## REQUIRED IMMUNIZATIONS FOR ENTRY INTO LOUISIANA DAYCARES/EARLY LEARNING CENTERS AND SCHOOLS



UPDATED 8/20/2024

REQUIRED IMMUNIZATIONS FOR ENTRY						
Daycares/Early Learning Centers	Grade K-12 Schools				Post-Secondary Schools	
Immunizations Doses	Grades	Immunizations	Doses		Immunizations	Doses
Child must be up to date on	Starting at	DTaP <sup>[2]</sup>	5		MMR	2
immunizations for their age	Kindergarten <sup>[1]</sup>	HepA	2		Tdap	1
according to the Centers for	and all subsequent	HepB	3		MenACWY	2 doses, or 1
Disease Control and Prevention's	grades thereafter	IPV <sup>[3]</sup>	4			dose if 1st dose
Recommended Child and		MMR	2			administered on
Adolescent Immunization		VAR	2			or after age 16
<u>Schedule</u>	Starting at 6 <sup>th</sup> grade	Tdap	1			
for ages 18 years or younger	and all subsequent	MenACWY	1			
	grades thereafter					
	Starting at 11 <sup>th</sup> grade	MenACWY	Second			
	and all subsequent		Dose			
	grades thereafter					

<sup>[1]</sup> Entry requirement exception for students who are 4 years of age when entering kindergarten at start of school year: To attend kindergarten in Louisiana, students must be 5 years old by September 30 each school year. Therefore, there are instances where a student is still 4 years old when entering kindergarten. In these instances, the 4-year-old student may be admitted into kindergarten as long as a parent/guardian presents a record indicating that the student is in progress of receiving the required vaccinations. In these instances, follow-up from school staff must be provided for compliance with the above requirements.

Note: Students may participate in school without the required immunizations listed above if a written statement of exemption is presented by a physician, the individual, or the individual's parent/guardian. Any communication issued to persons or their parents or guardians relative to the requirements shall include the text and legal citation of Section 1 of Louisiana Revised Statute 17:170 (E): No person attending or seeking to enter any school or facility enumerated in Subsection A of this Section shall be required to comply with the provisions of this Section including any additional immunization or proof of immunity requirement adopted pursuant to the provisions of this Section, if the person is a distance learner or if the student person or his parent or guardian submits either a written statement from a physician stating that the procedure is contraindicated for medical reasons, or a written dissent from the student or his parent or guardian.

ABBREVIATIONS: <u>DTaP</u> DIPHTHERIA-TETANUS-ACELLULAR PERTUSSIS VACCINE; <u>Tdap</u> TETANUS AND DIPHTHERIA TOXOIDS AND ACELLULAR PERTUSSIS VACCINE; <u>HepA</u> HEPATITIS A VACCINE; <u>HepB</u> HEPATITIS B VACCINE; <u>IPV</u> INACTIVATED POLIOVIRUS VACCINE; <u>MMR</u> MEASLES-MUMPS-RUBELLA VACCINE; MenACWY MENINGOCOCCAL CONJUGATE VACCINE; VAR VARICELLA VACCINE.

<sup>[2]</sup> Those students who received their 4<sup>th</sup> dose of DTaP at age 4 or older do not need a 5<sup>th</sup> dose on record.

<sup>[3]</sup> Those students who received their 3<sup>rd</sup> dose of IPV at age 4 or older do not need a 4<sup>th</sup> dose on record.