REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A MARRIAGE LICENSE

ORLEANS PARISH, NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA

The Orleans Parish Marriage License Office is located at Benson Tower, 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 407, in downtown New Orleans. Licenses are issued between 8:15 a.m. and 3:15 p.m., Monday through Friday (excluding state holidays). The licenses are valid in any parish in the State of Louisiana, but must be registered in Orleans Parish

In order to apply for a marriage license, both parties should be present to provide all required documents. **If a party is absent, the application will only be accepted if their signature on the application has been separately notarized.** If the absent party is a member of the US armed forces, a copy of a military ID can be accepted in lieu of a signature, but at least one party's in-person signature is required to submit an application.

Applicants must present the following:

- 1. A current driver's license, current state ID or passport.
- 2. A certified birth certificate or a certified birth card for both parties. The birth certificate must be translated if not in English. If not born in the US or territories and a certified birth certificate cannot be produced, a waiver must be presented in accordance with LA. R.S. 9:228
- 3. Applicants must provide both Social Security numbers if born in the United States. If not born in the US or territories, the applicant(s) must present a valid passport from their country of birth or a visa with I-94 form attached.
- 4. If either party has been divorced, the individual must provide a certified copy of the final divorce decree. A widow or widower must provide a certified copy the death certificate showing they are the surviving spouse when they apply for a license to marry.
- 5. Fees of \$27.50 payable by cash, check, money order, or credit/debit card (non-refundable), plus \$5 for each certified copy of the marriage certificate desired by the customer.

An **Application to Obtain an Orleans Parish Marriage License** is available and may be completed by the parties prior to applying in person.

24-Hour Waiting Period

- A 24-hour waiting period is required by law between the time of issuance of the license and the ceremony.
- Judges of the First or Second City Courts are authorized by law to waive the waiting period for Louisiana residents and they can do this during their Monday-Friday hours of operation ONLY.
- If both parties reside outside of Louisiana, the 24 hour waiting period can be waived by a registered Orleans officiant.
- The waiver must be attached to the completed marriage certificate when it is returned to Vital Records.

Marriage under the age of 16 is prohibited by law. Applicants 16 or 17 years of age must have judicial authorization and written consent of parent(s), Tutor or Legal guardian. CHC 1545

A marriage license expires and becomes invalid at midnight thirty (30) days after the date of issuance. If the service is postponed beyond the expiration date, you must return the expired license and purchase a new one.

You are encouraged to purchase one or more certified copies of your Marriage Certificate when you apply for your license. Certified copies of a Marriage Certificate cost \$5.00 + a \$.50 mailing charge per transaction.

MARRIAGE LICENSE: \$27.50
CASH, CHECK, MONEY ORDERS AND CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS ACCEPTED
ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

Rev 7/24