
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
601 East 12th Street, Suite 0300
Kansas City, Missouri 64106-2898 

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

March 2 , 2021 

Ms. Tara LeBlanc, Interim Medicaid Director
State of Louisiana
Department of Health
628 N 4th Street
P.O. Box 91030 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030

RE: TN LA 20-0016

Dear Ms. LeBlanc:

We have reviewed the State’s proposed amendment to the Louisiana State Plan submitted under 
Transmittal Number (TN) 20-0016 dated December 30, 2020. This state plan amendment is to
comply with the Louisiana regulations related to transfer of assets in the Medicaid assistance 
program for less than fair market value to: 1) begin the penalty date the first day of the month 
following the month of transfer; 2) Impose penalty when the amount of the transfer is less than 
the monthly cost of nursing facility care; 3) treatment of income as an asset.

Based on the information submitted, we approved the amendment on March 25, 2021, for 
incorporation into the official Louisiana State Plan with an effective date of October 1, 2020. A
copy of the CMS-179 and approved plan pages are enclosed with this letter.

If you have any questions regarding this matter, you may contact Tobias Griffin at (214) 
767-4425, or by email at tobias.griffin@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

James G. Scott, Director 
Division of Program Operations 

Enclosures 

cc:  Billy Bob Farrell, Branch Manager 
Karen Barnes, LA Department of Health

Digitally signed by James G. 
Scott -S 
Date: 2021.03.26 13:27:30 
-05'00'



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED 

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES OMB No. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER
20-0016

2. STATE
Louisiana

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL
SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
October 31, 2020

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One)
NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate transmittal for each amendment) 

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION

Deficit Reduction Act of 2005
Section 1917 of the Social Security Act

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT
a. FFY 2021 $ 0
b. FFY 2022 $ 0

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT

Attachment 2.6A, Supplement 9a, Pages 1-5 (obsolete pages)
Attachment 2.6A, Supplement 9b, Pages 1-5 (rename pages)

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN
SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)

Same (TN 95-04)
Same (TN 06-13)

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT
The purpose of this SPA is to comply with the Louisiana regulations related to transfer of assets in the Medicaid
assistance program for less than fair market value to: 1) begin the penalty date the first day of the month
following the month of transfer; 2) Impose penalty when the amount of the transfer is less than the monthly
cost of nursing facility care; 3) treatment of income as an asset.

12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL 16. RETURN TO
Tara A. LeBlanc, Interim Medicaid Executive Director
State of Louisiana
Department of Health
628 North 4th Street
P.O. Box 91030
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030

13. TYPED NAME
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips

14. TITLE
Secretary

15. DATE SUBMITTED
December 30, 2020

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY 
17. DATE RECEIVED 18. DATE APPROVED

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED 

19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL

21. TYPED NAME 22. TITLE

23. REMARKS

FORM CMS-179 (07/92) Instructions on Back 

11. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT OTHER, AS SPECIFIED
The Governor does not review State Plan material.COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED 

NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

Digitally signed by James G. Scott -S 
Date: 2021.03.26 13:28:19 -05'00'
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State: Louisiana____________________________________________

TRANSFER OF ASSETS

TN 20-0016   Approval Date  Effective Date October 1, 2020 
Supersedes
TN 95-04 and 06-13 

1917(c) FOR TRANSFERS OF ASSETS FOR LESS THAN FAIR MARKET 
VALUE MADE ON OR AFTER FEBRUARY 8, 2006, the agency provides for 
the denial of certain Medicaid services.

1. Institutionalized individuals are denied coverage of certain Medicaid
services upon disposing of assets for less than fair market value on or after
the look-back date.

The agency does not provide medical assistance coverage for
institutionalized individuals for the following services:

Nursing facility services;

Nursing facility level of care provided in a medical institution;

Home and community-based services under a 1915(c) or (d) waiver.

2. Non-institutionalized individuals

___ The agency applies these provisions to the following non-
institutionalized eligibility groups.  These groups can be no more 
restrictive than those set forth in section 1905(a) of the Social 
Security Act:

The agency withholds payment to non-institutionalized individuals for the 
following services: 

Home health services (section 1905(a)(7));

Home and community care for functionally disabled elderly adults 
(section 1905(a)(22)); 

Personal care services furnished to individuals who are not inpatients 
in certain medical institutions, as recognized under agency law and 
specified in section 1905(a)(24).

___ The following other long-term care services for which payment for 
medical assistance is otherwise made under the agency plan:
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State: Louisiana____________________________________________

TRANSFER OF ASSETS

TN 20-0016   Approval Date  Effective Date October 1, 2020 
Supersedes
TN 95-04 and 06-13 

3. Penalty Date--The beginning date of each penalty period imposed for an
uncompensated transfer of assets is the later of:

the first day of a month during or after which assets have been
transferred for less than fair market value;

__ The State uses the first day of the month in which the assets were 
transferred

 X  The State uses the first day of the month after the month in which the 
assets were transferred
or 

the date on which the individual is eligible for medical
assistance under the State plan and is receiving institutional
level care services described in paragraphs 1 and 2 that, were
it not for the imposition of the penalty period, would be
covered by Medicaid;

AND

which does not occur during any other period of ineligibility
for services by reason of a transfer of assets penalty.

4. Penalty Period - Institutionalized Individuals
In determining the penalty for an institutionalized individual, the
agency uses:

 X  the average monthly cost to a private patient of nursing facility 
services in the State at the time of application; 

___ the average monthly cost to a private patient of nursing facility 
services in the community in which the individual is 
institutionalized at the time of application. 
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5. Penalty Period - Non-institutionalized Individuals
The agency imposes a penalty period determined by using the same
method as is used for an institutionalized individual, including the use
of the average monthly cost of nursing facility services;

___ imposes a shorter penalty period than would be imposed for
institutionalized individuals, as outlined below: 

6. Penalty period for amounts of transfer less than cost of nursing facility care

X  Where the amount of the transfer is less than the monthly cost of nursing
facility care, the agency imposes a penalty for less than a full month, 
based on the option selected in item 4. 

 _X_ The state adds together all transfers for less than fair market value made 
during the look-back period in more than one month and calculates a 
single period of ineligibility, that begins on the earliest date that would 
otherwise apply if the transfer had been made in a single lump sum. 

7. Penalty periods - transfer by a spouse that results in a penalty period for the
individual

(a) The agency apportions any existing penalty period between the spouses
using the method outlined below, provided the spouse is eligible for
Medicaid.  A penalty can be assessed against the spouse, and some
portion of the penalty against the individual remains.

(b) If one spouse is no longer subject to a penalty, the remaining penalty
period must be served by the remaining spouse.
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8. Treatment of a transfer of income

When income has been transferred as a lump sum, the agency will calculate
the penalty period on the lump sum value.

When a stream of income or the right to a stream of income has been
transferred, the agency will impose a penalty period for each income payment.

_X   For transfers of individual income payments, the agency will impose
partial month penalty periods using the methodology selected in 6. 
above. 

_X  For transfers of the right to an income stream, the agency will base the 
penalty period on the combined actuarial value of all payments 
transferred.

9. Imposition of a penalty would work an undue hardship

The agency does not impose a penalty for transferring assets for less than
fair market value in any case in which the agency determines that such
imposition would work an undue hardship.  The agency will use the
following criteria in making undue hardship determinations:

Application of a transfer of assets penalty would deprive the individual:

(a) Of medical care such that the individual's health or life would be
endangered; or

(b) Of food, clothing, shelter, or other necessities of life.

All claims of undue hardship are to be referred by the local office to the 
Program Specialist and submitted to state office Program.  Each referral 
shall contain detailed descriptions of the circumstances surrounding the 
transfer.  All efforts to recover the transferred resources or have the 
transferred resource returned must be exhausted before undue hardship can 
be considered.  In situations in which an individual claims that resources 
were transferred without his/her consent, the individual is required to file 
police reports and pursue criminal charges against the accused.
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Hardship determinations will be made by state office Program staff.  The 
client will be notified of the decision and shall have the right to appeal. 

10. Procedures for Undue Hardship Waivers

The agency has established a process under which
hardship waivers may be requested that provides for:

(a) Notice to a recipient subject to a penalty
that an undue hardship exception exists;

(b) A timely process for determining whether an undue
hardship waiver will be granted; and

(c) A process, which is described in the notice, under which an adverse
determination can be appealed.

These procedures shall permit the facility in which the institutionalized 
individual is residing to file an undue hardship waiver application on behalf 
of the individual with the consent of the individual or the individual's 
personal representative.

11. Bed Hold Waivers for Hardship Applicants

The agency provides that while an application for an undue
hardship waiver is pending in the case of an individual who is a
resident of a nursing facility:

____ Payments to the nursing facility to hold the bed for the
individual will be made for a period not to exceed_____ days 
(may not be greater than 30). 


