerized scanning for the purpose of storage. Contracts, for 

the specific purpose of scanning at a location other than the 

FSBC, shall include provisions addressing how: 

  1. the clinical record shall be secured from loss or 

theft or destruction by water, fire, etc.; and 

  2. confidentiality shall be maintained. 
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 J. Clinical records may be stored off-site provided that: 

  1. the confidentiality and security of the clinical 

records are maintained; and 

  2. a 12-month period has lapsed since the client was 

last treated in the FSBC. 

 K. Each clinical entry and all orders shall be signed by 

the licensed healthcare practitioner(s) and shall include the 

date and time. Clinical entries and any observations made by the 

licensed healthcare practitioner(s) shall be signed by the 

licensed healthcare practitioner and shall include the date and 

time. 

  1. If electronic signatures are used, the FSBC shall 

develop a procedure to assure the confidentiality of each 

electronic signature and shall prohibit the improper or 

unauthorized use of any computer-generated signature. 

  2. Signature stamps shall not be used. 

 L. All pertinent observations, treatments, and 

medications given to a client shall be entered in the staff 

notes as part of the clinical record. All other notes relative 

to specific instructions from the licensed practitioner shall be 

recorded. 

 M. Completion of the clinical record shall be the 

responsibility of the admitting licensed healthcare practitioner 

within 30 days of client discharge. 



86 

 

 N. All hardcopy entries into the clinical record shall be 

legible and accurately written in ink. The recording person 

shall sign the entry to the record and include the date and time 

of entry. If a computerized clinical records system is used, all 

entries shall be authenticated, dated and timed, complete, 

properly filed and retained, accessible and reproducible. 

 O. Written orders signed by a member of the licensed 

healthcare practitioner staff shall be required for all 

medications and treatments administered to clients and shall 

include the date and time ordered. Verbal orders shall include 

read-back verification. All verbal orders shall be authenticated 

by the ordering licensed healthcare practitioner within 48 hours 

to include the signature of the ordering licensed healthcare 

practitioner, date and time. 

 P. The use of standing orders is prohibited. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6774. Other Records and Reports 

 A. The following indexes, records and registers shall be 

required of the licensed FSBC: 

  1. a client’s register; 

  2. a birthing room register; 
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  3. a birth register; 

  4. daily census report of admissions and discharges; 

  5. records of reportable diseases, if any, as 

required by state and/or federal regulations; 

  6. a laboratory log denoting laboratory specimen(s) 

that are sent for pathology interpretation, if any, and a CLIA 

certificate in accordance with the type laboratory procedures 

conducted in the center; 

   a. the laboratory log shall include, at a 

minimum, the following information: 

      i. the client’s name; 

     ii. the specimen site; and 

    iii. the date the specimen was sent for 

pathology interpretation; 

  7. mortality records, including in the event of a 

miscarried child. 

 B. Nothing in this Chapter is intended to preclude the 

use of automated or centralized computer systems or any other 

techniques provided the regulations stated herein are met. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6775. Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement 
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 A. The governing body shall ensure that there is an 

implemented, maintained, effective, written, data-driven, and 

ongoing program designed to assess and improve the quality of 

client care. This program shall include all services, provided 

directly or through contract. 

 B. The governing body shall ensure that it allocates 

sufficient staff, time, information systems, and training to 

implement the quality assurance and performance improvement 

(QAPI) program and for participation in the state perinatal 

quality collaborative, which is under the authority of the 

Louisiana Commission on Perinatal Care and Prevention on Infant 

Mortality, defined as reporting perinatal measures determined by 

the Louisiana Commission on Perinatal Care and Prevention on 

Infant Mortality. 

 C. The FSBC shall ensure there is a written quality 

assurance plan for assessing and improving quality of care that 

is focused on problem-prone areas, and which specifies the 

intervals that the FSBC shall actively collect data related to 

the quality indicators and show participation in the state 

perinatal quality collaborative as required. Performance 

improvement activities shall consider incidence, prevalence, and 

severity of problems and those that can affect health outcomes, 

client safety, and quality of care. The plan shall describe the 

system for overseeing and analyzing the effectiveness of 
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monitoring, evaluation, and sustained improvement activities. 

All services related to client care, including services 

furnished by a contractor shall be evaluated. 

 D. Nosocomial infections, client care outcomes, and 

perinatal and newborn care services performed in the FSBC shall 

be evaluated as they relate to appropriateness of care and 

services rendered. 

 E. The services provided by each licensed healthcare 

practitioner with FSBC privileges shall be periodically 

evaluated to determine whether they are of an acceptable level 

of quality and appropriateness in accordance with clinical staff 

bylaws/rules and regulations. 

 F. The QAPI program shall monitor, identify, and develop 

a plan for elimination of medication errors and adverse client 

(mother and infant) events. 

 G. Corrective actions to problems identified through the 

QAPI program, with on-going monitoring for sustained corrective 

action, shall be documented. All QAPI data shall be documented 

and remain within the FSBC. Staff education and training related 

to the correction of problems shall be documented. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
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Subchapter F. Safety, Sanitization and Emergency Preparedness 

§6779. General Provisions 

 A. The FSBC shall have policies and procedures, approved 

and implemented by the clinical staff and governing body, that 

address provisions for: 

  1. sanitizing, disinfecting, and sterilizing 

supplies, equipment, and utensils; and 

  2. the safe use of cleaning supplies and solutions 

that are to be used and the directions for use, including: 

   a. terminal cleaning of the birthing rooms; and 

   b. cleaning of the birthing rooms between 

delivery procedures. 

 B. Policies and procedures shall be developed, 

implemented, and approved by the FSBC’s governing body for the 

types and numbers of sterilizing equipment and autoclaves 

sufficient to meet the sterilization needs of the FSBC. 

  1. Procedures for the proper use of sterilizing 

equipment for the processing of various materials and supplies 

shall be in writing, according to manufacturer’s 

recommendations, and readily available to personnel responsible 

for the sterilizing process. 

  2. All sterilization monitoring logs shall be 

maintained within the FSBC for a minimum of 18 months. 
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 C. All steam sterilizing equipment shall have live 

bacteriological spore monitoring performed at a frequency 

according to the manufacturer’s instructions. 

  1. If tests are positive, a system shall be in place 

to recall supplies that have tested substandard in accordance 

with the FSBC’s policies and procedures set forth by the FSBC’s 

governing body. 

 D. All ethylene oxide sterilizing equipment shall have 

live bacteriological spore monitoring performed with each load 

and according to manufacturer’s recommendation. There shall be 

ventilation of the room used for this sterilization to the 

outside atmosphere. There shall be a system in place to monitor 

trace gases of ethylene oxide with a working alert system which 

is tested and documented daily. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6781. Infection Control 

 A. The FSBC shall maintain an infection control program 

that minimizes infections and communicable diseases through 

prevention, investigation, and reporting of infections. This 

program shall include all contracted services. 
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 B. The FSBC shall provide a functional and sanitary 

environment for the provision of delivery services by adopting 

and adhering to professionally accepted standards of practice. 

The FSBC shall have documentation that the infection control 

program was considered, selected, and implemented based on 

nationally recognized infection control guidelines. 

 C. The infection control program shall be under the 

direction of a designated and qualified professional. The FSBC 

shall determine that the individual selected to lead the 

infection control program has had documented training in the 

principles and methods of infection control. The individual 

shall maintain his/her qualifications through ongoing education 

and training, which can be demonstrated by participation in 

infection control courses or in local and national meetings 

organized by a nationally recognized professional infection 

control society. 

 D. The FSBC shall develop, with the approval of the 

director of clinical midwifery services and the governing body, 

policies and procedures for preventing, identifying, reporting, 

investigating, controlling, and immediately implementing 

corrective actions relative to infections and communicable 

diseases of clients and personnel. At a minimum, the policies 

shall address: 

  1. hand sanitizers and hand hygiene; 
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  2. use of all types of gloves and personal 

protective equipment, as appropriate; 

  3. scrub procedures; 

  4. linen cleaning and reuse; 

  5. waste management; 

  6. environmental cleaning; 

  7. reporting, investigating, and monitoring of 

infections; 

  8. sterilization and cleaning procedures and 

processes; 

  9. single use devices; 

  10. disinfecting procedures and processes;  

  11. breaches of infection control practices; and 

  12. utilization of clean and dirty utility areas. 

 E. The FSBC shall have policies and procedures developed 

and implemented which require immediate reporting, according to 

the latest criteria established by the CDC, OPH, and the 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), of the 

suspected or confirmed diagnosis of a communicable disease. 

 F. The FSBC shall maintain an infection control log of 

incidents related to infections. The log is to be maintained 

within the FSBC for a minimum of 18 months. 

 G. Any employee with a personal potentially contagious/or 

infectious illness shall report to his/her immediate supervisor 
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and/or director of midwifery services for possible reassignment 

or other appropriate action to prevent the disease or illness 

from spreading to other clients or personnel. 

  1. Employees with symptoms of illness that have the 

potential of being potentially contagious or infectious (i.e. 

diarrhea, skin lesions, respiratory symptoms, infections, etc.) 

shall be either evaluated by a physician or another qualified 

licensed practitioner and/or restricted from working with 

clients during the infectious stage. 

 H. Provisions for isolation of clients with a 

communicable or contagious disease shall be developed and 

implemented according to FSBC policy and procedure. 

 I. Provisions for transfer of clients from the FSBC shall 

be developed and implemented according to FSBC policy and 

procedure. 

 J. The FSBC shall develop a system by which potential 

complications/infections that develop after discharge of a 

client from the FSBC are reported, investigated, and monitored 

by the infection control officer. 

 K. Procedures for isolation techniques shall be written 

and implemented when applicable. 

 L. The FSBC shall have a written and implemented waste 

management program that identifies, and controls wastes and 

hazardous materials to prevent contamination and the spread of 
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infection within the FSBC. The program shall comply with all 

applicable laws and regulations governing wastes and hazardous 

materials and the safe handling of these materials. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6783. Laundry Handling and Sanitation 

 A. The FSBC shall be responsible for ensuring the proper 

handling, cleaning, sanitizing, and storage of linen and other 

washable goods, whether provided by the FSBC or provided by a 

contracted vendor. All linen used in the FSBC shall be of 

sufficient quantity to meet the needs of the clients. 

 B. Laundry services shall be provided either in-house or 

through a contracted commercial laundry service in accordance 

with the FSBC’s policies and procedures, as set forth by the 

governing body. 

  1. Contracted Laundry Service 

   a. If laundry service is contracted, the FSBC 

shall assess the cleaning and sanitizing processes that are used 

by the commercial laundry service. 

  2. In-House Laundry Service 

   a. If laundry services are provided in-house, 

policies and procedures shall be developed which follow 
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manufacturer’s recommended guidelines for water temperature, the 

method for cleaning and sanitizing reusable laundry, and the 

type of cleaning products utilized to prevent the transmission 

of infection through the FSBC’s multi-use of these washable 

goods. 

   b. The water temperature shall be monitored and 

documented on the days of use. 

 C. Procedures shall be developed for the proper handling 

and distribution of linens to minimize microbial contamination 

from surface contact or airborne deposition. 

 D. Cross contamination of clean and dirty linen shall be 

prevented. Provisions shall be made for the separation of clean 

and soiled linen. All contaminated laundry shall be handled 

according to the FSBC’s written protocols in accordance with 

current applicable OSHA and CDC guidelines. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48:  

§6785. Emergency Preparedness and Emergency Procedures 

 A. Disaster and emergency plans shall be developed by the 

governing body, updated annually, and shall be based on a risk 

assessment using an all hazards approach for both internal and 
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external occurrences. Disaster and emergency plans shall include 

provisions for persons with disabilities. 

 B. The FSBC shall develop and implement policies and 

procedures based on the emergency plan, risk assessment, and 

communication plan, which shall be reviewed and updated at least 

annually. Such policies shall include a system to track on duty 

staff and sheltered clients, if any, during the emergency. 

 C. The FSBC shall develop and maintain an emergency 

preparedness communication plan that complies with state and 

local laws. Client care shall be well-coordinated within the 

FSBC, across healthcare providers, and with state and local 

public health departments and emergency systems. 

 D. The FSBC shall develop and maintain training and 

testing programs, including initial training in policies and 

procedures that demonstrate knowledge of emergency procedures. 

Such training shall be provided at least annually. 

 E. Additional Requirements 

  1. Each FSBC shall post exit signs and diagrams 

conspicuously through the facility. 

  2. Flashlights or battery-operated lamps for 

emergency use shall be available for FSBC personnel and clients 

in areas occupied by clients and visitors and kept in 

operational condition. 
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  3. The FSBC shall ensure that emergency equipment 

is: 

   a. immediately available and sufficient in 

number for use during emergency situations; 

   b. appropriate for the FSBC's client 

population; and 

   c. maintained by appropriate personnel. 

  4. The FSBC shall have written policies and 

procedures that address the availability and appropriate use of 

emergency equipment in the FSBC's birthing rooms in keeping with 

the most recent AABC standards. 

  5. The FSBC shall have battery or an operable backup 

generator of sufficient size to support and maintain necessary 

life-sustaining medical equipment, emergency lighting, fire 

detection and extinguishing, gas monitoring systems, and alarm 

and security systems to provide for the health, safety, welfare, 

and the well-being of persons receiving services at FSBC; and to 

provide for the safe operation and maintenance of FSBC. 

  6. The FSBC is responsible for: 

   a. developing and implementing policies and 

procedures for the safe emergency transfer of clients and/or 

newborns from the FSBC if an emergency impacts the FSBC’s 

ability to provide services to the client and/or the newborns; 



99 

 

   b. developing policies that address what types 

of emergency procedures, equipment and medications shall be 

available; and 

   c. providing trained staff to sustain the life 

of the client or newborn prior to the transfer. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6787. Inactivation of License due to a Declared Disaster or 

Emergency 

 A. An FSBC licensed in a parish which is the subject of 

an executive order or proclamation of emergency or disaster, 

issued in accordance with R.S. 29:724 or R.S. 29:766, may seek 

to inactivate its license for a period not to exceed one year, 

provided that the following conditions are met: 

  1. the FSBC shall submit written notification to the 

HSS within 60 days of the date of the executive order or 

proclamation of emergency or disaster that: 

   a. the FSBC has experienced an interruption in 

the provisions of services as a result of events that are the 

subject of such executive order or proclamation of emergency or 

disaster issued in accordance with R.S. 29:724 or R.S. 29:766; 
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   b. the FSBC intends to resume operation as an 

FSBC in the same service area; and 

   c. the FSBC attests that the emergency or 

disaster is the sole causal factor in the interruption of the 

provision of services. 

NOTE:  Pursuant to these provisions, an extension of the 

60-day deadline for initiation of request may be granted at 

the discretion of the department. 

EXCEPTION:  If the FSBC requires an extension of the 

timeframe to complete construction or repairs due to 

circumstances beyond the FSBC’s control, the department 

will consider an extended time period to complete. The 

written request for extension shall show the FSBC’s active 

efforts to complete construction or repairs and the reasons 

for request for extension of the FSBC’s inactive license. 

Any approvals for extension are at the sole discretion of 

the department. 

  2. the FSBC resumes operating in the same service 

area within one year of the issuance of an executive order or 

proclamation of emergency or disaster in accordance with R.S. 

29:724 or R.S. 29:766; 

  3. the FSBC continues to pay all fees and costs due 

and owed to the department including, but not limited to, annual 

licensing fees and outstanding civil monetary penalties, if 

applicable; and 
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  4. the FSBC continues to submit required 

documentation and information to the department. 

 B. Upon receiving a completed written request to 

inactivate an FSBC license, the department shall issue a notice 

of inactivation of license to the FSBC. 

 C. Upon completion of repairs, renovations, rebuilding, 

or replacement, an FSBC which has received a notice of 

inactivation of its license from the department shall be allowed 

to reinstate its license upon the following conditions being 

met. 

  1. The FSBC shall submit a written license 

reinstatement request to HSS 60 days prior to the anticipated 

date of reopening. 

   a. The license reinstatement request shall 

inform the department of the anticipated date of reopening and 

shall request scheduling of a licensing survey. 

   b. The license reinstatement request shall 

include a completed licensing application with appropriate 

licensing fees. 

   c. The FSBC shall submit the following: 

      i. a copy of the approval letter of the 

architectural facility plans from the OSFM and any other 

office/entity designated by the department to review and approve 

the facility’s architectural plans; 
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     ii. a copy of the on-site inspection report 

with approval for occupancy by OSFM, if applicable; and 

    iii. a copy of the on-site health inspection 

report with approval of occupancy from OPH. 

  2. The FSBC resumes operating in the same service 

area within one year. 

 D. Upon receiving a completed written request to 

reinstate an FSBC license, the department shall conduct a 

licensing survey. If the FSBC meets the requirements for 

licensure and the requirements under this Section, the 

department may issue a notice of reinstatement of the FSBC 

license. 

 E. No CHOW of the FSBC shall occur until such FSBC has 

completed repairs, renovations, rebuilding, or replacement 

construction and has resumed operations as an FSBC. 

 F. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to an 

FSBC which has voluntarily surrendered its license and ceased 

operation. 

 G. Failure to comply with any of the provisions of this 

Section shall be deemed a voluntary surrender of the FSBC 

license. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 
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 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6789. Inactivation of License due to a Non-Declared 

Emergency or Disaster 

 A. An FSBC in an area or areas which have been affected 

by a non-declared emergency or disaster may seek to inactivate 

its license, provided that the following conditions are met: 

  1. the FSBC shall submit written notification to the 

HSS within 30 days of the date of the non-declared emergency or 

disaster stating that: 

   a. the FSBC has experienced an interruption in 

the provisions of services as a result of events that are due to 

a non-declared emergency or disaster; 

   b. the facility intends to resume operation as 

an FSBC in the same service area; 

   c. the FSBC attests that the emergency or 

disaster is the sole causal factor in the interruption of the 

provision of services; and 

   d. the FSBC’s initial request to inactivate 

does not exceed one year for the completion of repairs, 

renovations, rebuilding, or replacement of the facility; 

NOTE:  Pursuant to these provisions, an extension of the 

30-day deadline for initiation of request may be granted at 

the discretion of the department. 
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EXCEPTION:  If the FSBC requires an extension of the 

timeframe to complete construction or repairs due to 

circumstances beyond the FSBC’s control, the department 

will consider an extended time period to complete such. 

Written request for extension shall show the FSBC’s active 

efforts to complete construction or repairs and the reasons 

for request for extension of the FSBC’s inactive license. 

Any approvals for extension are at the sole discretion of 

the department. 

  2. the FSBC continues to pay all fees and costs due 

and owed to the department including, but not limited to, annual 

licensing fees and outstanding civil monetary penalties and/or 

civil fines; and 

  3. the FSBC continues to submit required 

documentation and information to the department, including but 

not limited to, cost reports. 

 B. Upon receiving a completed written request to 

temporarily inactivate the FSBC license, the department shall 

issue a notice of inactivation of license to the FSBC. 

 C. Upon the FSBC’s receipt of the department’s approval 

of request to inactivate the license, the FSBC shall have 90 

days to submit plans for the repairs, renovations, rebuilding, 

or replacement of the FSBC to OSFM and OPH as required. 
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 D. The FSBC shall resume operating as an FSBC in the same 

service area within one year of the approval of 

renovation/construction plans by OSFM and OPH as required. 

 E. Upon completion of repairs, renovations, rebuilding, 

or replacement of the FSBC, an FSBC which has received a notice 

of inactivation of its license from the department shall be 

allowed to reinstate its license upon the following conditions 

being met: 

  1. the FSBC shall submit a written license 

reinstatement request to the licensing agency of the department; 

  2. the license reinstatement request shall inform 

the department of the anticipated date of opening and shall 

request scheduling of a licensing or physical environment 

survey; and 

  3. the license reinstatement request shall include a 

completed licensing application with appropriate licensing fees. 

 F. Upon receiving a completed written request to 

reinstate an FSBC license, the department may conduct a 

licensing or physical environment survey. The department may 

issue a notice of reinstatement if the FSBC has met the 

requirements for licensure including the requirements of this 

Subsection. 
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 G. No CHOW of the FSBC shall occur until such FSBC has 

completed repairs, renovations, rebuilding, or replacement 

construction and has resumed operations as an FSBC. 

 H. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to an 

FSBC which has voluntarily surrendered its license and ceased 

operation. 

 I. Failure to comply with any of the provisions of this 

Section shall be deemed a voluntary surrender of the FSBC 

license. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

Subchapter G. Physical Environment 

§6793. General Requirements 

 A. The standards in this Subchapter shall apply to any 

FSBC constructed after the effective date of this rule, or an 

FSBC that makes alterations, additions, or substantial 

rehabilitation to an existing FSBC or adaptation of an existing 

building to create an FSBC. Cosmetic changes to the FSBC such as 

painting, flooring replacement, or minor repairs shall not be 

considered an alteration or substantial rehabilitation. 

EXCEPTION:  For those applicants for FSBC licensure who 

received plan review approval from the OSFM before the 
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effective date of the promulgation of this Rule, or who 

have begun construction or renovation of an existing 

building before the effective date of the promulgation of 

this Rule, the physical environment requirements of §6793 

shall not apply. 

 B. An applicant for an FSBC license shall furnish one 

complete set of architectural plans and specifications to the 

entity/office designated by the department to review and approve 

the facility’s architectural plans and the OSFM. 

  1. The office designated by the department to review 

and approve architectural drawings and specifications and the 

OSFM shall review and approve the Life Safety Code plans before 

construction can begin. 

  2. When the plans and specifications have been 

reviewed and all inspections and investigations have been made, 

the applicant will be notified whether the plans for the 

proposed FSBC have been approved. 

 C. No alterations, other than minor alternations, shall 

be made to existing facilities without the prior written 

approval of, and in accordance with, architectural plans and 

specifications approved in advance by the department, or its 

designee, and the OSFM. 

 D. All new construction, additions and renovations, other 

than minor alterations, shall be in accordance with the specific 
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requirements of the OSFM and the department, or its designee, 

who shall be responsible for the review and approval of 

architectural plans. Plans and specifications submitted to these 

offices shall be prepared by or under the direction of a 

licensed architect and/or a qualified licensed engineer and 

shall include scaled architectural plans stamped by an 

architect. 

 E. All designs and construction shall be in accordance 

with the provisions of LAC Title 51, Public Health-Sanitary 

Code. 

 F. Facility within a Facility 

  1. If more than one healthcare provider occupies the 

same building, premises, or physical location, all treatment 

facilities and administrative offices for each healthcare 

facility shall be clearly separated from the other by a clearly 

defined and recognizable boundary. 

  2. There shall be clearly identifiable and 

distinguishable signs posted inside the building as well as 

signs posted on the outside of the building for public 

identification of the FSBC. Compliance with the provisions of 

R.S. 40:2007 shall be required. 

  3. An FSBC that is located within a building that is 

also occupied by one or more other businesses and/or other 

healthcare facilities shall have all licensed spaces and rooms 
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of the FSBC contiguous to each other and defined by cognizable 

boundaries. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§6795. General Appearance and Space Requirements 

 A. The FSBC shall be constructed, arranged, and 

maintained to ensure the safety and well-being of the clients 

and the general public it serves in accordance with the current 

Facility Guidelines for Design and Construction of Hospitals and 

Outpatient Facilities approved by the OSFM. 

 B. The FSBC shall have a minimum of two birthing rooms to 

meet the needs of the clients being served. In addition to the 

birthing rooms, the FSBC may also have one or more treatment 

rooms. 

 C. The location of the birthing rooms within the FSBC, 

and the access to it, shall conform to professionally accepted 

standards of practice, particularly for infection control, with 

respect to the movement of people, equipment and supplies in and 

out of the birthing rooms. 

  1. The location shall have a working heating, 

ventilation, and air conditioning system that is monitored and 

adjusted according to the needs of the client. 
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 D. Birthing Rooms 

  1. The birthing rooms shall be constructed in 

accordance with the current OSFM approved standards. 

  2. The area of the birthing rooms shall be in a 

segregated and secured section of the FSBC and shall be removed 

from general lines of traffic of both visitors and other FSBC 

personnel, and from other departments to prevent traffic through 

them. 

  3. The birthing rooms shall be appropriately 

equipped to safely provide for the needs of the client and in 

accordance with accepted clinical practices. The birthing rooms 

shall consist of a clear and unobstructed floor area to 

accommodate the equipment and personnel required, allowing for 

aseptic technique. Only one birthing procedure shall be 

performed in a birthing room. 

 E. There shall be sufficient space between and around 

lounge chairs/stretchers and between fixed surfaces and lounge 

chairs/stretchers to allow for clinical staff access to each 

client. 

 F. The FSBC shall have a separate waiting area sufficient 

in size to provide adequate seating space for family members 

and/or guests of the client. 

 G. The FSBC shall meet the following requirements 

including, but not limited to: 
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  1. a sign shall be posted on the exterior of the 

FSBC that can be viewed by the public which shall contain, at a 

minimum, the “doing business as” name that is stated on the 

FSBC’s license issued by the department; 

  2. signs or notices shall be prominently posted in 

the FSBC stipulating that smoking is prohibited in all areas of 

the FSBC; 

  3. policies and procedures shall be developed for 

maintaining a clean and sanitary environment at all times; 

  4. there shall be sufficient storage space for all 

supplies and equipment. Storage space shall be located away from 

foot traffic, provide for the safe separation of items, and 

prevent overhead and floor contamination; 

  5. all client care equipment shall be clean and in 

working order. Appropriate inspections of client care equipment 

shall be maintained according to manufacturer’s recommendations 

and FSBC policies and procedures; and 

  6. each FSBC shall provide for a covered entrance, 

well-marked, and illuminated for drop off and/or pick up of 

clients before and after delivery services are complete. The 

covered entrance shall extend to provide full overhead coverage 

of the entire transporting automobile and/or ambulance to permit 

protected transfer of clients. Vehicles in the loading area 
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should not block or restrict movement of other vehicles in the 

drive or parking areas immediately adjacent to the FSBC. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.21-2180.28. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 

 In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed Rule on 

the family has been considered.  It is anticipated that this 

proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family functioning, 

stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972 because it 

will provide for the safety and welfare for those receiving 

these services. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

 In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this proposed 

Rule has been considered.  It is anticipated that this proposed 

Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or family poverty 

in relation to individual or community asset development as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Statement 

In compliance with the Small Business Protection Act, the 

economic impact of this proposed Rule on small businesses has 
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been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 

have no impact on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 

 In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 170 of 

the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 

provider impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. It is 

anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on the 

staffing level and qualifications required to provide the same 

level of service, no direct or indirect cost to the provider to 

provide the same level of service, and no impact on the 

provider’s ability to provide the same level of service as 

described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 

 Interested persons may submit written comments to Tasheka 

Dukes, RN, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 3767, Baton Rouge, 

LA 70821.  Ms. Dukes is responsible for responding to inquiries 

regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for submitting 

written comments is at 4:30 p.m. on June 29, 2022. 

Public Hearing 

 Interested persons may submit a written request to conduct 

a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the Secretary 

ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office Box 629, Baton 

Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such request must be received no 

later than 4:30 p.m. on June 9, 2022.  If the criteria set forth 
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in R.S. 49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, LDH will conduct a public 

hearing at 9:30 a.m. on June 29, 2022 in Room 118 of the 

Bienville Building, which is located at 628 North Fourth Street, 

Baton Rouge, LA.  To confirm whether or not a public hearing 

will be held, interested persons should first call Allen Enger 

at (225) 342-1342 after June 9, 2022. If a public hearing is to 

be held, all interested persons are invited to attend and 

present data, views, comments, or arguments, orally or in 

writing.  In the event of a hearing, parking is available to the 

public in the Galvez Parking Garage which is located between 

North Sixth and North Fifth/North and Main Streets (cater-corner 

from the Bienville Building). Validated parking for the Galvez 

Garage may be available to public hearing attendees when the 

parking ticket is presented to LDH staff at the hearing. 

Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 

Secretary 

 


