# STATE OF <u>LOUISIANA</u>

AMOUNT DURATION AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED LIMITATIONS IN THE AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF CERTAIN ITEMS OF PROVIDED MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES ARE DESCRIBED BELOW:

> G. <u>Payment For Physician Services For Diagnostic and</u> <u>Laboratory Services</u>

> > <u>Physicians</u> Payment for diagnostic and <u>other licensed</u> <u>practitioners must comply with all applicable state and</u> <u>federal laws and regulations</u>. <u>laboratory services</u>, rendered in <u>a physician's office, is limited to those services which the</u> <u>physician has on file with the Medical Assistance Program</u>. (Provider Enrollment) in a list of his/her diagnostic and/or <u>laboratory equipment</u>, the capacities of such equipment and <u>permits verification of this data in accordance wi the</u> <u>provider agreement</u>.

# STATE OF LOUISIANA

### PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES - OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE LISTED IN SECTION 1905(a) OF THE ACT THAT ARE INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER THE PLAN ARE DESCRIBED AS FOLLOWS:

CITATION 42 CFR 447 Subpart F Medical and Remedial Care and Services Item 3

# Other Laboratory and Radiology Services in a Setting Other Than a Hospital Outpatient Department or Clinic are Reimbursed as Follows:

I. <u>Method of Payment</u>

The state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The fee schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published on the Medicaid provider website at <u>www.lamedicaid.com</u>.

A. Laboratory Services <u>Reimbursement Methodology</u>

Reimbursement for clinical laboratory <u>procedures</u> shall not exceed 100 percent of the current year's Medicare allowable. Reimbursement of clinical laboratory services shall be paid at the lower of billed charges or the fee on file, minus the amount which any third party coverage would pay.

Those services not subject to the Medicare fee schedule shall continue to be reimbursed to physicians and independent laboratories based on the published Medicaid fee schedule or billed charges, whichever is lower.

For newly added laboratory services, the Medicaid fee shall be set at 75 percent of the current year's Medicare allowable fee.

If there is no corresponding Medicare fee, the Medicaid fee shall be set based on a review of Medicaid Program fees in others states, other health insurer fees in Louisiana, or as determined by either the Louisiana Medicaid Medical Director or the contracted physician consultant of the Department of Health's fiscal intermediary.

Laboratory services related to a declared public health emergency may be at up to 100 percent of the Medicare allowable fee if deemed necessary by the Medicaid Program to ensure access.

Effective for dates of service on or after February 26, 2009, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall be reduced by 3.5 percent of the fee amounts on file as of February 25, 2009

Effective for dates of service on or after August 4, 2009, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall be reduced by 4.7 percent of the fee amounts on file as of August 3, 2009.

Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 2010, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall be reduced by 4.42 percent of the fee amounts on file as of January 21, 2010.

#### STATE OF LOUISIANA

# PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES - OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE LISTED IN SECTION 1905(a) OF THE ACT THAT ARE INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER THE PLAN ARE DESCRIBED AS FOLLOWS:

Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 2010, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 31, 2010.

Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 2011, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the fee amounts on file as of December 31, 2010.

Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2012, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall be reduced by 3.7 percent of the fee amounts on file as of June 30, 2012.

Effective for dates of service on or after May 20, 2014, the reimbursement for laboratory services shall be based on usual and customary billed charges or the Medicaid fee on file as of May 19, 2014, whichever is lesser. If laboratory, radiology and portable radiology services do not have Medicare established rates, fees will be based on review of statewide billed charges for that service in comparison with set charges for similar services. If there is no similar service, fees are based upon the consultant physicians' review and recommendations. Reimbursement shall be the lesser of the billed charges or the Medicaid fee on file.

#### B. Radiology Services <u>Reimbursement Methodology</u>

Providers shall be reimbursed according to the established fee schedule or billed charges, whichever is the lesser amount.

For newly added radiology services, the Medicaid fee shall be set at 75 percent of the current year's Louisiana Region 99 Medicare allowable fee.

If there is no corresponding Medicare fee, the Medicaid fee shall be set based on a review of Medicaid Program fees in other states, other health insurer fees in Louisiana, or as determined by either the Louisiana Medicaid Medical Director or the contracted physician consultant of the Department of Health's fiscal intermediary.

Reimbursement of radiology services shall be the lower of billed charges or the fee on file, minus the amount which any third party coverage would pay.

Effective for dates of service on or after February 26, 2009, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be reduced by 3.5 percent of the fee amounts on file as of February 25, 2009.

Effective for dates of service on or after August 4, 2009, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be reduced by 4.7 percent of the fee amounts on file as of August 3, 2009.

Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be reduced by 4.42 percent of the fee amounts on file as of January 21, 2010.

Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 31, 2010.

Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 2011, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the fee amounts on file as of December 31, 2010.

#### STATE OF LOUISIANA

#### PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES - OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE LISTED IN SECTION 1905(a) OF THE ACT THAT ARE INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER THE PLAN ARE DESCRIBED AS FOLLOWS:

Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2012, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be reduced by 3.7 percent of the fee amounts on file as of June 30, 2012.

Effective for dates of services on or after May 20, 2014, the reimbursement for radiology services shall be based on usual and customary billed charges or the Medicaid fee on file as of May 19, 2014, whichever is lesser. If laboratory, radiology and portable radiology services do not have Medicare established rates, fees will be based on review of statewide billed charges for that service in comparison with set charges for similar services. If there is no similar service, fees are based upon the consultant physicians' review and recommendations. Reimbursement shall be the lesser of the billed charges or the Medicaid fee on file.

Effective February 20, 2018, the Medicaid Program terminates <u>coverage</u>-reimbursement for proton beam radiation therapy (PBRT) for <u>recipients\_beneficiaries</u> 21 years of age and older.

C. Portable Radiology Services

Reimbursement of portable radiology services shall be the lower of billed charges or the fee on file, minus the amount which any third party coverage would pay.

Effective for dates of service on or after February 26, 2009, the reimbursement rates for portable radiology services shall be reduced by 3.5 percent of the fee amounts on file as of February 25, 2009.

Effective for dates of service on or after August 4, 2009, the reimbursement rates for portable radiology services shall be reduced by 4.7 percent of the fee amounts on file as of August 3, 2009.

Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 2010, the reimbursement rates for portable radiology services shall be reduced by 4.42 percent of the fee amounts on file as of January 21, 2010.

Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 2010, the reimbursement rates for portable radiology services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 31, 2010.

Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2012, the reimbursement rates for portable radiology services shall be reduced by 3.7 percent of the fee amounts on file as of June 30, 2012.

Effective for dates of services on or after May 20, 2014, the reimbursement for portable radiology services shall be based on usual and customary billed or the Medicaid fee on file as of May 19, 2014, whichever is lesser. If laboratory, radiology and portable radiology services do not have Medicare established rates, fees will be based on review of statewide billed charges for that service in comparison with set charges for similar services. If there is no similar service, fees are based upon the consultant physicians' review and recommendations. Reimbursement shall be the lesser of the billed charges or the Medicaid fee on file.

# STATE OF LOUISIANA

#### PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES - OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE LISTED IN SECTION 1905(a) OF THE ACT THAT ARE INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER THE PLAN ARE DESCRIBED AS FOLLOWS:

### II. Standards for Payment

Payment as indicated above will be made for services provided by physicians, portable radiology providers, and by independent laboratories (other than a hospital outpatient department or clinic). Providers of these services must meet all provider enrollment criteria.