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It’s Mandatory!

All Children Should
Screened For Lead.

Medical providers offering routine care to children 1. Medical providers and laboratories are required to

ages 6 months to 72 months who reside or spend more report all blood lead levels to the Lead Poisoning

than 10 hours per week in any Louisiana parish MUST Prevention Program regardless of value.

have children screened in accordance with practices

consistent with the current Centers for Disease Control 2. Blood lead levels 3.5ug/dL or greater should be reported
and Prevention and Louisiana Medicaid guidelines and immediately. Medical providers are required to submit
in compliance with Louisiana Administrative Code the Lead Case Reporting Form immediately to the Lead
(LAC) 48: V 7005, 7007 and 70089. Poisoning Prevention Program, which can be found at

3. Follow the CDC Lead Poisoning Management Summary
Chart (see reverse) to determine when a child needs a

Louisiana Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention
Program (LCLPPP)
1450 Poydras Street, Suite 1635

repeat blood lead level test, when to make a referral, or
when an environmental inspection is needed.

Email or fax the completed forms to the Louisiana

New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: 888-293-7020
Fax: 225-242-0496
Email: leadinfo@la.gov

Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program.

“This public document was published at a total cost of $1,025. 10,000 copies of this public document were published in the
first printing at a cost of $1,025. The total cost of all printing of this document including reprint is $1,025. This document
was published by the Louisiana Office of Public Health, Louisiana Healthy Homes and Childhood Lead Prevention Program to
provide information on lead prevention for children and families. This material was printed according to standards for printing
by State agencies established pursuant to R.S. 43:31. Printing of this material was purchased in accordance with provisions of
Title 43 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes.”
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RECOMMENDED ACTIONS BASED ON BLOOD LEAD LEVELS (BLL)

Initial Screening Blood Lead Level-Capillary |Confirmed Venous Blood Lead Level

BLL (ng/dL) . . . .
(If a venous sample was taken during / Click here for CDC’s recommended actions for medical
the initial screening test, skip to management of children with elevated BLLs.

Confirmed Venous Blood Lead Level.)

<34 No confirmation Conduct follow-up blood lead testing at reccommended intervals
based on the child’s age, risk of exposure and/or Medicaid-
enrollment status.

3.5:9.9 Venous test within 3 months Follow-up venous test in 3 months; repeat test every 3 months;
once BLL begins to decline, retest every 6-9 months.

10-19 Venous test within 1 month Follow-up venous test in 1-3 months; repeat test every 1-3
months; once BLL begins to decline, retest every 3-6 months.

20-44 Venous test within 2 weeks Follow-up venous test in 2 weeks - 1 month; repeat test every 2
weeks - 1 month; once BLL begins to decline, retest every 1-3
months.

>45 Venous test within 48 hours Follow-up venous test ASAP; continue to monitor BLL closely

during treatment.

« Screen all children at ages 12 months and at 24 months or at any time from ages 36 months to 72 months, if they have not been
previously screened. (Louisiana Administrative Code: Title 48, Part V; §7005)

« All capillary blood lead level results that are =3.5 ug/dL should be confirmed with a venous test within the recommended
timeframe.

« LCLPPP will provide case management services for those children with positive tests (confirmed venous BLL >3.5 pg/dL).

« Case management involves a lead hazard exposure assessment, health education and may include referral for a free
environmental assessment of the child’s home.
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