#### NOTICE OF INTENT

# Department of Health Bureau of Health Services Financing And Office of Aging and Adult Services

# Home and Community-Based Services Waivers <u>Community Choices Waiver</u> Direct Support/Service Worker Wages and Bonus Payments (LAC 50:XXI.Chapter 95)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services propose to adopt LAC 50:XXI.Chapter 95 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

House Concurrent Resolution 127 (HCR 127) of the 2021 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature requested the department make adjustments in the state Medicaid budget for the purpose of increasing funding more equitably to providers throughout the disabilities services system. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) approved the use of bonus payments for agencies providing personal assistance services to home and communitybased services (HCBS) waiver participants under section 9817 of the American Rescue Plan.

In compliance with HCR 127, the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for Aging and Adult Services promulgated an Emergency Rule which adopted provisions governing reimbursement in the Community Choices Waiver (CCW) in order to establish wage floor and workforce retention bonus payments for direct support workers and personal assistance service providers along with audit procedures and sanctions (*Louisiana Register*, Volume 48, Number 8). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to continue the provisions of the July 31, 2022 Emergency Rule.

#### Title 50

# PUBLIC HEALTH-MEDICAL ASSISTANCE Part XXI. Home and Community-Based Services Waivers Subpart 7. Community Choices Waiver

Chapter 95. Reimbursement

§9503. Direct Support/Service Worker Wages, Other Benefits, and Workforce Retention Bonus Payments

A. Establishment of Direct Support/Service Worker Wage Floor and Other Benefits 1. Personal assistance service (PAS) providers that

were providing services on or after October 1, 2021 and

employing direct service workers (DSWs) will receive the

equivalent of a \$5.50 per hour rate increase.

2. DSWs providing self-direction PAS on or after

July 31, 2022 shall be paid a minimum wage floor of \$9 per hour.

3. Adult day health care (ADHC) providers that were providing ADHC services on or after October 1, 2021 and employing ADHC direct support workers will receive a rate increase. The ADHC reimbursement rates shall be rebased resulting in an average increase of \$4.31 per hour (rates differ based on facility specific transportation rate).

4. All PAS and ADHC providers affected by this rate increase shall be subject to passing 70 percent of their rate increases directly to the direct support/service worker in various forms. These forms include a minimum wage floor of \$9 per hour and other wage and non-wage benefits. This wage floor and wage and non-wage benefits are effective for all affected direct support/service workers of any working status, whether full-time or part-time.

5. The rate increase, wage floor and/or wage and non-wage benefits will end March 31, 2025 or when the state's funding authorized under section 9817 of the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (Pub. L. No. 117-002) is exhausted.

6. The Department of Health (LDH) reserves the right to adjust the direct support/service worker wage floor and/or wage and non-wage benefits as needed through appropriate rulemaking promulgation consistent with the Administrative Procedure Act. B. Establishment of Direct Support/Service Worker Workforce Retention Bonus Payments

1. PAS and ADHC providers providing services on or after April 1, 2021 shall receive bonus payments of \$150 per month for each direct support/service worker that worked with participants for that month. These payments will remain in effect for each month thereafter that the direct support service worker works with participants and is still employed with that agency.

2. The PAS and ADHC direct support/service workers providing services on or after April 1, 2021 that worked with participants must receive at least \$125 of this \$150 monthly bonus payment paid to the provider. This bonus payment is effective for all affected direct support/service workers of any working status, whether full-time or part-time.

3. Bonus payments will end March 31, 2025 or when the state's funding authorized under section 9817 of the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (Pub. L. No. 117-002) is exhausted.

4. LDH reserves the right to adjust the amount of the bonus payments paid to the direct support/service worker as needed through appropriate rulemaking promulgation consistent with the Administrative Procedure Act. C. Audit Procedures for Direct Support/Service Worker Wage Floor, Other Benefits, and Workforce Retention Bonus Payments

1. The wage enhancements, wage and non-wage benefits and bonus payments reimbursed to providers shall be subject to audit by LDH.

2. Providers shall provide to LDH or its representative all requested documentation to verify that they are in compliance with the direct support/service worker wage floor, wage and non-wage benefits and/or bonus payments.

3. This documentation may include, but is not limited to, payroll records, wage and salary sheets, check stubs, copies of unemployment insurance files, etc.

4. Providers shall produce the requested documentation upon request and within the timeframe provided by LDH.

5. Non-compliance or failure to demonstrate that the wage enhancements, wage and non-wage benefits and/or bonus payments were paid directly to direct support/service workers may result in the following:

a. sanctions; or

b. disenrollment from the Medicaid Program.
D. Sanctions for Direct Support/Service Worker Wages,
Other Benefits, and Workforce Retention Payments

	1.	Provide	rs v	vill }	oe sub	ject	to sand	ctio	ns or	
penalties	for	failure	to d	comply	y with	this	Rule o	or w	ith rea	quests
issued by	LDH	pursuant	to	this	Rule.	The	severi	ty o	f such	action
will deper	nd or	n the fol	lowi	ing fa	actors	:				

a. failure to pass 70 percent of the PAS and ADHC provider rate increases directly to the direct support/service workers in the form of a floor minimum of \$9 per hour and in other wage and non-wage benefits and/or the \$125 monthly bonus payments;

b. the number of employees identified that the PAS and ADHC provider has not passed 70 percent of the provider rate increases directly to the direct support/service workers in the form of a floor minimum of \$9 per hour and in other wage and non-wage benefits and/or the \$125 monthly bonus payments;

d. the persistent failure to not pass 70 percent of the PAS and ADHC provider rate increases directly to the direct support/service workers in the form of a floor minimum of \$9 per hour and in other wage and non-wage benefits and/or the \$125 monthly bonus payments; or

e. failure to provide LDH with any requested documentation or information related to or for the purpose of verifying compliance with this Rule.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 48:

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that submission to CMS for review and approval is required.

#### Family Impact Statement

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972 by ensuring continued provider participation in the Medicaid Program.

### Poverty Impact Statement

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or family poverty in relation to individual or community asset development as described in R.S. 49:973.

## Small Business Analysis

In compliance with the Small Business Protection Act, the economic impact of this proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on small businesses.

### Provider Impact Statement

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on the staffing level requirements or qualifications required to provide the same level of service, but may reduce the total direct and indirect cost to the provider to provide the same level of service, and may enhance the provider's ability to provide the same level of service as described in HCR 170, since this proposed Rule increases payments to providers for the services they already render.

## Public Comments

Interested persons may submit written comments to Tara A. LeBlanc, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Ms. LeBlanc is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for submitting written comments is at 4:30 p.m. on October 31, 2022.

### Public Hearing

Interested persons may submit a written request to conduct a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on October 10, 2022. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, LDH will conduct a public hearing at 9:30 a.m. on October 27, 2022 in Room 118 of the Bienville Building, which is located at 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. To confirm whether or not a public hearing will be held, interested persons should first call Allen Enger at (225) 342-1342 after October 10, 2022. If a public hearing is to be held, all interested persons are invited to attend and present data, views, comments, or arguments, orally or in writing. In the event of a hearing, parking is available to the public in the Galvez Parking Garage, which is located between North Sixth and North Fifth/North and Main Streets (cater-corner from the Bienville Building). Validated parking for the Galvez Garage may be available to public hearing attendees when the parking ticket is presented to LDH staff at the hearing.

Dr. Courtney N. Phillips

Secretary