YOUR CHILD HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED AS DEAF OR HARD OF HEARING IN ONE EAR

What Families Need to Know

Communication is Key

Your child has been diagnosed with a unilateral hearing loss (deaf or hard or hearing in one ear). For most children, this
means it will be harder to hear and understand where sounds come from. Children with hearing loss in one ear can
benefit from early intervention to promote speech and language development.

The Louisiana Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) program will connect you to early intervention providers
who will help you form your child’s early intervention team. This team will create a plan to work with you and your family
to support your child’s communication skills, and to keep development on track.

It's Important to Act Fast!

The first 3 years of life are the most important for learning how to
communicate. Your family can benefit from early intervention even if
your child is only a couple of months old! Your child’s brain is 50%
developed by age 1, and 80% developed by age 3. Children use sights
and sounds to learn language and communication skills. Even a child
who is deaf or hard of hearing in one ear may need extra help with
this. They should be enrolled in services as soon as possible (within 1 50% developed by 80% developed by
month of identification).

Your Child’s Brain is...
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Addressing Unilateral Hearing Loss

Unilateral hearing loss is different for every child. Children learn to speak by saying what they hear. It can be hard to
understand which direction sounds are coming from, and some sounds may be harder to hear than others. If a child does
not hear speech clearly, it may be more difficult for them to develop language. Below are some ways to make it easier for
your child to better understand what they hear.

How to Help Your Child:

* Get their attention before you start to speak.

* Talk directly to your child, at eye level, and within 3 feet when
possible.

* Sit on the side of the better hearing ear when talking with them.

* Pause at the end of sentences to allow more time for them to
understand what you are saying.

* Reduce the amount of other noises around them (background noise).

* Treat fluid or ear infections as soon as possible and talk to your child’s
doctor about their hearing at each visit.

* Enrollin early intervention!




YOUR CHILD HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED AS DEAF OR HARD OF HEARING IN ONE EAR

What Families Need to Know

Communication is Key

Your child was just identified with a unilateral hearing loss (deaf or hard of hearing in one ear) and you may be
wondering what’s next. First, know that you are not alone. Your child’s audiologist will notify the Louisiana Early
Hearing Detection and Intervention Program (EHDI). The EHDI program will call you to connect you with
organizations that offer support. Below you can learn more about each and the timelines involved.

Within 1 week of learning your child’s diagnosis...
The EHDI Intervention Coordinator will call you (from the number 504-343-1901) to discuss the programs below.
With your permission, they will make referrals so the programs can contact you.

&’ Hands & Voices: Guide
g By Your Side (GBYS)

LAHandsandVoices.org

Within 1 week of referral...
A parent of a child who is deaf or hard of
hearing (a Parent Guide) from the GBYS
program will call you.

\ 4

Then...

Your Parent Guide can offer support as
someone who has walked in your shoes.
There will be opportunities to get to know
other families with children that are deaf or
hard or hearing through Louisiana
Hands & Voices.
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Next...

Your Parent Guide can connect you with a
Deaf/Hard of Hearing Guide. This guide is a
deaf or hard of hearing adult who can share

their personal lived experiences.
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EarlySteps

Idh.la.gov/EarlySteps

Within 1 week of referral...
EarlySteps staff will call you to talk about the
program and get additional information about
your child.
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Soon after...
An evaluator will call you to set up an
evaluation for your child.
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Within 45 days of the referral...
EarlySteps staff will schedule an Individualized
Family Service Plan (IFSP) meeting to talk
about your family’s concerns and goals.
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Then...
Your child will start to get services from an
early intervention provider.

HAVE MORE QUESTIONS? LOUISIANA
Contact the Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) program at 504-343-1901 r_IEEAAR.H.EﬂTOF

or email us at laehdi@Ia.gov. For more information, visit us online at Idh.la.gov/ehdi
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